Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 08-23-2005, 11:33 AM
  #1186  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 483
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hugo
To KO Staff:

About the VFS-1, when it is written (on the set-up) :CUR.LIM=12
It means it is 120A or the position 12 from the first one (actually NO LIMIT)

Thanks in advance

Any answer???
Hugo is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 11:34 AM
  #1187  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Hugo- Current limiter set at 12 is OFF.

rcnewb2004-
shotki diode Single (x2) = shotki diode double (x1)

The single shotki is only rated for motors up to 16T. Anything lower would require the double or two singles.

The thermo cutt is higher in the 2.1 compared to the 2.0 and the FETs are the same.

The closer the shotki is to the motor, the more effecient it is.

VFS-1 Pro = VFS-1 J = Twister 2.0 = Masami = Rayspeed = Volac = Corraly
VFS-1 Pro Competition = Twister 2.1
VFS-2 = has less FETs inside to bring the cost down = VFS-2000 = VFS-2000J
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 12:48 PM
  #1188  
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default Setup of speedo

I saw this answered a few pages back but im after some further clarification.

When initially setting up the speedo should the transmitters throttle hi point be set at 100 then setup the speedo then move the hi point to 150

Or should you move the hi point to 150 then setup the transmitter.

this obviously applies to the throttle brk hi point also.

Transmitter make JR x-756 although i gather the KO works the same.

Also has anyone seen there motor comm blacken and the car looses all its power, is this a case where the current limiter is set too high. ?
chr15tophe is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 02:01 PM
  #1189  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

Thanks KO (Can I just call you KO?)

Cause it was as clear as mud before you straightened it out.

So the hara 2.1 will still have a thermo cutoff point, but just at a much higher point correct?
(Sorry, I am an idiot, i need things repeated to me 3x times)


How many amps is the Ultra (single) diode rated at?
How many amps are the "normal" black silver stripe diodes rated at?

Thanks all once again for replies. Very well appreciated.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 02:12 PM
  #1190  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

chr15tophe- Leave the Hi point at 100 and set it. Do not change it after setting it. If your comm is black, you are either geared too high, incorrect setting or need to cut your comm and change brushes. When you say lose all power, are you refering to just the motor or both the motor and steering? If you are using spektrum, this will happen if you are not setting the power save to 3.5V or higher.

rcnewb2004- The Twister 2.1 still has the thermo cutt off, but just very high. You are correct. The Ultimate shotki diode single (included with the esc) is equal to four of the regular barrel type of shotki diodes. The double would be equal to eight.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 03:41 PM
  #1191  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Posts: 151
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki
Quote:
Originally Posted by adyb




Hi,

Got my VFS-1 today and after a few tips, on the KO website for setups.
On the Current limiter it say '12' does this mean stage 12= 260A or 120A?
The Cut of voltage/ power save voltage (is this same thing) says '0' or should be set 2.3v and is this OK for the KO reciever KR301F and servo PDS-2143.

Going to try out the settings on KO website or does any one have a tweeked setup for 27T


Thanks for your help





12 = 120A.
cutoff voltage should be around 2.5-3.0.

for a "tweaked" 27T profile. go to page 36 and check it out. posted by Alex C and me.
KO PROPO Staff
Hugo- Current limiter set at 12 is OFF

Ok now I'm confused
adyb is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 03:54 PM
  #1192  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

You are probably opening the file as a text document and the numbers do not correlate to voltage settings, for example 12=120A. The numbers do not work that way. If you insist on opening it with notepad, here is the reference.
0=40A
1=60A
2=80A
3=100A
4=120A
5=140A
6=160A
7=180A
8=200A
9=220A
10=240A
11=260A
12= OFF

If you have a doubt about the setting, use the PC software to open the file. It's FREE.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 04:49 PM
  #1193  
Tech Apprentice
 
chr15tophe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 75
Default

Thanks KO Staff

I will re setup the speedo with the throttle hi point set at 100, what differennce will this give out of interest ?

