R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-24-2011, 03:27 PM   #1
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Default Tekin RS Pro Overheating

Hi, I am running a Tekin RS Pro with an Nosram 3.5 T PURE Evo BL Modified motor, with Spektrum DX3s

Problem: When I run for about 10 mins the car fails to respond to my radio signal, all the LEDS are flashing. I assume and read that it is a problem with overheating and not a binding issue.

The question I have is, how do I make it run cooler? Either without buying new stuff (prefered, obviously) or buying a higher turn motor, or buying something that would help, cheers.
tjfmuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 03:31 PM   #2
Tech Master
 
Owen RaCing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Valley
Posts: 1,940
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

That esc can't even dream of running 3.5's
__________________
powered by anti-anxieties, sarcasm and chipotle
Owen RaCing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:10 PM   #3
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

add a second cap,10 min is a long time
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:11 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
Timbulb's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,054
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Shitty soldering job?

The soldering posts are the heat sink so make sure they're clear and have some airflow over them.

The RS Pro can run 3.5, but if it's not geared properly it'll get hot. Is the motor getting hot as well? If the motor is still cool, try gearing it up.
Timbulb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:17 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Denmark
Posts: 562
Default

The RS Pro can handle 3.5T, but only just. 10min is a no-go IMO.
__________________
Niklas Hansen
Team TCHobby / Team Upgrade-RC
Tamiya TRF417 / Speed Passion GT2.0 / Speed Passion V3 motors.
Nilks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:26 PM   #6
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 20
Default

Thanks for the responses. What motor would you recommend to run it? Or what esc would go well with the 3.5 t motor.

I bought it cos it said there was no motor limit on it, how then is 3.5t too much for it? I had the same motor running on nosram matrix okay.....
tjfmuk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:29 PM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: France
Posts: 172
Default

You can use the current limit
Manson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-24-2011, 04:55 PM   #8
Tech Regular
 
snellemin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston
Posts: 278
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

My buddy use to run a 2.5T with the rspro in a truck. He had a fan blowing over the solder post and a capacitor bank.

I ran a 3T x12 LRP with the MMpro. I added a heatsink and cap bank on mine.




__________________
6 KiloWatt Racer
GTP-1515 2700kv+RX8. GTP-C50-6L Hacker+RX8. CRT.5-C50-Maxx+modded RSpro.
RCM CRT.5 Neu 1506 6800kv+MMM.
snellemin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 10:47 AM   #9
Tech Elite
 
JayL's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Ca
Posts: 2,880
Default

that is a racing esc made for 5-6 minute races
running anything with a 3.5 for 10 minutes, we don't race that long, is going to get hot

also you might notice even in racing at say the nationals or reedy race you don't see people , especially sponsored ones, running tekin in mod, they ALL run stock
JayL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 02:28 PM   #10
Team Tekin
 
TY@TEAMTEKIN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tekin
Posts: 2,461
Default

What does your onboad temp monitor read after the all LED sequence quits flashing and it goes back to neutral?

This doesn't add up to overheating, when the RSPro thermals it shuts down and all LEDs go dim. If they are all flashing, that means it isn't seeing a radio signal.
__________________
Ty Campbell
TEKIN / TLR / SOR GRAPHICS / MIP / PROTEK / KALGARD / AVID
TY@TEAMTEKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 05:41 PM   #11
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Barbados
Posts: 214
Default

10 minutes is good. Mine used to thermal at 8 minutes with a 3.5 even with the 2nd cap. I never got around to running a fan facing the heat sink posts and just stopped trying to run it that long with that much motor.
spongerX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-25-2011, 06:14 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
Owen RaCing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Mountain Valley
Posts: 1,940
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JayL View Post
that is a racing esc made for 5-6 minute races
running anything with a 3.5 for 10 minutes, we don't race that long, is going to get hot

also you might notice even in racing at say the nationals or reedy race you don't see people , especially sponsored ones, running tekin in mod, they ALL run stock
How does that not catch fire?
__________________
powered by anti-anxieties, sarcasm and chipotle
Owen RaCing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-26-2011, 09:57 AM   #13
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Since you already own a Rs pro, I would suggest a high speed fan , two capacitors , gear two teeth lower , lower the total motor timing to 60 or less, and time your run to five minutes max . Finally you can wax your car body , the underside of the chassis, and the wheels ,to cut down drag.... If all of the above don't work, get a tekin Rx8 !!!!
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 09:56 AM   #14
Team Tekin
 
TY@TEAMTEKIN's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tekin
Posts: 2,461
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Owen RaCing View Post
How does that not catch fire?
Because when properly setup the RSPro can run 4.5 and 3.5T mod motors. You can't strap up a setup for full mod to make it 6-8 minutes and expect it to make it for an entire battery pack. There are limits.
__________________
Ty Campbell
TEKIN / TLR / SOR GRAPHICS / MIP / PROTEK / KALGARD / AVID
TY@TEAMTEKIN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-03-2011, 03:08 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Monkeys punk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 142
Default

I have a temp sensor on mine running off my Spektrum DX3s and with 5.5 1s its hitting 65deg after 8mins but what is the max they will handle before they thermal ? If i know I can set my warning on my tranny.
Monkeys punk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tekin RS ESC sensored Jeff Cuffs Electric On-Road 23359 10-02-2016 06:57 AM
Any TIPS on soldering up a TEKIN RS Pro?? intron Electric Off-Road 26 10-16-2010 02:07 PM
HELP: Mod 4wd, tekin rs pro, SP 7.5R... it's stock slow.. teeforb Electric Off-Road 23 09-22-2010 12:21 PM
TEKIN RS PRO QUESTION??? bluebon88 Radio and Electronics 8 09-20-2010 11:39 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:26 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net