Like Tree232Likes

Team Associated TC4

Reply

Old 02-22-2013, 07:11 AM
  #11236  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Originally Posted by Serpenteer View Post
I'm not sure the diffs will handle. People here will tell you otherwise. IMO, a TC4 shouldn't be used with a faster motor than 10.5 in blinky.
As long as you have steel outdrives the diffs will easily handle it, the plastic outdrives wont.
Rojna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:17 AM
  #11237  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Originally Posted by jdeadman View Post
Now combine both of those designs and it's the Perfect SFTTC4 (S=super)

What did you have to do to install the Cam style mount?
drill 4 new holes in the chassis and dremel out a little for cam mount clearance, made the top plate narrower, cut a little off the cam clamp.

Rojna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 07:33 AM
  #11238  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Miami Beach
Posts: 861
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rojna View Post
As long as you have steel outdrives the diffs will easily handle it, the plastic outdrives wont.

Couldn't he also turn down his Throttle EPA and/or tone down his ESC throttle curve settings?
SouthFloridaApp is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:00 AM
  #11239  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,369
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Just for S&G I put a 3.5T on my FTTC4 and did some testing for a big outdoor track and mine held up. (holy crud it was fast)
jdeadman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 09:28 AM
  #11240  
Tech Master
iTrader: (9)
 
IndyRC_Racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Indianapolis
Posts: 1,834
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Looks like Rojna has also modified his FTTC4 top deck. I would presume it would be for more flex. I do like the idea of using the cam mount. Thanks for posting that info. Since the FTTC4 motor mount is virtually impossible to find, you could convert a tub into carbon fibre using Rojna's motor mount mod. You can still get the carbon fibre chassis parts from Team Associated, but they are too expensive IMO.

The previous carbon chassis TC4 looks to be a custom chassis. Although it looked like it was using the FTTC4 motor mount. I also wonder if that was a 1-off or something available online. I did like how narrow the chassis/top deck was on that car. I bet that car has good chassis flex for rubber tire classes.
IndyRC_Racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 10:29 AM
  #11241  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Originally Posted by IndyRC_Racer View Post
Looks like Rojna has also modified his FTTC4 top deck. I would presume it would be for more flex. I do like the idea of using the cam mount. Thanks for posting that info. Since the FTTC4 motor mount is virtually impossible to find, you could convert a tub into carbon fibre using Rojna's motor mount mod. You can still get the carbon fibre chassis parts from Team Associated, but they are too expensive IMO.

The previous carbon chassis TC4 looks to be a custom chassis. Although it looked like it was using the FTTC4 motor mount. I also wonder if that was a 1-off or something available online. I did like how narrow the chassis/top deck was on that car. I bet that car has good chassis flex for rubber tire classes.
Yep, top plate is narrower and cut out about halfway for flex, chassis is ITF. I had too much chassis flex so added half of the ITF chassis brace.

Rojna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:12 PM
  #11242  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

In search for more power and speed, I will be running my FTTC4 with a 3.5t boosted (Novak pulse esc)... I hope the esc is up to snuff. I know the tc4 is !!!
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2013, 08:25 PM
  #11243  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,369
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

3.5 boosted??? mental. enjoy the intense speed.
jdeadman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 03:55 PM
  #11244  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Just testing the limits jay ! I hope I get a few trophies too , and lap the Field.....ahahah.....
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 04:44 PM
  #11245  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Royal Oaks, CA
Posts: 485
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rojna View Post
drill 4 new holes in the chassis and dremel out a little for cam mount clearance, made the top plate narrower, cut a little off the cam clamp.

where did you get the lipo battery holder?
iDChuck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 04:50 PM
  #11246  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Originally Posted by iDChuck View Post
where did you get the lipo battery holder?
DIGGITY
The one in the link looks different then mine but im sure it fits just the same, not sure what exactly they changed in the Rev2, it should have the same offset as mine.

The rest is AE 31254 & 31256
I also used AE 89229, 1 washer between the chassis and diggity tray.
Rojna is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 05:44 PM
  #11247  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

+1 on the diggity carbon tray, although I use an earlier version and 4-40 screws on my cars.... No tape , and no battery flying out ever again.....
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 05:50 PM
  #11248  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I think the diggity tray #tc5-051 (non offset) is what you have installed in your tc4 , not the offset One #tc5-052...
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 05:54 PM
  #11249  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The tc5-051 is the One to get... I modified my tc5-050 to fit 47mm packs...
bertrandsv87 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2013, 06:57 PM
  #11250  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 845
Default

Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
I think the diggity tray #tc5-051 (non offset) is what you have installed in your tc4 , not the offset One #tc5-052...
I have the offset one on my TC4
Rojna is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service