R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-24-2011, 02:02 PM   #16
Tech Addict
 
warnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 522
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by [[john]] View Post
Sorry Guys, I should have gave a little more info.

I will be running TC & ESC settings are open .

Thanks for the info so far!
If you are running timing I find in 21.5 the tekin to be the motor to use. It just won't die. I run pretty much max timing on on the ESC and with other motors if u get the temp wrong it will smoke.. the tekin just keeps going.. My motor has come off at some crazy temps and it keeps going.

There is not much between the LRP and the tekin but I just find the tekin lasts... used to have a X11 21.5 geez that was a good motor too.. preferred it over the x12.. weird.
__________________
TCX Smokem / F104 wgp
Major Sponsor : Visa Card
TEAM SMA - www.smaracing.org
warnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 02:39 PM   #17
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default One last point about re-buildability....

It's not enough to design and manufacture a re-buildable motor; all of the service items necessary must be available at all times or this option is useless. We not only offer all of these service items in our store, but also through our distributors. If you need a replacement part, you can easily find one.

Regardless of the criticism upthread, our Ballistics save customers time and money compared to returning motors for service.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 02:43 PM   #18
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Serzoni View Post

Interestingly enough, all of the smoked motors went up while using a GTB. Didn't he say on the other thread that you couldn't smoke a motor when using a GTB due to the thermal cutoff? Yeah, well that worked just great..
No. Never said it.... You can over-heat a motor using any esc---even a GTB. In addition, the GTBs do not have the "blue wire" sensor to detect over-heated motors.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:14 PM   #19
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 72
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NovakTwo View Post
No. Never said it.... You can over-heat a motor using any esc---even a GTB. In addition, the GTBs do not have the "blue wire" sensor to detect over-heated motors.
what about GTB2 is there blue wire to detect temp Motor ?

on previously Novak SS had blue wire, is it work as temp Motor ?

So if 6 wire on many sensor wire are black, there is indication ,
it has no temp reading on motor ?
flashrevolution is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 09:50 PM   #20
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 85
Default

Speed Passion with a Tekin esc pretty well rule the 21.5 and 13.5 classes around Melbourne AU
mcb-jet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:10 PM   #21
Tech Champion
 
skypilot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 9,524
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

is that cause thats what the fast drivers are using, if you have them trade cars with a b main driver will they win the A.
__________________
semi retired..
skypilot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:31 PM   #22
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 85
Default

The B drivers useally have cars that are poorly set-up,tuned and maintained which is the reason alot of them are not in A
mcb-jet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-24-2011, 10:33 PM   #23
Tech Master
 
Professor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Sydney,Australia
Posts: 1,090
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by warnos View Post
If you are running timing I find in 21.5 the tekin to be the motor to use. It just won't die. I run pretty much max timing on on the ESC and with other motors if u get the temp wrong it will smoke.. the tekin just keeps going.. My motor has come off at some crazy temps and it keeps going.

There is not much between the LRP and the tekin but I just find the tekin lasts... used to have a X11 21.5 geez that was a good motor too.. preferred it over the x12.. weird.
i would have to agree tekins are very good i love mine ( but having said that if you ask 10 different ppl the same question you will more than likely get 8 different answers)just the way it is i guess

good luck with whatever you choose
__________________
VBC RACING AUS--HOBBYWING--RC MAKER--
MAD GRAPHICS--BITTY DESIGN
Professor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 02:01 AM   #24
Tech Master
 
heretic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: europe
Posts: 1,106
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by housey View Post
Graupner if its legal, although it isn't legal in many places. It'll be a bit of an unfair advantage if you can use one.

I have no idea if this statement is true, but if it is, why is it the case ?
__________________
I love wedge bodies. I love dish wheels.
heretic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 08:28 AM   #25
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

The new GTB2s do not have the motor temperature overload sensor.

The reason racers hate this feature is that an overheated motor will shut off the esc when the motor exceeds the pre-set temp. This protects both the motor and esc from damage. But, racers do not want anything to shut off their controllers. So, we do not include this protection in our low RDS-on, racing controllers.

Novak's budget Havoc escs (1S, 2S and 3S) all have this motor over-heat (blue-wire) protection. All Novak sensor harnesses have a blue wire, but not all escs are designed with this temperature detection sensor activated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by flashrevolution View Post
what about GTB2 is there blue wire to detect temp Motor ?

on previously Novak SS had blue wire, is it work as temp Motor ?

So if 6 wire on many sensor wire are black, there is indication ,
it has no temp reading on motor ?
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 08:43 AM   #26
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 678
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

at what motor temp does the havoc shut down?
captain stacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2011, 08:56 AM   #27
Company Representative
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,891
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by captain stacker View Post
at what motor temp does the havoc shut down?
Our guidance for motor temps is not to exceed 165 degrees; anything above this temperature will shut off the esc to prevent damage to both items.

Customers who do not want this limitation can select one of our racing escs, which do not have this protective feature built-in.
NovakTwo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
21.5 Brushless vs 540 Silver Can - Time to change? tony gray Australian Racing 65 11-09-2009 04:38 PM
why need for standard 13.5 motor?? magm20001 Electric On-Road 48 12-11-2007 05:15 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:35 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net