R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 07-25-2005, 01:03 PM   #1036
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Chris-thanks. Its is VERY possible I might need to switch it from the stock profile to a 19t or mod profile allin one day. This is hard for me to even contemplate I have run GTX's and Cyclones for 6 years!!! I feel like I am kicking Charlie in the nuts. Not that I am sponsored or anything!!

Anyways-Chris-your the Master of the VFS esc's. Have you created a single profile thats somewhat easy on motor and is 19t and stock compatible for club racing?

Of course-at big races-youd have stock, 19t and mod profiles......
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:04 PM   #1037
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Ray-
It's like what Hebiki stated. The learning curve is a little higher when using the hand held programmer. Once you understand what is going on and what you are doing, it's very easy. You can download the software for free from our website to get a better feeling what is going on when you are changing things.
-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:06 PM   #1038
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

I have a spare handheld that I am willing to sell, as when I wanted the VFS1 Pro COmp I could only get it as a combo and I bought two.......Let me know....

-Shookie <><

Quote:
Originally Posted by rayhuang
OK cool. I can live with that

Between the PC interface and the Handheld unit-is one more intuitive to use? I have heard some guys really struggle trying to save and exput (<=export)profiles using the handheld.
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:34 PM   #1039
Tech Champion
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to rayhuang
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mr. Shookie
I have a spare handheld that I am willing to sell, as when I wanted the VFS1 Pro COmp I could only get it as a combo and I bought two.......Let me know....

-Shookie <><
Thanks for the offer. But I went ahead and ordered the handheld.
rayhuang is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 01:42 PM   #1040
Tech Elite
 
Roger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 2,312
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Yeah, that handheld is pretty sweet. Once you get through the first few settings, its easy. I experiment with all kinds of settings with the KO VFS-1 using my handheld programmer.
__________________
http://nitrokb.netne.net/profiles/RogerSerafin.html
Roger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 02:12 PM   #1041
Tech Addict
 
mazmo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 738
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default VFS-1 PROBLEM ..... SMOKE

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
How can smoke come out of the negative wire on the motor? Is the wire on the motor or on the esc? I would probably have it checked out. I've never heard of smoke coming from a wire.

Is the shotki damaged? Look for a burn mark or a bubble on the shotki. If the shotki is damaged, it will smoke everytime until it catches on fire!
It's the negative wire on the esc which runs to the motor, smoke coming out where is soldered to the speedo. Sorry bout the confusion

Shotki seems OK, changed it but problem continued. Also changed the power cap without success.

Thanks for your help mate ... I'll be sending this one back I think.
mazmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 06:05 PM   #1042
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

That's why I ordered my laptop: To lug it around the track . No seriously, I'm a VISUAL person so the thought of actually SEEING the throttle curve appealed to me. And once I get the numbers and how they RELATE to the curves, only then will I devote the laptop to other things, like BATTERY CHARGE & DISCHARGE CURVES!! Now that's what I'm talking about -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 07:50 PM   #1043
Tech Elite
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to Mr. Shookie Send a message via MSN to Mr. Shookie
Default

Now if the Cell Master had a PC link...I would be unstoppable...lol
-Shookie <><
Quote:
Originally Posted by JayBee
That's why I ordered my laptop: To lug it around the track . No seriously, I'm a VISUAL person so the thought of actually SEEING the throttle curve appealed to me. And once I get the numbers and how they RELATE to the curves, only then will I devote the laptop to other things, like BATTERY CHARGE & DISCHARGE CURVES!! Now that's what I'm talking about -JB
__________________
All who love the LORD JESUS I praise with you.1 Cor 10:31
Team HOLY Rollers (Team Manager)
The Church is a Hospital for Sinners not a Museum for Saints.
RcTech Feedback <>< RC Tech Subcriber #92
Mr. Shookie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 11:03 PM   #1044
Tech Master
 
crabboy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 1,999
Trader Rating: 58 (98%+)
Default

I see there is a memory card for the hand held programmer that says V2.2 when I turn mine on it says V1 is the V2.2 an upgrade.
Is the VFS1 pro comp and the Hara 2.1 the same just different color and default programme.
Got one of the VSF pro and the thing is awesome.
Thanks
crabboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-25-2005, 11:07 PM   #1045
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Send a message via ICQ to S-T-R-l-K-E-R
Default

i got my second vfs1 today i really like the cool CF look.

yesterday i was using a 8x2 motor during a race and a few laps after the 5 min heats my old VFS1 esc (Ver. 1) seems to go into temp protect mode.

is there any way to have KO remove this feature (temp protect) AND change the casing to the CF look?

are the internals of Ver.1 and Ver.2 the same interms of parts (FETS and other important components)?


x's - i just love the ease of the handheld compared to the laptop.
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 12:56 PM   #1046
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

I know this is a TC thread but the KO's are unheard of in Oval land. So I get no help in that area of the forums.
Anyway does anyone run the VFS-1 in 4 cell stock OVAL?

