R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-11-2011, 11:22 AM   #1
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greensburg, PA
Posts: 1,563
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default Cut slot car comm on a Hudy Tech lathe?

Can I cut a slot car comm on a hudy tech lathe? I have the Tech model with v blocks. If not, what would I need to cut them?
__________________
Chuck
www.ridgewaybodies.com
https://www.facebook.com/ridgewaybodiesRC/?ref=hl
ridgewaybodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 11:29 AM   #2
Tech Lord
 
20 SMOKE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: HVR_ WEEKI WACHEE FL
Posts: 10,299
Trader Rating: 101 (100%+)
Default

as long as you can fit it in left to right(length) it should be fine,i use to use a gold series cobra for my slots and have even cut a ho arm on one.try a old arm first
__________________
Jamie W
*Team Tekin*Tekno-rc*DE Racing*AKA*DDHRC*
20 SMOKE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 11:29 AM   #3
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Wauconda, Illinois
Posts: 642
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I had to move one of the blocks to make the slot car arm fit. Granted this was not Hudy version. Once the blocks are located you should have no problem with the slot car arms.
Bob Oaks
bob o is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2011, 03:27 PM   #4
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Greensburg, PA
Posts: 1,563
Trader Rating: 39 (100%+)
Default

Thanks for the replies! The v blocks are adjustable so should not be any problems then.
__________________
Chuck
www.ridgewaybodies.com
https://www.facebook.com/ridgewaybodiesRC/?ref=hl
ridgewaybodies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 01:52 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Johnny Wishbone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 3,419
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Just make sure that your cutter is located properly to the cutting surface. In case the arm drops below or above the com centerline.
__________________
Gary Lanzer
Johnny Wishbone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-14-2011, 11:23 PM   #6
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Wishbone View Post
Just make sure that your cutter is located properly to the cutting surface. In case the arm drops below or above the com centerline.
Yeah, good point. The smaller diameter shaft is going to sit lower so he will probably need to lower the cutter as well.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:26 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net