R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-12-2005, 11:21 AM   #1396
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by judge10tpt
to the ko propo team can you help i have a PS 2015 Fet servo and have stripped the gears where can i get replayment gears, i have tried shopatron but i am not sure which ones to get for this servo, please help

cheers

judge

ko propo racer
judge-
The entire gear set for the PS-2015 is no longer available. If you only want to replace the 1st gear (gear connecting to the servo motor) it is the same as the PS-2173/PDS-2143,2343,2365. If you want to upgrade the entire gears to the metal type, you will need to send it in for repairs. This will require replacing the servo case, pot and gears.
-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 11:57 AM   #1397
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 94
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
judge-
The entire gear set for the PS-2015 is no longer available. If you only want to replace the 1st gear (gear connecting to the servo motor) it is the same as the PS-2173/PDS-2143,2343,2365. If you want to upgrade the entire gears to the metal type, you will need to send it in for repairs. This will require replacing the servo case, pot and gears.
-Robert

cheers i will send it in and see where we go from there as i broke teeth off most of the gears

cheers

judge
judge10tpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 05:35 PM   #1398
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

So I'm confused.
Does the Twister 2.1 Carbon have a cutoff temp or not?
Can that be changed using the programmer or does it have to be done by a pro?
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 05:39 PM   #1399
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobydo
So I'm confused.
Does the Twister 2.1 Carbon have a cutoff temp or not?
Can that be changed using the programmer or does it have to be done by a pro?
Yes it has a cutoff temp
slightly higher than V2.0
and cannot be changed.
like the 2.0 it can be dissabled by cutting a jumper wire inside the board.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 05:46 PM   #1400
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rc-zombies
Yes it has a cutoff temp
slightly higher than V2.0
and cannot be changed.
like the 2.0 it can be dissabled by cutting a jumper wire inside the board.
Ok, because the supplement notice inside the ESC says:
"Because this product is designed for racing competition, it is NOT equipped with the thermal protection circuit. It is likely to ignite by the paradox and the overload of the power supply"
Why not just say it has a higher cutoff temp?
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 06:05 PM   #1401
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

scooby-
It is probably a misunderstanding. The thermo cutt is higher, but if it ignites or becomes damaged, it most likely will not be repairable. That is what it basically says on the VFS-1 Pro Competition versions.
-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 06:34 PM   #1402
Tech Master
 
Mr. Postman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ...at the BMEU!
Posts: 743
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Postman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobydo
Ok, because the supplement notice inside the ESC says:
"Because this product is designed for racing competition, it is NOT equipped with the thermal protection circuit. It is likely to ignite by the paradox and the overload of the power supply"
Why not just say it has a higher cutoff temp?
Welcome to the wonderful world of "Japanese" english, also known as "lost in translation". The instructions for KO stuff can be a bit wonkie. For example:

"Warning! If the polarity of the shotki diode is connected incorrectly, repairing it might become impossible."

or my favorite, found on the header cards on the parts bags

"make you exciting spirit"

I normally have to read through the instructions two or three times, then ask myself, "what are they trying to tell me here?"

BTW, great equipment though, once you get the hang of understanding (and using) the MSA. I did run into a problem with my VFS-1 (it was something I did to it) and Robert was able to take care of it quickly.

TC
Mr. Postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 06:41 PM   #1403
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

If Engrish is your cup of tea, check out www.engrish.com. I'm sure that you'll get even better laughs out of it!
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-12-2005, 11:38 PM   #1404
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mr_postman
Welcome to the wonderful world of "Japanese" english, also known as "lost in translation". The instructions for KO stuff can be a bit wonkie. For example:

"Warning! If the polarity of the shotki diode is connected incorrectly, repairing it might become impossible."

or my favorite, found on the header cards on the parts bags

"make you exciting spirit"

I normally have to read through the instructions two or three times, then ask myself, "what are they trying to tell me here?"

BTW, great equipment though, once you get the hang of understanding (and using) the MSA. I did run into a problem with my VFS-1 (it was something I did to it) and Robert was able to take care of it quickly.

TC

It makes me wonder about all those japanese characters people get tattooed to themselves!
What we think means "modified",
probably means "alterations"
All these japanese people stare at you funny because they think you own a dry cleaners!
Oh, well. Thanks for the Twister info.
BTW, they are on sale right now at Tower. $149 plus $20 bucks off!
You cant beat $129 for a Twister 2.1
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLCT1&P=7
Tower code:011R9
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 12:02 AM   #1405
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

damn,... now i am hurting... i paid $350 usd for everything delivered to my door etc with the computer connector. that was 2 months ago.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 02:38 AM   #1406
V12
Tech Elite
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,641
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
If Engrish is your cup of tea, check out www.engrish.com. I'm sure that you'll get even better laughs out of it!
KO Propo
Thanks for the link. Really funny.
__________________
Classic RC - http://classicrc.wordpress.com/
V12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2005, 06:53 PM   #1407
Tech Master
 
Mr. Postman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: ...at the BMEU!
Posts: 743
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Postman
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
If Engrish is your cup of tea, check out www.engrish.com. I'm sure that you'll get even better laughs out of it!
It's already in my bookmarks. Some of those posts they have are a riot. If any of you haven't checked it out yet, do so.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scoobydo

It makes me wonder about all those japanese characters people get tattooed to themselves!
What we think means "modified",
probably means "alterations"
All these japanese people stare at you funny because they think you own a dry cleaners!
Oh, well. Thanks for the Twister info.
BTW, they are on sale right now at Tower. $149 plus $20 bucks off!
You cant beat $129 for a Twister 2.1
http://www2.towerhobbies.com/cgi-bin...?&I=LXLCT1&P=7
Tower code:011R9
Or perhaps the guy who thinks he's getting "modified" tattooed on the back of his neck, turns out in kanji, the correct translation means "neutered".

TC
Mr. Postman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 12:04 AM   #1408
Tech Master
 
scoobydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Bay Area San Jose
Posts: 1,501
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ok, so do you have to get the multi setting adapter and card to make changes to Ko servos and ESC's?
Or
can you just get the PC interface and use the programs online to make the changes?
Is the adapter for those who cannot use the PC or do you have to have the adapter to use the pc interface?
I guess what I am trying to get at is I would rather use the computer than buying the Multi Setting Adapter.
Also I noticed, A 9 pin serial connection???
Will the wire be available in USB?
scoobydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 12:25 AM   #1409
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Hebiki is your man to ask for these q, but i will try my best.

I have the computer connector for it. Works great, gives you nice visualization as to what's going on. Downside, if you don't have a labtop, can't do settings when you are at the track.

For the computer, you can find a 9-pin serial <--> usb connector. Everything should be good after that. If you can't find one...
you can get 2 connectors. A 9-pin serial <--> ps2 serial and a ps2 serial <--> usb connector.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-14-2005, 11:08 AM   #1410
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

In the long run, the PC adapter is the cheaper way to go if you have a laptop. The reason I say that is because, software for anything new will be able to be downloaded from our website. Example only an example, if we were to come out with a new esc and it had a programming option, you would be able to download the software. If you had the multi setting adapter, you would need to buy the new card.

rcnewb2004 is correct that you will need to get a seriel to USB adapter to use the PC interface if your computer does not have a seriel port.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:00 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net