R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 09-03-2004, 02:43 PM   #31
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

doesn't have an auto cutoff.......and as i said before.

i dont have time to keep an eye on my batts, i just put them on to charge and dont take notice of it until the charger bleeps at me....
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 02:47 PM   #32
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by raving-monkey
doesn't have an auto cutoff.......and as i said before.

i dont have time to keep an eye on my batts, i just put them on to charge and dont take notice of it until the charger bleeps at me....
Yes it does. It prevents the cells from going below 0 volts. You can keep the GP3300s on there for up to 96 hours.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 02:59 PM   #33
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

you don't want your cells to go below 0.9 (well thats nimh's) or they will go intoa deep discharge, and left long enough they will never recover....

anyway, i am going to the lhs tomorrow so i will be picking up a novak smart tray if they have any in stock..wooohooo!
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:02 PM   #34
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by raving-monkey
you don't want your cells to go below 0.9 (well thats nimh's) or they will go intoa deep discharge, and left long enough they will never recover....

anyway, i am going to the lhs tomorrow so i will be picking up a novak smart tray if they have any in stock..wooohooo!
I bring my cells down to 0 and they work great. I only leave them on the tray for 24 hours. Oh well, just trying to save you $60.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:11 PM   #35
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

i appreciate your help, but jkerr0043 said he has had nothing but problems with his integy stuff...and i doubt he is the kinda guy that isn't going to look after his stuff...

about 80% of the people i have spoken to have recomended the novak smart tray..the other people that didn't recomend it was people that hadn't tried it.

seen as though i dont have a turbo 35 thingy (and never will..to expensive ), please could someone recomend a discharger, atleast 20amps and at a reasonable price.

as i would prefer to discharge my batts first and then equalise them..

thanks
Matt
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:16 PM   #36
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

Try the Deans bulb discharger. It discharges at 20 amps. Or you could go to www.onlybatterypacks.com and purchase one of their bulb dischargers and cutoff switches. It would be cheaper.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:19 PM   #37
Tech Elite
 
ALBERTO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: LONG ISLAND, NEW YORK
Posts: 2,986
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Send a message via AIM to ALBERTO Send a message via Yahoo to ALBERTO
Default

ya make one than buy the relay that cuts off at .9 a string of 1157 car bulbs does the same thing
ALBERTO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:30 PM   #38
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

raving- what charger do you have? Does it have any kind of a discharger on it?
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 03:45 PM   #39
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

i could make my own discharger..my dad has a degree in electronic engineering..and hes good in this kinda stuff (Well not in r/c, hes dumb with that ..but in electronics in general)

he has access to high quality zenna diodes (things that make it cut off at a certain voltage) and resistors etc...just the time making it, the cost of parts would make it cost about 50-60 pound anyway (zenna's are 8 pound each )

anyway.....im not to keen on these bulb discharger thingies, as if one bulb gets broken, or goes out then your discharger wont discharge will it .

you don't wanna know what charger i have, it would be an embarassment to this forum ...all you need to know is it does 1-14 cells, 0.3 to 5 amps and has a 1.5a discharger or something

it does its job perfectly, i don't see the need for a 400 turbo 35 thingy
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 05:13 PM   #40
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like it may be a Novak Digi Peak? Am I close? You don't have to go all out and get a GFX. LRP competition is a great charger. CE makes the Pitbull. All these are good chargers.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 05:38 PM   #41
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

not novak (its probably under the novak name over there though)

its a "prolux digi peak"

here it is (this is the BMI version, mine is yellow and blue)



like i say, it does the job fine, its like the saying "if it aint broke, don't fix it!"

won't be able to afford something like a pulsar comp/pulsar 2...need to buy this touring car tomorrow (meeting the guy) so i can do the HPI juniors and the british indoor winter series

are there any chargers that have a discharger built in..and an equaliser (if its possible) built in to?
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 05:45 PM   #42
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Futaba's dosen't have an equalizer but I beleive it charges each cell individually with an optional tray you can buy. That would be something for the major electronics players to take a look at though. An all in one unit that can charge individual cells, discharge and equalize, all on one unit. Charlie, Steve, you guys listening? Imagine how much of a splash that would make. May be cost prohibitive though.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-03-2004, 05:50 PM   #43
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

the pulsar has a "matching" feature doesn't it?

whats that all about?

i think my best option would be just to get the novak smart tray...and get a discharger (but i'm stull stuck on which one to get )
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2004, 01:58 AM   #44
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Not to forget the Protrak as youre from the UK. Awesome product. Im using one since more than two years and its the best I ever had. If its a little too high for your budget look at Ebay. I bought a second unit at Ebay UK not too long ago!
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-04-2004, 03:34 AM   #45
Tech Master
 
raving-monkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: yorkshire, england.
Posts: 1,818
Send a message via MSN to raving-monkey
Default

protraks are 250+ new, they still go for just short of 200 on ebay....not every 15 yr old in the world has that much to spend on a charger (when they only need the discharger bit
raving-monkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
robitronic equalising tray help minnesh Rookie Zone 2 06-24-2007 09:45 AM
Pulse vs Linear DISCHARGING (also vs Multi-step discharging) akuhon Electric On-Road 5 01-01-2007 11:58 PM
help with discaharging and equalising top-timm Electric On-Road 4 12-31-2006 07:41 PM
Integy Equalising Tray Paladin Australia For Sale/Trade 2 03-29-2006 08:31 AM
Rush Equalising tray FUK_WRX Electric On-Road 4 06-12-2005 02:21 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 11:01 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net