Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
New to Onroad TC...what do I need?? >

New to Onroad TC...what do I need??

New to Onroad TC...what do I need??

Old 03-24-2011, 10:29 PM
  #16  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (3)
 
BrodieMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 761
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

nice work station, well except for that Dell MacBook Pro all the way
I kidd, I kidd
BrodieMan is offline  
Old 03-24-2011, 11:54 PM
  #17  
Tech Addict
 
RevMaxx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cebu
Posts: 687
Default

guys, deep pocket he has!!!
suggestions... fire away

for EP TC, you may wanna check the Airtronix MT-4 system. very much suited fo EP TC with the following features:
- the usual feature for pro level radio system (EPA, EXP, DR... etc. the works)
- telemetry for motor RPM, motor temp (2 temp sensors)
- datalogging (RPM logger - specially handy for ESC tuning/set-up if you're into boosted ESCs)
- low voltage car battery sensor/indicator

nice car and station btw
RevMaxx is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 06:34 AM
  #18  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bklyn NY
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Lol.... Pockets are not deep just reallocation of racing funds. Just gave up nitro 1/8th scale Onroad because of the many variables motor ,clutch ,cutting tires and of course cost $$$. I got more stick time running mini z and became a better driver without the headaches. I would only race 1/8th scale when things were perfect weather, money attitude so I aquired a few motors a ton of parts and all I needed to compete but I had little track time and less race experience. And in the end I didn't have FUN. On the up side I met a bunch of great guys and talented drivers. Electric TC on rubber tires is the evolution of my Mini z experience I hope I have half as much fun. .
PS. Gonna run my trusty 3PK w/ temp gun maybe a lipo pack if it get too heavy.
pressure is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 06:59 AM
  #19  
Tech Master
iTrader: (89)
 
trerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

It looks like you pretty much set... one thing I would suggest is getting a 2.4 mod and receivers for the ko, you could sell your 3pk and receivers to help offset the cost of switching over. For me I don't mind driving different cars but I don't want my radio to be different too.
trerc is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 08:47 AM
  #20  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bklyn NY
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BrodieMan View Post
nice work station, well except for that Dell MacBook Pro all the way
I kidd, I kidd
Waiting for the ipad / iphone experience to program my speed controller....Believe it or not that's the only functioning windows based pc that I own. I have a mac IIvx that still works and a g4 powering my home wifi. I downloaded a few apps to my iphone but the manufactures haven't supported full programming of esc yet ( or maybe they have)...till then ...
pressure is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 09:02 AM
  #21  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
pressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Bklyn NY
Posts: 942
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by trerc View Post
It looks like you pretty much set... one thing I would suggest is getting a 2.4 mod and receivers for the ko, you could sell your 3pk and receivers to help offset the cost of switching over. For me I don't mind driving different cars but I don't want my radio to be different too.
Yea........ Im gonna look into it I have 3 futaba receivers and for the cost of a KO module and recievers I may just upgrade to a fancy telemetry radio ....things change so quickly !!! I hear the spektrum radio is fast but honestly I dont think I will be able to tell the difference...the car exceeds my ability by miles so Im gonna get comfortable with it and try to stay off the boards. Thanks for all the advice guys.
pressure is offline  
Old 03-25-2011, 09:23 AM
  #22  
Tech Master
iTrader: (89)
 
trerc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Indiana
Posts: 1,821
Trader Rating: 89 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pressure View Post
Yea........ Im gonna look into it I have 3 futaba receivers and for the cost of a KO module and recievers I may just upgrade to a fancy telemetry radio ....things change so quickly !!! I hear the spektrum radio is fast but honestly I dont think I will be able to tell the difference...the car exceeds my ability by miles so Im gonna get comfortable with it and try to stay off the boards. Thanks for all the advice guys.
For me I've owned both airtronics and ko 2.4 systems and liked both more than Spektrum, to me they felt a little better connected. I'm currently running k o and love it, not to mention the receivers are tiny.
trerc is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.