Like Tree235Likes

Team Associated TC4

Reply

Old 09-13-2006, 08:52 PM
  #8761  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (75)
 
dr_hfuhuhurr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,510
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

One thing I always did to my cars is this...

- Get some old nasty bearings or bushing for the diffs as well as old nasty diff balls.
- Assemble the diffs and drivetrain (don't need to mess with anything else
- Fill the diff cases with nasty cheap toothpaste (equate paste from Walmart works well and leaves your diffs minty fresh)
- Attach a motor and let it run at a low voltage 2-3v for about 20 hours
- Tear EVERYTHING down and clean it

I've done this to break in the gears on the last 4 AE Shaft cars I've owned.
dr_hfuhuhurr is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2006, 09:10 PM
  #8762  
51
Tech Regular
 
51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: So Cal
Posts: 360
Default

Originally Posted by RoachRacing
I would like to get everyone’s opinion on this. I have been looking at setup sheets and I have an issue with how the arm spacing is noted on the sheet. for this sheet as an example:

http://www.rc10.com/racerhub/setup/r...o_dhi_2006.pdf
Hey guys, hope I can help a bit with this. The first thing to look at is the pictures of the arms and arm mounts. In the front, the view is from the front of the car so you can see which arm mount holes to select. In the rear, the view is from the rear of the car, again so you can see which arm mount holes to select.

For the arm spacing in the front, the shims correspond to the way the front arms are laid out. So on the above setup, there are 3 shims behind the arm and zero in front.

For the arm spacing in the rear, the shims correspond to the way the rear arms are laid out. So on the above setup, there are 3 shims in front of the arm.

I know this can be a bit confusing, but as long as you look at the picture of the arms and arm mounts it should be a bit easier to understand.

For those of you racing rubber tire touring car at the IIC, I would suggest the setup I've attached to this post. It is the setup that Juho used at the LRP race this past year and finished 3rd.

The one thing we did last year that we normally don't do for rubber tires on carpet was to run a one-way in the front. It's probably advisable to start with the spool, but make sure you have a one-way with you as well. Also, make sure you glue the sidewalls of your front tires to reduce traction rolling and over steering. Additionally, note the body. The Ride MKIII is a neutral body for rubber tire racing. It has less steering than the Mazda 6, so if you can't get one of those perhaps try a Stratus 2.0.

If anyone has any questions at the race, don't hesitate to come up to the Associated table and ask. We will have some drivers using the prototype belt car, but others will be using the FT TC4 as well.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf
TC4 FT - Juho 2006 LRP TCM.pdf (438.1 KB, 534 views)
51 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 07:04 AM
  #8763  
Tech Master
iTrader: (58)
 
billjacobs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Rockville, MD
Posts: 1,280
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default ft tc4 for sale

I am selling a complete ft tc4 package with all options, futaba fm computer radio, charger, etc. All retails for over $1000, selling for $400/OBO shipped.

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthr...6&highlight=tc4
billjacobs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 07:01 PM
  #8764  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 105
Default

Whats the proper gear mesh for the differentials and the imput shafts? And how do I set it ?
LaxRacer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 07:39 PM
  #8765  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone have a 3racing motor mount installed in a FT TC4 car? If so how did you get the screw holes to line up?
bvoltz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 09:08 PM
  #8766  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

I was just looking for the AE motor mount, part number 31105, Tower is telling me it is dis-continued... Anyone know what the new number is?

Last edited by bvoltz; 09-14-2006 at 09:50 PM.
bvoltz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2006, 09:46 PM
  #8767  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 302
Default

That is the right number
walterhenderson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 06:39 PM
  #8768  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (75)
 
Kraig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Sun Prairie, WI
Posts: 6,598
Trader Rating: 75 (100%+)
Default

I know I don't have any but you should be able to have your LHS get it from Horizon or you can purchase it from their website.

Kraig
KT Hobbies
Kraig is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-15-2006, 10:11 PM
  #8769  
Tech Apprentice
 
gofastrlbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Greenville, S.C.
Posts: 78
Default

I agree, put the burden on your local hobby shop, they have relationships with the factory as far as parts that we don't have the luxury to.
Go Fast
gofastrlbrown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 02:33 PM
  #8770  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (99)
 
olhipster1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Asgard
Posts: 4,041
Trader Rating: 99 (100%+)
Default FT TC4-clearance at RC10.com

hey guys ...just a F.Y.I.

Associated has the FT TC4 on clearance for a whopping $199.99 plus shipping.

http://www.rc10.com/misc/internet_specials.htm
olhipster1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 10:25 PM
  #8771  
Tech Apprentice
 
gofastrlbrown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Greenville, S.C.
Posts: 78
Default

I wander if this mean ms that they are getting ready to release a new model such as a TC 5 with a few improvemenys to the TC4. Just put a little more carbon in the RTR and make FT kit with improvements.
RB
gofastrlbrown is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-25-2006, 10:44 PM
  #8772  
Tech Master
iTrader: (6)
 
ford_racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Canberra
Posts: 1,480
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Associated is in the developpment of their next touring car, it is a belted one, you can read all about it on this thread

http://www.rctech.net/forum/showthread.php?t=107105
ford_racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:15 PM
  #8773  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: astoria, NY
Posts: 233
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

hey do you guys know if the outdrives for the tc3 are the same as the tc4??? i might be getting a really good deal on a pair just wondering if there the same.
cheech4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-26-2006, 10:35 PM
  #8774  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (44)
 
bvoltz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Bedtime with Teddi
Posts: 3,635
Trader Rating: 44 (100%+)
Default

Just so you know.... I had to go directly to AE to get the Motor mount for the FT TC4. Yes, the motor mount is discontinued and the part number is 31105, so I'm not sure what someone can do if they have a need for one... AE when I called only have two left, minus the one on the way to me, that is one....

Makes you think.....
bvoltz is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-27-2006, 08:14 AM
  #8775  
Tech Adept
 
S_fender's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Dijon, France
Posts: 172
Default

Originally Posted by cheech4
hey do you guys know if the outdrives for the tc3 are the same as the tc4??? i might be getting a really good deal on a pair just wondering if there the same.

Yes tc3 outdrives are the same as the tc4.
S_fender is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service