R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2011, 02:47 PM   #1
Tech Elite
 
k1ller rc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,183
Trader Rating: 309 (100%+)
Default Bench Testing???????????

How do you bench test brushless motors and brushless esc's without using each other?
k1ller rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:53 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
Foxxrocket's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Sonoma County
Posts: 2,018
Default

You can use a dyno to test motors. ESCs are a different story.
__________________
Tamiya 416X/ Tamiya TA-05 IFS/ Losi XXX-SCT/ HPI Baja 5SC/ Tamiya M05/ Tamiya F103/ Tamiya F104/ Team Associated 10R5O/ Kyosho IGT2/
Foxxrocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 05:24 PM   #3
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Foxxrocket View Post
You can use a dyno to test motors. ESCs are a different story.
It would take some setting uo but you could turn the SP motor checker into a dyno and do both. It controls the motor through any ESC so you can test settings as well.

But as it has been said before.... The dyno tells only a part of the story. Its the results you get on the track that are the only indicators you should use.
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 07:54 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
k1ller rc's Avatar
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 4,183
Trader Rating: 309 (100%+)
Default

ty, but my basic concern is for validation of a properly working motor previous to running. I buy a lot of used motors and want them in decent shape before i get to the track..
k1ller rc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 11:52 PM   #5
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

http://www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...&I=LXAGTT&P=FR

Will check motors.....

I have some of the speed passion units, that do the same thing but they need an ESC to work, but you can also then test the ESC too.....

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 12:00 AM   #6
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 5,310
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by k1ller rc View Post
ty, but my basic concern is for validation of a properly working motor previous to running. I buy a lot of used motors and want them in decent shape before i get to the track..
You would be better off testing the impedence of the motor then to see if it has been run hot too often...
__________________
Blade: Andro Treiber H 79g AN
FH: Donic Bluefire M3 Max Blk
BH: Donic Bluefire M2 Max Red
Powered by Falco
Dragonfire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 10:12 AM   #7
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieO View Post
http:/ /www3.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin/wti0001p?&I=LXAGTT&P=FR

Will check motors.....

I have some of the speed passion units, that do the same thing but they need an ESC to work, but you can also then test the ESC too.....

Later EddieO


how would you test them with this if its reccommended not to free spin brushless motors?
Robbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 10:32 AM   #8
Tech Elite
 
EddieO's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 3,414
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Mount a fan on it I guess....

However, thats not the requirement on all motors.....seems mainly novak. I've spun up speed passions, trinitys, LRP, with no issues.....you can go on youtube and watch the speed passion motor tester spin up a motor with no load.

Might just be another novak design flaw...

Later EddieO
__________________
www.teambrood.com
EddieO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 10:58 AM   #9
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Keep the voltage down. Even a Novak should be able do free run at 3 volts. Start throwing 8 volts to them and things might start exploding.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 11:35 AM   #10
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 156
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieO View Post
Mount a fan on it I guess....

Got a couple 3.5 bladers I think Illpass on lol.

Quote:
Originally Posted by EddieO View Post
However, thats not the requirement on all motors.....seems mainly novak. I've spun up speed passions, trinitys, LRP, with no issues.....you can go on youtube and watch the speed passion motor tester spin up a motor with no load.

Might just be another novak design flaw...

Later EddieO

Gotcha .... makes sense


Thanks
Robbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Testing On MuchMore CTX-TM Motor Cooler TeamMuchMore Electric On-Road 214 01-09-2012 01:46 PM
ace pow / gens ace lipo testing, on road. tc3team Electric On-Road 77 12-08-2011 03:52 PM
Turtle Trax 7.3.2010 Testing Day cptxaggie Georgia Racing 38 07-05-2010 11:05 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:40 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net