Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Need some help troubleshooting... >

Need some help troubleshooting...

Need some help troubleshooting...

Old 02-11-2011, 04:19 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Dadic 78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default Need some help troubleshooting...

Novak fusion ESC (purchased used on this site from a seller with good rating)

Traxxas 2.4 Ghz Tx/Rx w/Traxxas steering servo (new)

Trinity PK2 motor

6 Cell NiMh Battery

I've been out of electric R/C for about 15 years, so memories on how to troubleshoot are foggy at best. Here's the scoop.

My transmitter operates my steering servo normally.

I can't get the ESC and Rx to communicate... I've plugged the ESC into Channel 2 on the Rx. The LED on the ESC flashes red. I hit the "one touch" program button on the ESC, and nothing... I have no throttle control whatsoever. I'm a little stumped here...

Couple things to mention... The On/Off switch on the ESC doesn't do anything... The ESC acts the same regardless of where I have the on/off switch positioned.

There are also two wires coming out of the back of the ESC. Thin guage, black and red. They've been cut, so they're short, and there's no connector on them. I assume these wires are for an additional battery pack for the esc?

Total NOOB question here, so be kind... How do I get this thing to operate without running a reciever pack? I've been running Nitro for the past 15 years, and this electric stuff is beginning to escape me...

FTR: I have the Novak Fusion Manual, and I've followed it step by step. That's why I'm here now.

Thanks in advance!

Last edited by Dadic 78; 02-11-2011 at 05:35 PM.
Dadic 78 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 05:02 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

http://teamnovak.com/download/instru...dfs/fusion.pdf

near the bottom of page two is a picture of how to hook it up.
no rx battery needed at all, the ESC connects to the battery and supplies power to the rx and servo.
make sure your esc is in ch 2 and with the right polarity.
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 05:03 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

something bad from that pdf manual
"ESC Is Melted Or Burnt/ESC Runs With Switch Off
• Internal damage––Refer to Service Procedures."
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 05:27 PM
  #4  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Dadic 78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by gacjr0 View Post
http://teamnovak.com/download/instru...dfs/fusion.pdf

near the bottom of page two is a picture of how to hook it up.

Yeah, I've been using that PDF. Only problem is that the wiring diagram is tough to see properly... But I've done some research, and found the proper wiring method, and I've got it wired correctly...

no rx battery needed at all, the ESC connects to the battery and supplies power to the rx and servo.

Do you mean the ESC connects to the Rx, and Rx supplies power to ESC via 7.2V battery???

make sure your esc is in ch 2 and with the right polarity.
Yeah, ESC is Definitely in Ch2 and polarity is identical to steering servo, which is operating correctly.
Dadic 78 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 05:31 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Dadic 78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

And one more thing... If I don't have a separate Rx pack plugged in, my Rx doesn't fire up... to get power to the Rx, I must have an external Rx battery plugged in. Oh, and the on/off switch just fell off the ESC. This thing seems sketchy. I think it's F'd!
Dadic 78 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 05:35 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I mean, the battery (7.2v round cells) connects to the esc with main power wires , the esc connects to the rx with the red/white/black wires (the esc supplies rx and servo 5-6v thru this connection)
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 05:45 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (15)
 
gacjr0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 765
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

if theres still some of the switch wire left, wind those together to make the esc permanently on

no rx battery with this type of system
gacjr0 is offline  
Old 02-11-2011, 06:01 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (11)
 
Dadic 78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Edmonton, AB
Posts: 733
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

yeah, I've got a feeling this thing is fried... Without a Rx pack in, it just doesn't do anything. With a Rx pack in, it just flashes red. I can hold the setup button all day, and nothing.

I've double-checked the wiring, and I've got the battery/Motor wired correctly, so I think it's an internal problem...

No racing tonight I guess...
Dadic 78 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.