R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-18-2006, 05:56 AM   #361
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi Glenn, you should have another call today hopefully with the answer this time! It seems like a strange one, certainly one we've not come across before.
Terry_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 08:23 AM   #362
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Terry_S
Hi Glenn, you should have another call today hopefully with the answer this time! It seems like a strange one, certainly one we've not come across before.
OK Terry,

but in the meantime,

Got it working.
but not tried in anger, maybe tonight @ the club if Terry's happy.

removed red from esc lead and put MRT switch to on & plugged in rx pack.

will rewire another esc just in case
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 08:57 AM   #363
Tech Regular
 
Mart42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 433
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys,

Think seriously to buy an MRT esc to use in my 1/12th. Can someone have a pics of the esc mounted in a car with the capacitor install.

This questions have probably been asked before, Did we need to put a capacitor? I run 1/12th and oval 4cell stock and 19t.

Thanks
__________________
MARTIN LECUYER
Team Associated - Reedy - SMC - Team Scream - BSR - SlyGraphiX - Carpy's
[email protected]
Mart42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 09:10 AM   #364
Team EAM
 
EAMotorsports's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Murfreesboro, TN
Posts: 9,158
Trader Rating: 79 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to EAMotorsports
Default

Hey Martin,

Here is mine in my T2. Yes it is reconmended that you run the cap with it especially with 4 cell. But the cap that comes with it is much much smaller than others.

EA
Attached Thumbnails
New MRT ESC-mrt-002.jpg  
__________________
Contact Us
Team EAM, Our Facebook
Team EAM | Xray | RCAmerica | Hudy | APEX Raceway and Hobbies | RC Mission | Killer Concepts | AVID | Hobbywing.
EAMotorsports is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 09:21 AM   #365
Tech Regular
 
Mart42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Québec, Canada
Posts: 433
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Thanks EA
__________________
MARTIN LECUYER
Team Associated - Reedy - SMC - Team Scream - BSR - SlyGraphiX - Carpy's
[email protected]
Mart42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 10:28 AM   #366
tel
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Chandler,AZ
Posts: 217
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Ron Atomic and I got the new MX Pro+ from EA for the regionals last weekend here in TX. The speedo worked flawless and had tons of rip. No problems, easy setup, no heat, and external wire shortening. Worth every penny.

I would suggest you always run a cap (or 2 in parallel to reduce ESR) no matter the class. This helps reduce the voltage drop when grabbing full throttle and is much nicer on your batteries so they don't get hit with a larger current spike.
__________________
Travis Lewis
Team Kyosho, Team Orion, Avid RC, JTP RC
tel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 11:05 AM   #367
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Iowa
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I just received mine last week too. It's mounted in a 1/12th, and I'll try to remember to get a pic of it up here for you later this evening. Speedo ran great, with excellent feel and punch.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Mart42
Hi guys,

Think seriously to buy an MRT esc to use in my 1/12th. Can someone have a pics of the esc mounted in a car with the capacitor install.

This questions have probably been asked before, Did we need to put a capacitor? I run 1/12th and oval 4cell stock and 19t.

Thanks
jpeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 11:21 AM   #368
Tech Addict
 
radio_car_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mart42
Think seriously to buy an MRT esc to use in my 1/12th. Can someone have a pics of the esc mounted in a car with the capacitor install.
MRT in a 12th
Attached Thumbnails
New MRT ESC-bmi-2.jpg  
radio_car_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 12:09 PM   #369
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

Here are some of mine, but I don't have a cap on!

I didn't now I should have one...

http://forum.el-me.gr/gallery/albums/4-12/IMG_3941b.jpg
http://forum.el-me.gr/gallery/albums...lakopoulos.jpg
http://forum.el-me.gr/gallery/albums/3-12/DSCN0102.JPG

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 02:03 PM   #370
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Hi Nick and guys, as EA already said we recommend to run a cap and a schottky (both supplied) they improve efficiency.
With maximum efficiency there's more punch, especially later in a race.
Terry_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 02:53 PM   #371
Shop Owner
 
nnick's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Cheapest prices in Europe ;)
Posts: 1,342
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to nnick Send a message via MSN to nnick Send a message via Yahoo to nnick Send a message via Skype™ to nnick
Default

I have on my T2 cap and shotkey, but I thought there were not needed at the 1/12!

Since you recomend install them on 1/12 too I'll

Nick
__________________
Nikolakopoulos Nick
RC RING

The #1 source for all your electric needs www.rcring.eu

Enjoy RCing....
R/C Tech #82
IRT #123

Don't practice until you get it right. Practice until you can't get it wrong

Team Xray T4'17, Team Xray X10'18, TOP Racing Rebel
nnick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-18-2006, 07:34 PM   #372
Tech Champion
 
Matt Howard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Abilene TX
Posts: 5,952
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jpeck
I just received mine last week too. It's mounted in a 1/12th, and I'll try to remember to get a pic of it up here for you later this evening. Speedo ran great, with excellent feel and punch.
Cool, that means an MRT won both stock and 19T 1/12 at the Plex last week, LOL. I got a second one to put into my 1/12 stock car a couple weeks ago.
__________________
Official member of The Guild of Calamitous Intent and proud supporter of Conjectural Technologies.
Serpent S411 LE kit #192
RCTech #361
Matt Howard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2006, 08:29 PM   #373
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 1,850
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Well, just installed the mother of all power caps on the MRT Got some 1 Farad @ 2.5V super-capacitors, and wired 4 in series for a total of 250,000 uF @ 10V power cap. And the assembly is actually smaller than the 2,700 uF power cap that my KO used. After powering everything up, I can disconnect the battery, and keep turning the servo for 5-10 seconds, just off the power stored in this super-cap setup. And it only costs less than $10 for the caps. Tell me again how much Novak, Tekin, KO, etc charge us for a power cap that's 100 times smaller than my setup? Assuming of course, that my setup works on the track. Won't find out till Sunday.
Stealth_RT is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 02:41 AM   #374
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: UK
Posts: 902
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Stealth_RT interesting!.. let us know how your setup works on the track. I assume it's all connected up good and close to your ESC, no long wires.

nnick, we recommend using power caps at any time as they improve efficiency which improves performance!

Matt, good to hear news about MRT wins over in the USA, it means we're out in front and everyone else is second or further behind.. MRT is No.1
Terry_S is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2006, 08:47 AM   #375
Tech Addict
 
Skill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Doncaster, England
Posts: 537
Default

Hi Terry,

Any news on the price and release date of the MX Team yet?

Thanks,

Steve
Skill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:58 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net