R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-21-2004, 04:20 PM   #1
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Arrow Glitching Problems...Help Quick!

I have a race tomorrow and I figured I'll run my car outside to configure the trims and stuff.

The car glitches when it's about 25 ft away from me. Everything loses control, motor and servo.

I tried switching modules on my radio (Spectra to regular). Didn't work. Tried different radios. Didn't work either. So there must be something wrong with the receiver. I took it apart and there seems to be nothing wrong. Antenna is intact and no frays.

I also used a different car with a different receiver and still it glitches.

What gives?
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:22 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

esc?
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:29 PM   #3
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Here's a pic of how my electronics layout is.

By the way, I've run this same layout for a while now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg dsc01884.jpg (60.1 KB, 144 views)
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:31 PM   #4
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

its alittle bunched out. But thats because pro 4 really has no room. I think your best best is to take the reciever and stand it up and let the esc breath alittle. When it is next to that motor. It can get hot.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:36 PM   #5
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Santa Cruz CA
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Move your personal transponder as far away from the servo as you can. I had that same problem and once I move the personal everything was fine. Hope this helps.
Austin B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:52 PM   #6
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

Just tried the receiver stand up, didn't help a lot.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 04:56 PM   #7
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

well i dunno what the problem is. Did you try a different motor and batts?
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:04 PM   #8
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I moved the PT to the front bumper and still glitches.

Hmm, well, this did happen after I switched to a new motor. I'll try the old motor then.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:05 PM   #9
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

hope it helps. I hate when it happens.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:14 PM   #10
Tech Master
 
onnetz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 1,727
Default

seems like every glitch I've ever had could be traced back to the motor.
onnetz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:27 PM   #11
Registered User
 
ritchie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 2,044
Default

this may not be the problem, but isn't the stripe on the schotty suppose to be on the positive. that is unless you the black wire going to positive. also if you look at the top of the motor you will see where the little lock taps touch the circuit board and one of the two little wires that go to the motor screws also touches a tab on the board, solder those, that does help.
ritchie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:34 PM   #12
Tech Master
 
DOMOisCOOL's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Daly City, California, U.S.A.
Posts: 1,914
Send a message via ICQ to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via AIM to DOMOisCOOL Send a message via Yahoo to DOMOisCOOL
Default

I have my motors backwards (to show the label, try it).

I just ran my car outside with the old motor. No glitches even when far away (around 100ft). This is intresting since my newer motor (Fukuyama Mako) is making the glitch? My older motor is slow so I don't know if I want to run it tomorrow.

I'm going to try the Mako one more time.
DOMOisCOOL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:40 PM   #13
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: CFL
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Glitching

have u tried switching crystals?,if u run rechargable batts try putting some regular AA,and check the arm if the stack is starting to peel up they are only layered and epoxyed on there.(I think correct me if im wrong) I was glitching today in kissimme and noticed on the arm when i pulled it out it was peeling up and i switched arms and no glitch.
Hope this helps
Trailer of Stuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:42 PM   #14
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: CFL
Posts: 54
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default oh

I forgot my buddy was glitching today with a mako also he switched motors and it was fine his arm was peeling up like mine.
all i got to say for kissime is 4.9
Trailer of Stuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-21-2004, 05:46 PM   #15
Tech Elite
 
JDXray's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 2,802
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to JDXray
Default

so i guess it was the motor.
JDXray is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mini T glitching problems Langford2000 Micro and Mini Scales 9 01-23-2008 09:15 PM
Glitching Problems SmokinPhred Electric Off-Road 5 06-09-2006 07:59 AM
Does the 3PK have glitching problems? New_Toasted Nitro On-Road 2 07-08-2005 11:26 AM
XXX Glitching Problems nudge2325 Australian Racing 4 07-15-2003 04:51 PM
AHHHH, Glitching problems!!!! rchotrod Electric On-Road 17 03-09-2003 06:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:37 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net