R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2011, 01:45 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default soldering flux?

do u need to use flux for soldering an esc or can u get away without it
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 01:48 PM   #2
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

It is completely unnecessary for anyone that knows what they are doing. It can help make things a bit easier for the noob.

Do NOT use acid flux on any electrical connections.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:01 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks hows it makie it easier for the newbie
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:06 PM   #4
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by theatriks View Post
ok thanks hows it makie it easier for the newbie
The solder will flow a little quicker and easier over the parts. If you know what you're doing, you can get it to flow just fine without the added mess and expense.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:08 PM   #5
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: NZ
Posts: 677
Default

electronic solder has the correct non corrosive flux inside it
DO NOT USE any other flux, unless you are 100% certain its non corrosive.
1101 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:08 PM   #6
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Also, flux IS necessary if you are using the wrong solder. But if you go down to Radio Shack and get a roll of 60/40 rosin core, there is flux in the solder and it will work just fine on its own.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:35 PM   #7
2xs
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I am going to expand on what wingracer stated.

You can get by without using flux. But flux really does make soldering easier, and the finished product can turnout looking better and stronger. A shiny solder joint is a strong solder joint. If the joint is dull looking then there is a greater chance of failure. Yes even the best solder joint can fail. It is just that poor solder joints have a higher percentage chance of failure.

I solder everyday at my job and I have to use flux due to the size of the parts. Look up 0201 resistors or capacitors. On that scale you just can't get enough heat to transfer to the board without flux. This is especially true with todays lead-free solders.

Multi/rosin core solders have flux incorporated in them. So as you add solder you are also adding flux. When you are soldering you will see a wisp of smoke rise from the work site. This smoke is the flux burning off. And when the smoke stops the flux is gone, it is either time to add more flux or hope you are done working. When the flux is completely burned out of the solder, the solder will stick to the soldering iron and pull away from the work site. This can lead to solder shorts if you are not careful.
2xs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:39 PM   #8
Tech Lord
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 12,861
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 2xs View Post
I am going to expand on what wingracer stated.

You can get by without using flux. But flux really does make soldering easier, and the finished product can turnout looking better and stronger. A shiny solder joint is a strong solder joint. If the joint is dull looking then there is a greater chance of failure. Yes even the best solder joint can fail. It is just that poor solder joints have a higher percentage chance of failure.

I solder everyday at my job and I have to use flux due to the size of the parts. Look up 0201 resistors or capacitors. On that scale you just can't get enough heat to transfer to the board without flux. This is especially true with todays lead-free solders.
Yeah, lead free solder sux and flux is a must. Other than that, I can obtain equally good results without it in 98% of applications.

Now soldering a steel pinion gear to a steel shaft for a slotcar motor, give me silver solder and acid flux.
__________________
Sean. Certified speed crazed mowron.
Team Shepherd USA
www.ashfordhobby.com
wingracer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:40 PM   #9
Tech Master
 
locked's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,758
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

But if you use flux on your capacitor, your RC might become lost in time.
Better keep it under 88mph.


It's been a long week, with too little sleep and too much caffeine.
__________________
Dave Locke
Team PerformanceHobbies.ca | ORCA RC | Bodies by Brandon | Team Meeting
XRAY T4'15 x2 | XRAY XB4 | XRAY XB8E | XRAY XB8
locked is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 03:36 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

alrite thanks alot guys ,,,,,the dude down at my lhs who sold me the stuff said i should be fine without the flux
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 03:42 PM   #11
Tech Master
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Calgary, AB, Canada
Posts: 1,883
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

I sucked at soldering for years until someone showed me how to use flux. It makes life sooooo much easier when soldering RC items. Small price...big impact on results.
__________________
Horizon Hobby/Losi
Sanwa
Savox
HobbyWing
Hyperion
SUNA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 04:25 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
theatriks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 1,620
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ok i hear ya any specific type of flux
theatriks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 06:48 PM   #13
Tech Master
 
simplechamp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 1,315
Trader Rating: 73 (100%+)
Default

I never used flux before, and then bought a little tub of it from RadioShack one day just to try it and I'm sure glad I did. I disagree that it's only something to help "noobs". It's a tool to make things easier for any experience level. Personally if there is a tool that can help make a job easier I will use it.

I use flux VERY sparingly, the first time I used it I applied too much and it gummed up a set of Dean's (you can clean it off, but you won't have to if you use the proper amount). As people have said, most solder will have the rosin flux core already. But I have found adding a tiny bit of flux to thick wire makes it much easier to tin, and also helps on Dean's or bullet connectors. It is mainly to help get things started, and once the solder is flowing/pooling onto the wire or connector the flux inside the solder core takes over.

Keep in mind that no amount of flux can make up for poor soldering equipment or technique. Upgrading from a cheap pencil-type 25W iron to a quality Hakko or Weller soldering station can be a real eye-opener if you've never used one before.
__________________
Serpent 811Be - Jammin X2 Carbon e-GT conversion - Axial SCX10 Honcho
simplechamp is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 08:23 AM   #14
Tech Elite
 
Potoczak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: PA
Posts: 3,609
Trader Rating: 112 (100%+)
Default

Just go and buy a roll of the radio shack 60/40 rosin core solder and you will be set.. Best solder I have ever used!!
__________________
Pete Potoczak

Home entertainment specialist
Secure Technologies/ www.stiworldwide.com
Potoczak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2011, 09:38 PM   #15
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 140
Default

Check out this thread:
http://www.rctech.net/forum/radio-el...correctly-not-
so-brief-lesson.html

There's a lot of things you can do to try and save money with RC. Flux is not where I would choose to do this.
__________________
Ultima RB5-SP2/HB D4 WCE/AE TC5R/AE 18R/Traxxas Blue Eagle
Sponsoring Futaba/Tekin/Thunder Power with my hard earned cash.
BlueEagle is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Soldering is not easy for me. edhchoe Electric On-Road 49 03-25-2009 02:51 AM
Battery soldering method CREWMAN Electric On-Road 20 05-26-2008 07:37 PM
Soldering Flux wingswest328 Electric On-Road 13 12-30-2006 11:39 PM
Battery Soldering Secret_weapon Electric On-Road 19 08-30-2005 03:50 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:14 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net