Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Custom TC3 driveshaft >

Custom TC3 driveshaft

Custom TC3 driveshaft

Old 09-06-2004, 10:01 AM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Iceland
Posts: 588
Default Custom TC3 driveshaft

There was someone who made main driveshaft for the TC3 that was longer than the stock one and didn't use the cups (straight from one drive pinion gear to the other) with the results being lot less slop in the drivetrain. If I remember correctly the pinion also rode on that driveshaft. I saw these shafts for sale on Ebay last spring but I can't find anything about them now. Can anyone remember who made this. I'm not really sure what to look for on Google.
andsetinn is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 10:40 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default Re: Custom TC3 driveshaft

Originally posted by andsetinn
There was someone who made main driveshaft for the TC3 that was longer than the stock one and didn't use the cups (straight from one drive pinion gear to the other) with the results being lot less slop in the drivetrain. If I remember correctly the pinion also rode on that driveshaft. I saw these shafts for sale on Ebay last spring but I can't find anything about them now. Can anyone remember who made this. I'm not really sure what to look for on Google.
what you probably saw was the diggity design drive shaft. I think there e-mail is [email protected]
dont think they have a web site

Last edited by howard hudson; 09-06-2004 at 10:48 AM.
howard hudson is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 10:45 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default pic

http://rctech.net/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=776065

http://rctech.net/forum/attachment.php?s=&postid=776066

and here is there thread http://rctech.net/forum/showthread.p...hlight=diggity
howard hudson is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 03:40 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nebraska USA
Posts: 615
Default Does it work?

I thought the shaft needed to float, so that it would not bind.
Nightbreed is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 03:59 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
howard hudson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: some damned place called Iowa
Posts: 4,245
Default Re: Does it work?

Originally posted by Nightbreed
I thought the shaft needed to float, so that it would not bind.
some say it does.... I dont know never had onejust relaying the asked info
howard hudson is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 04:06 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,492
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

The way he designed it, it still floats. It is pretty cool looking. it is 3 peices, front input, rear input and shaft. The input ends have a male end the inserts into the shaft, and there is still a little play in it.
fastasu2 is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 04:08 PM
  #7  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,549
Default

yeah, it seems to develop a little play in it as you put more, and more runs on it, but i just pinched the ends closed a little bit with a pair of pliars(sp?)
punkboy is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 04:54 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 220
Default

How much?
Smalls is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 04:56 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (22)
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 2,492
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Default

Cant remember I think it was $20 or $25. I have a frien that has email him several times with no response, so dont know if he is still doing them or not
fastasu2 is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 04:57 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Palomar Raceway
Posts: 158
Default

I believe it was about $30 plus $4.50 for shipping.
waterblast02 is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 05:58 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: CORONA , CALIF.
Posts: 4,074
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Thumbs down shafts...

I used these shafts .. and would not recomend them for any thing .. they kept me from finishing at all in 3 weeks of racing .. You shouldnt have to pinch them togather if there supossed to be made for there application .. They are cool looking and they do lighten up the drive train ,,BUT I would never use these again .. There terriable if your a racer looking for that advantage ,to keep you up front....
mb racer is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 06:02 PM
  #12  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,549
Default

I kindof agree there....i know my buddy went back to the origional setup, and i am about to
punkboy is offline  
Old 09-06-2004, 06:29 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (7)
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 3,029
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default Center shaft

These might work for an Orion chrome stock, but my Surikarn 10x1 ripped it apart in less than a minute. I think they need some sort of a collar around the ends to hold it together. Great idea, but maybe a little more R&D.
tandman is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 05:51 AM
  #14  
Tech Master
 
Wency_TA03R-PRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: The so called planet EARTH !!!
Posts: 1,087
Exclamation

In terms of weight w/c is lighter?. graphite, stock shaft. FT shaft, and to this modified shaft that does not need the cups?.. any hint?. just asking...

Wency_TA03R-PRO is offline  
Old 09-07-2004, 06:39 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

a graphite shaft will be the lightest, but just ask yourself, will you notice the difference. i dont think barry baker would even notice the difference.
dontfeelcold is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.