Like Tree235Likes

Team Associated TC4

Reply

Old 10-24-2011, 03:46 PM
  #10201  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

From the video I watched, your car looks a bit "sluggish" and wandering on reqr end, you need to improve your racing lines too, because of the rear, you end up a little too wide and you are not keeping enough speed coming out of corners and loosing acceleration.

The green car that was on pole is very fast...
olly986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 03:53 PM
  #10202  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,701
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My tc4 ran the same with front ball diff: no acceleration until you get it in a straight line. If the car had a front spool, then the radio throttle response has to be quickened to punch out of turns....
bertrandsv87 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 04:15 PM
  #10203  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

I just received a new lock diff for the front of TC3, but unforunately, cannot try anything as I am in bed on my back with lower back problems after trimming the edges of my garden, 3rd day like that but improving everyday, able to get up today.
olly986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 06:26 PM
  #10204  
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 708
Default

Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
Was 4.9 for blinky or boosted ? How much does your car weigh? Anything over 1450g won't cut it....
4.9 is boosted motor temp around 130* after 6 minutes. Haven't worked on a setup about the only thing I did was replace the 0* caster with 4*. I know I don't like a spool, I didn't like it on my TCX.
Bubblehead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2011, 08:00 PM
  #10205  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,701
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Olly, all I can say is "MINERAL ICE" for your back . Bubblehead, is your gearing / settings the same as the belt cars or close ? I know you don't like the Ae spool, but I bet you will love the IRS one with losi lcd's... On the video, I can see that the green car carried more corner speed, and subsequently look faster down the straight, but I think your gearing was not the major issue at all: too much weight might cause you to slow down too much in turns, causing a lack of top speed down the straight. Without the right components , the tc4 can easily weigh 100grams above minimum weight .
bertrandsv87 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 02:40 PM
  #10206  
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 708
Default

I've matched the FDR of the other cars (belt). I have talked with David W he had the fastest TC4 (FDR 4.9), this weekend is our last asphalt race so I'll see if 4.9 will work for me in practice I notice the difference.
Bubblehead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2011, 04:19 PM
  #10207  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,701
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Diff setups is also being discussed in the "gear diff " thread, that can be beneficial to your tc4. Alot of good info there about what has made it so hard for cars running two ball diff setups to catch up to those running spool and gear diffs....
bertrandsv87 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:44 PM
  #10208  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Hi guys

Is the centre shaft pins smaller on TC4 than TC3, I got a set of 31019 drive train accessories and my TC3 shaft does not fit in it? way too narrow, i thought the shaft was the same on both cars.

Back getting better, could be out racing again next Tuesday if weather permits, really looking forward to it.
olly986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 04:58 PM
  #10209  
Tech Addict
 
Bubblehead's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Portsmouth, VA
Posts: 708
Default

I think the TC4 pins are smaller if you compare the pictures.
Bubblehead is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 05:56 PM
  #10210  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (20)
 
1MoreMinute's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: N.P.R. FL
Posts: 327
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Hey guys, sorry to butt in here..

I have a TC4 that currently needs a esc and motor, I have a friend who can get me castle creations esc and motors, so I want to stick with that brand. Question is, I am looking at the 4600kv and the 5700kv motors, the sidewinder v2 or the mamba max pro, which one would you guys reccomend to me and what KV? I mostly run oval tracks but would like something that can take up to 3s.

Please help me with my desicion. Thanks all and RC Tech
1MoreMinute is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2011, 06:44 PM
  #10211  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,701
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Only one esc will work Tekin RSpro 2s or 3s with savox 1251 low profile servo.... Guys I lowered my roll center again through the upper suspension links...wow..., what a difference !!! I have no spacers on the chassis now. I could raise the turnbuckle at the front wheel caster blocks but, I don't think I need to go that far...
bertrandsv87 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 02:07 AM
  #10212  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: France
Posts: 812
Default

Originally Posted by 1MoreMinute View Post
Hey guys, sorry to butt in here..

I have a TC4 that currently needs a esc and motor, I have a friend who can get me castle creations esc and motors, so I want to stick with that brand. Question is, I am looking at the 4600kv and the 5700kv motors, the sidewinder v2 or the mamba max pro, which one would you guys reccomend to me and what KV? I mostly run oval tracks but would like something that can take up to 3s.

Please help me with my desicion. Thanks all and RC Tech
It depends on the space in your chassis if you use tub or flat one, in my TC3 tub I use a Xerun 120A and it fits fine with a standard size servo.

Not mad into Mamba, not that popular here and the KV ratings I find painful but that is my feeling,it is much easier to follow motor turns and lets face it if you need help there are more guys using this.

is 3s a necessity, that car runs perfect and fast on 2s and the right motor.

so first is your category limited to a motor winding and battery size etc..if it is stick to what others are using, they will be able to help you set all this.
olly986 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 08:31 AM
  #10213  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 211
Default tc4 setup carpet rubber

I notice that most set ups are for foam tires

does any one have one to share to start with
for carpet&rubber wheels?
short track. silver can or 21.5t
what should i start with on gearing?

is the ft tc4 better then rtr tc4 for carpet?

thanks
hotrod306 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 09:31 AM
  #10214  
Tech Master
iTrader: (41)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Grand Portage, MN
Posts: 1,369
Trader Rating: 41 (100%+)
Default

Here is My VTA Setup for the FT TC4.

I have played with stiffer springs as the traction comes up and that is on a med traction carpet using the VTA tires from HPI in D compound


Cheers

Last edited by jdeadman; 05-19-2014 at 07:23 PM.
jdeadman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-28-2011, 09:42 AM
  #10215  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 211
Default

thanks for your post jdeadman

just going over your setup
it seems to me you have light oil in your shocks?
have you tried heavier oil?
hotrod306 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service