What drive freq should I set it to. A linear number since I will not be on and off the throttle?

Typically we set Keyences to 1.5 or 2.0 hkz range
So should I set this one to say setting 8 all the way across the board or can I go lower. I like to keep my motors around 100 degrees after a 4 min run.
Usually anything hotter than that I lose a tenth at the end. I know the com will be beat up, which I dont care, I tend to rebrush and recut every run.

Also I have been running a Spektrum unit. Long story short with a digi servo and a Quantum 1 I need to run a receiver pack or the failsafe unit kicks in. After some reading I guess this is because the BEC voltage limit on the Quantum is set super high like 5.4v.

Does the KO work well with Spektrums or will i need to run a cap or a receiver pack to supply the necessary min voltage so the fail safe is not kicking in like before?

Thanks
Eric H.
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:04 PM   #1047
R/C Tech Founder
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Del Mar, CA, USA
Posts: 7,063
Default

There is a two-page spotlight on the VFS-1 and programmer in the newest issue of XRC. Check it out.

By far one of the best ESC's I have ever used.
__________________
Visit my store: www.ampdraw.com
futureal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:06 PM   #1048
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erock1331
I know this is a TC thread but the KO's are unheard of in Oval land. So I get no help in that area of the forums.
Anyway does anyone run the VFS-1 in 4 cell stock OVAL?

What drive freq should I set it to. A linear number since I will not be on and off the throttle?

Typically we set Keyences to 1.5 or 2.0 hkz range
So should I set this one to say setting 8 all the way across the board or can I go lower. I like to keep my motors around 100 degrees after a 4 min run.
Usually anything hotter than that I lose a tenth at the end. I know the com will be beat up, which I dont care, I tend to rebrush and recut every run.

Also I have been running a Spektrum unit. Long story short with a digi servo and a Quantum 1 I need to run a receiver pack or the failsafe unit kicks in. After some reading I guess this is because the BEC voltage limit on the Quantum is set super high like 5.4v.

Does the KO work well with Spektrums or will i need to run a cap or a receiver pack to supply the necessary min voltage so the fail safe is not kicking in like before?

Thanks
Eric H.

Eric.. you can use the VFS-1 and spektrum together. you just need to set the BEC voltage accordingly. (2.5v or something close) Robert knows the exact number/setting for that.

for oval.. i think this is where you'll have an advantage. even if its 1/10th of a second. you can set your esc to anywhere between 1.5 and 2.0hz! the different stages on there will let you fine tune. ALSO..dont forget..you can set the last parts of your throttle profile a little bit higher for more efficiency and less wear on your comm

my advice...go NUTS and experiment.. you'll see the advantage of having the VFS-1
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:17 PM   #1049
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 265
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki
..you can set the last parts of your throttle profile a little bit higher for more efficiency and less wear on your comm
I guess this is where I get confused.

If I have the throttle pegged for 4 minutes, what does raising the last parts of the profile do? I thought if you keep it pegged you only ever see the first couple digits of the profile? As I never roll the throttle or let off.

If my thinking above is wrong. then read on....
Say I run a small bull ring oval track, tight turns and only 50' straights, should I keep the entire profile low? say 11111122222233333344444445555555666666 etc

Compared to say my home track which is 185' runline with approx 80' straights.
111222223333344444555556666677777888889999910 10 10 11 11 12 12 12 13 13 13 etc

Am I getting this right?
Or am I better of just setting it linear say profile mark 13 = 1.5khz then should I run 13 across the board?

Bascially in oval all you need is an on/off switch in stock, lol
That is my goal here.
erock1331 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2005, 01:47 PM   #1050
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by erock1331
I guess this is where I get confused.

If I have the throttle pegged for 4 minutes, what does raising the last parts of the profile do? I thought if you keep it pegged you only ever see the first couple digits of the profile? As I never roll the throttle or let off.

If my thinking above is wrong. then read on....
Say I run a small bull ring oval track, tight turns and only 50' straights, should I keep the entire profile low? say 11111122222233333344444445555555666666 etc

Compared to say my home track which is 185' runline with approx 80' straights.
111222223333344444555556666677777888889999910 10 10 11 11 12 12 12 13 13 13 etc

Am I getting this right?
Or am I better of just setting it linear say profile mark 13 = 1.5khz then should I run 13 across the board?

Bascially in oval all you need is an on/off switch in stock, lol
That is my goal here.

i would go with...

1 3 5 7 9 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 11 then put the last 3 or 4 steps at 13, or 14 or 15... whatever is equivalent to the 1.5hz or whatever your target frequency is.

you dont really need to have the first half of the profile that low... since you need on/off.. you can probably do it as short as i have it. you can keep the rest of the profile (80-90%) at your target frequency.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:55 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net