Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
WRC Racing F-One >

WRC Racing F-One

Like Tree16Likes

WRC Racing F-One

Old 06-24-2017, 01:41 PM
  #256  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,836
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

What position was the rear wing? Did you flatten the rear wing element to reduce downforce to see if the balance would improve?
NutDriver is offline  
Old 06-25-2017, 02:46 AM
  #257  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,593
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NutDriver View Post
What position was the rear wing? Did you flatten the rear wing element to reduce downforce to see if the balance would improve?
its somewhere in the middle. Totally forgot i could adjust the aero, I should mess with that next time.

But I was pretty impressed with the car with the new Ride GR tires, they gripped really well
disaster999 is offline  
Old 06-25-2017, 01:23 PM
  #258  
Tech Regular
 
Ph3nyx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Nantes, France
Posts: 431
Default

WRC F-ONE 017 with LM Body
+ YouTube Video
ERROR: If you can see this, then YouTube is down or you don't have Flash installed.
Ph3nyx is offline  
Old 07-04-2017, 09:48 AM
  #259  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Scionara05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Queens nyc
Posts: 1,275
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Ok I'm am ganna be selling my kit as a roller for 200.
It's a wrc 016 f-one being that I am more focused on gt and TC and I can't put the time into the chassis to get it right, let alone get springs for it to be good on black carpet. if anyone is interested please pm me and I can get pics to you I know my rating on trades sales part is 0 but I use more eBay and do everything threw there. this is maybe the first time I use rctech to sell something so please if u are interested pm me and I can get pics to u threw text or email

Also I don't check this frequently so please pm me as I get instant notice of that
Scionara05 is offline  
Old 07-07-2017, 08:24 AM
  #260  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,593
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

As much as I like the design of the F1, theres just too many proprietary components on the car for it to use aftermarket parts. I just bought a Mon-Tech F17 body for it thinking it would fit, but turns out the nose piece is too wide for the Mon-tech body. I thought about trimming the body to fit, but that would look horrible. My nose piece is broken anyways so Im order 2 more and trimming one down so the body would fit.
disaster999 is offline  
Old 07-08-2017, 08:39 PM
  #261  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
NutDriver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 2,836
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default



WRC makes four different bodies that I'm sure will fit. I want to try the "turbo look" body myself.
NutDriver is offline  
Old 07-09-2017, 05:39 PM
  #262  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,593
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NutDriver View Post

WRC makes four different bodies that I'm sure will fit. I want to try the "turbo look" body myself.
It's made by the same company so it has to fit, but my LHS doesn't stock all 4 bodies regularly and usually had to wait a long time for it to be restocked. Hence wanting to try other bodies which are regularly available.

I've trimmed the stock nose piece way down and still couldn't get the body to sit properly. I might need to hack into the body as well. Anyone thinking about the montech for the F-One should give up.
disaster999 is offline  
Old 07-10-2017, 06:34 PM
  #263  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Dahlonega GA
Posts: 38
Default

Anyone else tried to fit a protoform 15 body to the f-one 16?
countryboyzrc is offline  
Old 07-10-2017, 07:09 PM
  #264  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,593
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I havent tried, but do have the protoform 15 body. I can see if it would fit or not.

But just looking at the pictures, I think the front end will have the same problem Im having with the Mon-Tech body where you need to trim a lot away on the body and the nose piece in order for the body to fit. Also as the 15 is so low profile, you probably need to trim a lot away to clear the rear pod as well.
disaster999 is offline  
Old 07-11-2017, 03:35 PM
  #265  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Dahlonega GA
Posts: 38
Default

Yeah try and see, I got the kit and the guy used the stock WRC F1 body on his serpent sf2 and it fit with no modifications.
countryboyzrc is offline  
Old 07-18-2017, 12:48 PM
  #266  
jpx
Tech Adept
 
jpx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 230
Default

Wanted to give you some feedback after I won my first race with my f-one 016 in the 4th F1-race of my life!
We ran two finals, starting grid was oposite of club championship standing (after 3 races) - I started 5th with one guy behind me (P6) having 1 point more, P7 3 points ahead and P8 entering the race for the first time.
Final #1:
P7 had some problems with his speedo and finished P8, P6 I could leave about one lap behind running an 8 min race and finishing P1 with 24 laps!
Final #2:
P7 was faster, I let him go, he made some minor mistakes but won the race with 24 laps about 6sec ahead of me. P6 again was about 1 lap behind me.
P1 + P2 = P1 for this day
My car was easy to drive, very stable on the straights and easy to pull the trigger out of the corner early. At the same time it was still pushing too much through the corner off throttle and a little out of the corner on throttle.

Setup (asphalt):
Tires I ran Ride GR (no heating, no additive) - obligatory.
1.5 camber, 2 toe out on each side, caster 6
Used 10k cst on side damper, side springs and front springs.
Center shock was 388cst (Associated) and RSD teal green spring (long, soft).
side springs: Tamiya copper (very soft)
front springs: Tamiya silver (soft)
Everything else (shiming, ackermann ...) you might be able to see in the pictures below.
Attached Thumbnails WRC Racing F-One-img_1327.jpg   WRC Racing F-One-img_1328.jpg   WRC Racing F-One-img_1330.jpg   WRC Racing F-One-img_1236.jpg  
disaster999 and aracefan like this.

Last edited by jpx; 07-18-2017 at 02:07 PM.
jpx is offline  
Old 07-18-2017, 07:28 PM
  #267  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,593
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Congrats! nice to see you finally got the car dialed in. The GR tires take some time to break in, but once it does they hook up really well.

Interesting to see how you lowered the lower arm by about 1mm. I wonder what this does for handling
disaster999 is offline  
Old 07-19-2017, 09:13 AM
  #268  
jpx
Tech Adept
 
jpx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 230
Default

Originally Posted by disaster999 View Post
Congrats! nice to see you finally got the car dialed in. The GR tires take some time to break in, but once it does they hook up really well.
Thanks!!!
Originally Posted by disaster999 View Post
Interesting to see how you lowered the lower arm by about 1mm. I wonder what this does for handling
I lowered the arm 2mm using shims under all 4 screws.
I had to do this to get a front ride height >3mm.
Now I'm a bit lower than 5mm front ride height.
Other way to get higher ride height might be to use similar amount of shims between front spring and lower end of the pin.
I would try that next test session and see if there's a difference in handling.

How do you adjust front ride height?

Last edited by jpx; 07-19-2017 at 10:10 AM.
jpx is offline  
Old 07-19-2017, 08:35 PM
  #269  
Regional Moderator
iTrader: (1)
 
disaster999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hong Kong
Posts: 3,593
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jpx View Post
Thanks!!!

I lowered the arm 2mm using shims under all 4 screws.
I had to do this to get a front ride height >3mm.
Now I'm a bit lower than 5mm front ride height.
Other way to get higher ride height might be to use similar amount of shims between front spring and lower end of the pin.
I would try that next test session and see if there's a difference in handling.

How do you adjust front ride height?
I just tighten or loosen the kingpin to get the desired ride height. It's similar to adjusting the collar on the shocks to adjust the ride height.
jpx likes this.
disaster999 is offline  
Old 07-19-2017, 11:04 PM
  #270  
jpx
Tech Adept
 
jpx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Germany
Posts: 230
Default

Originally Posted by disaster999 View Post
I just tighten or loosen the kingpin to get the desired ride height. It's similar to adjusting the collar on the shocks to adjust the ride height.
Sure you are right!
Never thought of that - but it seemed to me when building the car the first time I couldn't thighten the pins as far as needed to get a front ride height of about 5 mm.
Definitely will give it one more try!
jpx is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.