Like Tree232Likes

Team Associated TC4

Reply

Old 01-02-2006, 10:57 PM
  #7531  
Tech Addict
 
bummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: bathurst nsw
Posts: 525
Default

also iam going to get the front alloy hub carriers, but iam unsure if it is 2 degress i want. i race carport indoors. got no way of checking what i all ready have. i brought it like that set up for carport. so dunno. i use take off's 27s
bummy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 04:32 PM
  #7532  
Tech Master
 
koabich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Detroit Area
Posts: 1,359
Default

I personally wouldn't run anything aluminum in the front suspension, expecially since the TC4 doesn't need it. The parts are plenty beefy and very strong. Save the money and the extra weight and buy the Rubberneck front bumper instead.

Also, I would get the Associated Factory Team TC4 upgrade kit instead of the one on ebay. It's a little more money but the graphite is a higher quality (at least from what I have seen with previous 3 Racing stuff) and the Associated product comes with everything you need!
koabich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 04:51 PM
  #7533  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I would agree on getting a good bumper but i would get aluminum parts for sure. Especially since you are running carpet.
wcalaker is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 04:53 PM
  #7534  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,547
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

yeah do like he said either get the Factory team upgrade or get the BMI conversion. BMI moves the electronics further foward and in and is 3.0 mm vs 2.5. Both are awesome though
Bob Barry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:24 PM
  #7535  
Tech Addict
 
bummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: bathurst nsw
Posts: 525
Default

i all ready got the alloy parts. for the front apart from the hub carriers.souwouldnt get the 3 racing kit? were can i get the factory kit online. and can i pay with paypal.
what is the part number for it
?
bummy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 04:11 AM
  #7536  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
bhambrent's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: B'ham, AL.
Posts: 2,026
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I bought one from rcboyz on ebay.

I'm also selling a bmi chassis if you want it.
bhambrent is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 06:21 AM
  #7537  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,199
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

I would alos agree the BMI conversion or the FT conversion are nicer overall and to me worth the extra that they cost. I have had both the FT TC4 (Running now) and a few months back a BMI TC4 that I sold to a buddy that needed one. Actually Bob Barry's brother in law has it. You could say it is in the family.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 06:22 AM
  #7538  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,547
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

And I can tell you that Bill has Taken "durability testing" to a new level
Bob Barry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 06:38 AM
  #7539  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,199
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Bob Barry
And I can tell you that Bill has Taken "durability testing" to a new level
Dude thats too funny. How is your rebuild coming along? I have a heavy duty one way coming this week as I broke mine this week but by looking it wasn't a heavy duty one. Not actually sure what brand it was but it worked well til I boke 2 outdrives and I'm out of spares. New one will be here so no biggie.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 07:12 AM
  #7540  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,547
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

My "rebuild" was put on hold. Christmas got me. I was thinking about it and I will probably only run maybe 4 more times on carpet (this week and the 3 ORL's), so I will probably just leave it as is until after I move in March and by then I will be thinking about outdoor season. There really isn't anything wrong with the car, I was just going to freshen it up a bit.
Bob Barry is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 11:06 AM
  #7541  
Tech Regular
 
corradopsi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: pa
Posts: 329
Default

Originally Posted by wyd
Dude thats too funny. How is your rebuild coming along? I have a heavy duty one way coming this week as I broke mine this week but by looking it wasn't a heavy duty one. Not actually sure what brand it was but it worked well til I boke 2 outdrives and I'm out of spares. New one will be here so no biggie.
that oneway came from dave when i got the car from him. i suspected yokomo, but he could tell you for sure. i thought that the HD units just used bigger oneway bearings or 2 instead of 1 per side? do they use larger/stronger outdrives as well?
corradopsi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 11:30 AM
  #7542  
Tech Addict
 
bummy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: bathurst nsw
Posts: 525
Default

yeah i was loooking at the 3 racing chassi kit. there front hubs look great.
bummy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 11:41 AM
  #7543  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (36)
 
Anthony.L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Federal Way, WA
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by corradopsi
that oneway came from dave when i got the car from him. i suspected yokomo, but he could tell you for sure. i thought that the HD units just used bigger oneway bearings or 2 instead of 1 per side? do they use larger/stronger outdrives as well?
AE uses one housing and two different outdrives depending on nitro or electric. They both have one bearing on either side. The yokomo looks like the same as AE housing w/ electric outdrives.
Anthony.L is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 12:54 PM
  #7544  
wyd
Tech Legend
iTrader: (50)
 
wyd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Castle Mamba Max Pro. Feel its power!!!!!!!!!!
Posts: 21,199
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by corradopsi
that oneway came from dave when i got the car from him. i suspected yokomo, but he could tell you for sure. i thought that the HD units just used bigger oneway bearings or 2 instead of 1 per side? do they use larger/stronger outdrives as well?
The outdrive is about twice as thick as the one I was using. I will have to check with Dave but it isn't a big deal. It worked great til I hit the way pretty hard so it broke. When I get to race again with Dave I will check. Hope to race with him soon as we always have a ton of fun when we get to race together.
wyd is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-04-2006, 12:56 PM
  #7545  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (20)
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 8,547
Trader Rating: 20 (100%+)
Default

Ok now for the really important question....how was the car with the one way? were you faster or slower than with the spool and was it easier or harder to drive? inquiring minds want to know
Bob Barry is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service