R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Old 02-16-2011, 11:06 PM   #1
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Brushless Setup?

So, as I'm VERY new to on-road racing, and COMPLETELY new to brushless motors, etc... I'm considering purchasing a brushless motor/esc setup.

Currently I'm running a brushed 27T setup. I just found out by the club director at the club I'll be racing in this Friday, that everyone in the "stock" class will be running 17.5T brushless. So, I guess I won't be very competitive...

Maybe you guys can help... I'm running a HB Cyclone TC. I know NOTHING about brushless/LiPo's. I've searched my LHS, and they've got several Motor/ESC combo's by Castle creations. I know Castle is a good brand, but not sure what KV rating I should be aiming for. Also, for the time being, I'd like to stick to a 5000mAh NiMh battery, as that's what I've got, and keeps my costs low.

So, I'll be running 1/10th TC on carpet. Not looking to be the winner every week, just to go out and have some fun. I've noticed the sidewinder esc/motor combo's around $120 which is a great price. Any advice???
Dadic 78 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 08:28 AM   #2
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)

I would go for a Hobbywing Justock ESC/17.5 combo.
Simple.
Cheap.
Probably fast enough to not be the problem if you are not keeping up on track. Meaning, if the speed difference between this setup and whatever the "best" setup is (that will cost 2-3 times as much) is enough that you are not competitive, then you are a very good driver racing with other very good drivers.
Old 02-17-2011, 08:32 AM   #3
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)

ps I don't recall ever seeing a CC system with motors rated by turns (17.5), so racing in a 17.5 class with a CC ESC is fine (the ESC's are generally good), however the motors don't meet the rules
Old 02-17-2011, 09:05 AM   #4
Tech Initiate

Another good combo is the Tekin RS and Fantom 17.5.