Loss of power issue :- The car felt as if the batteries were dumping but they werent, still had steering, but the comm was black, changed speedo to test and all ok, suspect too much power going to motor ? motor, and brushes were the same as always used and the comm was freshly cut and then everything bedded in.
chr15tophe is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 05:16 PM
  #1194  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally Posted by chr15tophe
Thanks KO Staff

I will re setup the speedo with the throttle hi point set at 100, what differennce will this give out of interest ?

Loss of power issue :- The car felt as if the batteries were dumping but they werent, still had steering, but the comm was black, changed speedo to test and all ok, suspect too much power going to motor ? motor, and brushes were the same as always used and the comm was freshly cut and then everything bedded in.
Could be the profile that you are using? Did this happen just once or does this happen all the time? Could you have picked up some trash from the track? What turn motor are you using? Just some q's to try to narrow the problem.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 05:49 PM
  #1195  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
You are probably opening the file as a text document and the numbers do not correlate to voltage settings, for example 12=120A. The numbers do not work that way. If you insist on opening it with notepad, here is the reference.
0=40A
1=60A
2=80A
3=100A
4=120A
5=140A
6=160A
7=180A
8=200A
9=220A
10=240A
11=260A
12= OFF

If you have a doubt about the setting, use the PC software to open the file. It's FREE.

whoa.. learn something new everyday. my bad on that one.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 05:55 PM
  #1196  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Default

i have the same problem as well.

Last time i went to the track, the motor would suddenly stop moving after 3 minutes or so.. (servo can still move), and will back in action after 5 seconds.

HPI Pro4, VFS-1, Hara V2 12x1 motor, gear ratio 5.6. Outdoor track, 3300 battery, temperature around 15degree celcius.

Comm is black after the race.
i've used the same setup a few times but only last time i went to track i had this problem.

I set frequency from high 30s to mid 40s across the whole range. current limit is off. i don't use brake at all.

I will use a lower ratio (higher number) and do you think a ESC fan/heatsink will fix this problem?
yellow15 is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 06:08 PM
  #1197  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally Posted by yellow15
i have the same problem as well.

Last time i went to the track, the motor would suddenly stop moving after 3 minutes or so.. (servo can still move), and will back in action after 5 seconds.

HPI Pro4, VFS-1, Hara V2 12x1 motor, gear ratio 5.6. Outdoor track, 3300 battery, temperature around 15degree celcius.

Comm is black after the race.
i've used the same setup a few times but only last time i went to track i had this problem.

I set frequency from high 30s to mid 40s across the whole range. current limit is off. i don't use brake at all.

I will use a lower ratio (higher number) and do you think a ESC fan/heatsink will fix this problem?
Your problem sounds like the thermo kicking in. Either change the gearing, back off on timing or get some air-flow around the esc.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 06:49 PM
  #1198  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
XTREMERCHOBBIES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: JP Raceway
Posts: 1,052
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hi! We ordered a couple of Alex Racing VFS-1 esc, we would like to ask if this esc is at par with the hara twister 2.1 or 2.0? Will we have the same thermo problem? Hope you guys can help us out. Thanks!
XTREMERCHOBBIES is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 07:19 PM
  #1199  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

Originally Posted by XTREMERCHOBBIES
Hi! We ordered a couple of Alex Racing VFS-1 esc, we would like to ask if this esc is at par with the hara twister 2.1 or 2.0? Will we have the same thermo problem? Hope you guys can help us out. Thanks!
Don't know. You'll have to ask the person you purchased it from. The newer versions "competition" have the carbon looking case along with the higher thermo cutt-off.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 08-23-2005, 10:49 PM
  #1200  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
jc510's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Sacramento, Ca
Posts: 1,185
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Is the stock setting for the Hara 2.1 a good start for Stock racing?

Is the Thermal issue a concern with stock motors?

I read some pages through and didn't see the info. thanks, I'm looking forward to running the ESC.
jc510 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.