not again!

Old 08-28-2004, 09:33 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Exclamation not again!

my new element motor is not working? its comm just got cut and its got brand new brushes but when its all hooked up to my tc3 and i pull the trigger the car does not move? i have reset the esc which is the stock one, i have sprayed the motor out, my servo works fine and when i put my multi meter on the motor tabs (unconnected) its getting full power? but when its sitting on the ground not moving and you give it a little nudge it will move but the minutes you stop it, it quits? i have no clue whats wrong i have brand new batterys in my car and controller
but i have noticed that when i take my motor apart to clean it and put it back together the armature seems to be scraping against the magnent in the can but after you spin it like 5 times in you hand it no longer scrapes i dont know if this has anything to do with it but i'm just trying to rule out every possible thing?
i dont think its my esc because the led works and my servo works
and when you go full throttle the led turns off and thats what its supposed to do so i have no idea????????????? please help!!!!
kh15 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 09:36 AM
  #2  
Moderator
iTrader: (8)
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Sounds like a hung brush. Even though they are new and your comm is cut this can still happen if the hoods are tight, Give them a snap and you should be back in good shape.
StephenSobottka is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 09:49 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Tommi Makkinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Somewhere... still racing...
Posts: 4,698
Trader Rating: 28 (89%+)
Default

most likely a hung brush as Trinityracinnut said. in addition, if the hoods are a bit tight, try to loosen the crimped brush hoods with a small flat screwdriver gently... that might do the trick
Tommi Makkinen is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 02:46 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

so just take the brushes out and pry open the hoods alittle and put them back in?
kh15 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 03:19 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
GundamWZero's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Ft. Bliss, Texas
Posts: 4,718
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Yup, just a little. But when you remove the brushes, see if they have problems sliding out. If they are tight sliding out, then the hoods are slightly misaligned and pinching the brushes in place. I would invest in a hood alignment tool as well.
GundamWZero is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 04:20 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

i just ran it about 5 minutes and everything seems to be normal again but i will be running it intill the battery goes down later, thanks for the good answer, on another rc forum i posted this question like a week ago and after 15 replys nobody said anything about the brush hoods, next time i'll come to the pros first!
kh15 is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 05:02 PM
  #7  
Moderator
iTrader: (8)
 
StephenSobottka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Milwaukee, WI
Posts: 3,267
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Thats right!
StephenSobottka is offline  
Old 08-28-2004, 09:06 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 499
Default

lol how could i be so stupid
kh15 is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 04:26 AM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (28)
 
Tommi Makkinen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Somewhere... still racing...
Posts: 4,698
Trader Rating: 28 (89%+)
Default

Originally posted by kh15
lol how could i be so stupid
dont call yourself stupid, bro... just consider yourself unfortunate... at least you didnt get frustrated enough to get mad... enjoy racing!
Tommi Makkinen is offline  
Old 08-29-2004, 08:00 AM
  #10  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 220
Default

Also...

DId you after you cut your comm... Take an exacto and run it in the slit on the comm. Then take a ball point pen and light roll it down the comms slit edge, this will round over the possible sharp edge.
Smalls is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.