R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-15-2005, 04:12 PM   #1126
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

Robert-
Did you get the package? -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 04:25 PM   #1127
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarshGuy
What is the current limiter setting for? ...the "label" seems to imply that the esc would not deliver more than the current indicated in the drop down ...if that is the case, why qould you want that ..seems like you'd want "all the jiuce possible" to get to the motor?
The current limiter is so that you do not "waste" power. As an example: in a 60 foot straight you car can pull all the way down the straight with the current limiter set to 180A. You change the current limiter to 120A and can pull the same speed and lap times. You have now just did a little battery management and your runtime should increase due to not "wasting" an extra 60A that the motor could draw. You can however set this too low and see that the car will no longer will pull the straight and may become less aggressive.

Mainly if you are having runtime issues, this is an option to get a little more runtime.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 04:33 PM   #1128
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarshGuy
...maybe everyone else has just bought more motor since you raced last

...its not his motor Harsh. I personally guarantee it!
__________________
SMC ( www.smc-racing.com the only place to order your batteries online.), Awesomatix, Gonzo Paints, BN Racing

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 05:15 PM   #1129
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advil
...its not his motor Harsh. I personally guarantee it!
Yeah, Advil is my motorman and his motor are ballistically fast when my esc is properly calibrated with my M11.

Anyways, this is what happened. I wasn't getting full throttle from my radio. It just so happened that I just got a new M11 radio and I calibrated that with my spektrum perfectly. But, ( stupid me ) I forgot to calibrate my radio to my esc. I was only getting 3/4 throttle during the whole day, but still managed to qualify 6th and finish in 6th in the A. I noticed it when I was playing with the throttle trim on my car. When I cranked it up, the car wouldn't move as much. But, when I resetted the tx to the esc, the esc was working like a champ.
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 06:20 PM   #1130
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Managed to test my speedo tonight with everything on my bench and it works still... Guessing the thermal cutoff just kicked in and the slight smoke someone saw was traction compound or something evaporating if it had been spilt near the speedo/motor.
Dont want to repeat going from full chat with a 7 single to stopped dead on the back straight though!
Ill try and test it out in stock and make sure its working ok again before i do some more modified.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 09:44 PM   #1131
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Nor-Cal
Posts: 1,853
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default Hella Fast Car!!!

Roger,

Will you be looking for "victims" on Saturday or Sunday this weekend?
__________________
SMC ( www.smc-racing.com the only place to order your batteries online.), Awesomatix, Gonzo Paints, BN Racing

"Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery."
Advil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 10:25 PM   #1132
Tech Master
 
centax error!'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: " Burn Rubber, Not your wallet! "
Posts: 1,135
Default profile for twister 2.1

anyone has a profile for hara's twister 2.1? please share.

thnx.

CE!
centax error! is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-15-2005, 11:37 PM   #1133
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advil
Roger,

Will you be looking for "victims" on Saturday or Sunday this weekend?
Oh yeah, there's gonna be some victims saturday at Ripon !!!
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 03:17 AM   #1134
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: New Zealand
Posts: 94
Default

i know there are setups for 27T motors out there but does anyone have any suggestion for a rs540 motor to get the best out of it any help would be great

cheers
judge10tpt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 08:03 AM   #1135
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roger
Yeah, Advil is my motorman and his motor are ballistically fast when my esc is properly calibrated with my M11.

Anyways, this is what happened. I wasn't getting full throttle from my radio. It just so happened that I just got a new M11 radio and I calibrated that with my spektrum perfectly. But, ( stupid me ) I forgot to calibrate my radio to my esc. I was only getting 3/4 throttle during the whole day, but still managed to qualify 6th and finish in 6th in the A. I noticed it when I was playing with the throttle trim on my car. When I cranked it up, the car wouldn't move as much. But, when I resetted the tx to the esc, the esc was working like a champ.
ahhh ...yepo that would do it ...so do you have the pc software for it? ...you can dial in that speedo to your hearts content I love this speedo, I actually own 4 of them, one in each car, a backup one, and one I picked up on ebay (I guess a "backup to the backup" )
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 08:03 AM   #1136
Tech Elite
 
HarshGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Roseville, CA
Posts: 3,379
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Advil
...its not his motor Harsh. I personally guarantee it!
ah ...sounds like end user error then
__________________
http://www.arroyoc.com
http://www.gearchart.com
http://www.weracemountainbikes.com
HarshGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2005, 11:19 AM   #1137
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by HarshGuy
ahhh ...yepo that would do it ...so do you have the pc software for it? ...you can dial in that speedo to your hearts content I love this speedo, I actually own 4 of them, one in each car, a backup one, and one I picked up on ebay (I guess a "backup to the backup" )
Javs: Yeah, I have the handheld programmer for my esc. I need to buy another VFS-1 for back-up.
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2005, 02:30 PM   #1138
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

Emm, i'm thinking of buying a VFS1 Comp and to make my question short. Can i use the VFS 1 "Programming program" on a Macintosh Powerbook B3? Cuz that's the only "computer" i can take to the track..

*edit* After closer inspection of the Mac, it doesn't even have a COM-port. Crappy POS
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2005, 02:43 PM   #1139
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sparx
Emm, i'm thinking of buying a VFS1 Comp and to make my question short. Can i use the VFS 1 "Programming program" on a Macintosh Powerbook B3? Cuz that's the only "computer" i can take to the track..
unless you have a program that can emulate a windows environment (like soft windows). i dont think it'll work. the VFS program is a .exe

__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2005, 03:21 PM   #1140
Tech Fanatic
 
Tommy Bergfeldt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Sweden
Posts: 979
Send a message via ICQ to Tommy Bergfeldt
Default

That's what i was thinking...
Well, if i buy a VFS, i'll have a biig reason to buy a laptop
__________________
JMI Motorsport / Red Bull Racing
HB Cyclone TC - Schumacher CAT SX & Cougar SV
Advanced Electronics - Autopartner.se - Sav÷x - NorthTQ
Tommy Bergfeldt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:48 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net