R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2005, 09:11 PM   #1216
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

I guess its because the motor will draw all the power you want to provide, high current will induce heat.

Heat will blow the esc.

The cap is like a bucket of water with a trap door on the bottom. It empties all the water <into the motor>, then the esc fills the bucket up with water. This happens many times per second, but the esc gets to rest for some of that second.

I am not that electronic minded (which is embarassing considering my profession)

Is that a fair analogy??
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 10:15 PM   #1217
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

Maybe i should say that i have a master and also bachelor degree in electrical and eletronic engineering. So I understand the cap is to smooth out the input voltage a little bit. But with or without the cap, the ESC will draw the same amount of current and the cap we are using on the ESC is so small that just after a friction of the second all the energy stored will be used up anyway. When the "bucket" (cap) got emptied, the battery will supply the voltage/energy to both the motor and the cap so the ESC won't gets to rest.
Anyway this is all the theory stuff i learned from university.

So i don't understand why no cap will blow up the ESC? someone can explain a bit more?
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 10:35 PM   #1218
Tech Champion
 
danjoy25's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 5,149
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow15
Maybe i should say that i have a master and also bachelor degree in electrical and eletronic engineering. So I understand the cap is to smooth out the input voltage a little bit. But with or without the cap, the ESC will draw the same amount of current and the cap we are using on the ESC is so small that just after a friction of the second all the energy stored will be used up anyway. When the "bucket" (cap) got emptied, the battery will supply the voltage/energy to both the motor and the cap so the ESC won't gets to rest.
Anyway this is all the theory stuff i learned from university.

So i don't understand why no cap will blow up the ESC? someone can explain a bit more?
I probably went too far, it might actually just thermal the esc not blow, don't ask me why. Try running it with or without and see if you can finish a heat. Alot of factors like gearing , the way you drive and track temps. I do notice the cap takes some heat away from the esc which I suppose helps it to be more efficient and maybe last longer.
__________________
Awesomatix A800 & A800X/ Mugen MTX-5 / 3 Racing F113 / Kyosho RB5 / Kyosho Mini-Z
danjoy25 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 10:39 PM   #1219
Tech Elite
 
Piyo Piyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jakarta - INDONESIA
Posts: 3,051
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow15
would it be okie if i don't install the capacitor? i'm running the hara 12x1

what would be the advantage/disadvantage?
If you don't use cap and schotkies :
1. DO NOT use brake with low turn motors (high current will flow back to your ESC which caused damage.)
2. Never misconnect your battery polarity, or you will buy a new ESC. (Keyence ESC has protection for this)

Other than that, I think it's OK for you not to use cap and schotkies.I
t's better for you to use both of them. Just buy some life insurance for your ESC.
__________________
VIOLA ARIELLE & FLOREN ISABELLE
Piyo Piyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 11:08 PM   #1220
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

i have installed the diode but just it's quite difficult if i want to re-install the cap (unless i put it onto the upper deck)...so that's why i'm thinking of not installing the cap..
yellow15 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 11:15 PM   #1221
Tech Elite
 
Piyo Piyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Jakarta - INDONESIA
Posts: 3,051
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by yellow15
i have installed the diode but just it's quite difficult if i want to re-install the cap (unless i put it onto the upper deck)...so that's why i'm thinking of not installing the cap..
Maybe you can post a picture af your car here and guys here will help you the best way to install your cap.
__________________
VIOLA ARIELLE & FLOREN ISABELLE
Piyo Piyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 11:19 PM   #1222
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

Not installing the cap is absolutely ok. I have no engineering degree, but I do have one in physics. Cap only provides small performance advantages during high amperage draw. The schotki diode is a must. There is no bargain there.

So go ahead and do it IMO. Unless there is something else in this particular speedo different from others, there is no problem with it. I have ran 3 speedos without caps, and no problems.

But your best bet is to ask KO Staff. Afterall, his name explains it all.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 11:28 PM   #1223
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

KO PROPO Staff:

Take a look at this link:
http://www.precisionrc.com/nv/car/pr...120&cat_id=157

I am just curious, you told me in a previous thread that the hara 2.1 has a higher thermo cuttoff?

But this page says specifically that there is NO thermo cuttoff??

Do you think you can confirm that for me??

Thank you.
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-25-2005, 11:54 PM   #1224
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I just checked that link... it says that about the Pro and the ProComp too and I know that's wrong -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 11:21 AM   #1225
Tech Master
 
jc510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 1,185
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

My Ultra diode Cracked along the post. Is it still good to use? It cracked really easy.

Also, I run stock or 19t. Do I even need one?
jc510 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 11:29 AM   #1226
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

I have a couple of them that have done that but they work just fine... no worries mahn I would put one on. I use them on my stock motors and if I'm correct, I believe they are there to reduce motor noise/interference...
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 11:38 AM   #1227
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 572
Default

Which is the best for stock racing the 2.1 or 2 and is the 2.1 available cause my lhs said that it still not ready for shipment.

Thanks
speed6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 11:46 AM   #1228
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Either one would be great. It's just that the 2.1 has a higher thermal cut-off. You shouldn't have a problem in stock with thermal overload, you'll toast your armature first ...
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 11:49 AM   #1229
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by speed6
Which is the best for stock racing the 2.1 or 2 and is the 2.1 available cause my lhs said that it still not ready for shipment.

Thanks
your LHS is wrong...it's been out and I have a couple.

Tower has them in stock for $150.00 and till end of the month there is $25.00 discount for orders over $149
and at $125.00 for the Hara 2.1 is a bargain.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2005, 04:44 PM   #1230
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Adelaide
Posts: 534
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

A question regarding programming the VSF series. Ive had a Hara 2.1 for a little bit now, but im having trouble finding a program which even gets me close to the inbuilt set up of my Nosram Dominator evo.
Does anyone kow for sure what he drive freqs are on the Stock motor setting on the nosram is?
ive tried a program like 5554443332212345.......current limiter off, throttle pnch 0, but i am still alo faster with the Nosram.

Hebiki: the suggestions you gave helped alot, but im stil 1sec/lap off thr pace Vs' my Dom. Evo.
Anyother help would be greatly appreciated!
__________________
Xray T2 09 (still) - LRP - MuchMore - Futaba 3PK (still)
Bluey_74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 01:18 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net