Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 05-05-2005, 11:19 PM
  #796  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
over gear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: SoCal
Posts: 1,135
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

gosh! my brain farted i was looking at the VFS2000 setting!!

arrrggg... i'm VFS1 newbies.... anybody got a Reedy Quad Mag 19T setup for the Tamiya track? or something similar....

please don't ask me to go over every page in this forum...
over gear is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:18 PM
  #797  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
kylehirano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,074
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

This is a dumb question, but I just picked up a Hara Twister 2, and was wondering if you are soldering your wires to the tabs, or to the speed control directly.
kylehirano is offline  
Old 05-06-2005, 08:56 PM
  #798  
Suspended
iTrader: (11)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Back That Thang Up!
Posts: 3,468
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

did your esc come with solder posts on it? mine did...here's a pic:

403forbidden is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 05:31 AM
  #799  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by =MisFitz= NuKe
Huh, wonder if Robert converted my nats profile to fit the VFS-1???
he did....then gave it to me...

then i modified it. want it back?
Hebiki is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 07:33 AM
  #800  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
kylehirano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,074
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Yes I think its the same it came with 3 gold solder posts already soldered on the speed control, do I unsolder these and put the wire directly to the speedo or do I solder the posts? Or does it not matter. Here is a pic
Attached Thumbnails Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC-hara-twister-001.jpg  
kylehirano is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 08:36 AM
  #801  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,465
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

whats the difference between a regular vfs-1 and the hara twister
goop is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 08:57 AM
  #802  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
kylehirano's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 1,074
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

I dont think there is a difference. A lot of companies are using the vfs-1 platform for the speed controls

Rayspeed Adachi Speedo
Yokomo Masami Speedo
Hara Twister2 Speedo
Tamiya has one now thats a vfs-1 plattform

Anyway solder my wires to the post or to the speedo directly?
kylehirano is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 09:20 AM
  #803  
Registered User
 
Pyramid's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: ID
Posts: 1,945
Default

Originally posted by Dan Hughes
According to Champ R/C Adviser there is a new version of the VFS1 being shown at the Shizunoka hobby show in a couple of weeks time. It has some new stuff in it that makes power delivery smoother. I'll let you know when i find out more.
... already listed on RC World - May edt

EP competition level has been very costly to keep up to date...

Last edited by Pyramid; 05-07-2005 at 11:26 AM.
Pyramid is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 04:13 PM
  #804  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by kylehirano
I dont think there is a difference. A lot of companies are using the vfs-1 platform for the speed controls

Rayspeed Adachi Speedo
Yokomo Masami Speedo
Hara Twister2 Speedo
Tamiya has one now thats a vfs-1 plattform

Anyway solder my wires to the post or to the speedo directly?
yes ... solder to the posts.

Rayspeed - Adachi's profile
Yokomo - Masami's profile
Hara Twister 2 - Hara's profile (notice a pattern yet? )

TRF VFS-1 came out before the three above. the TRF VFS-1 comes with the wires pre soldered.

Alex Racing is also coming out with their VFS-1 platform and it comes with various heatsinks in different colors.

mike.. ill dig up the profile and get to you bro.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 04:14 PM
  #805  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,921
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Pyramid
... already listed on RC World - May edt

EP competition level has been very costly to keep up to date...
i have been informed "through my sources" that the competition level ESC will have no thermal shut off feature.

the VFS-1 now has a shut off feature that gets triggered in many different situations. the Comp. Level esc will not have it. This mostly benefits guys who run Modified.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 05-07-2005, 04:28 PM
  #806  
Tech Master
 
=MisFitz= NuKe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,058
Default

Ahhh, too many new gadgets coming out all the time in electric racing...
=MisFitz= NuKe is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 04:45 PM
  #807  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Manchester, England
Posts: 174
Default

KO Staff/Hebiki..... Heeeeelp!

Think i have a VFS-1 thats been the victim of n00bism of the highest order!
SOMEHOW, whilst swapping motors and putting the shotki onto the motor just before a Series final (2 legs) i for some reason ive yet to know how, put it on the wrong way, i double checked before soldering, i even recall that i had to bend it the other way so it would fit as normal, so it was connected correctly. I did that, but somehow i'd done it wrong and when the car went down, the car didnt budge, ran to look at the car, saw it doing its little stutter checked the diode and realised what a prat i am, and (yes... i know) ripped the little Bl***er out of the car, and accepted braking was without doubt, no longer an option, something im rather fond of even though its only a 27t in there. Asside from the car being undrivable, it finished the race pretty patheticly, but in 1 peice.

As i have 2 VFS-1s (Karl/Berger has nicked the other one now, sorting his own car issues) i had 2 single diodes on the car, and the double i'd bought is on the B4 Motors, always being a Modified, when i'd ripped the shotki's out, i killed one of them pulling the post out completely, the other was ok, though it only had about 15mm 'legs', soldered it in CORRECTLY this time, took the car out for the 2nd final, was going absolutely beautifully, made up 4 places into 3rd in 3 laps and was giving the front 2 something to think about, when it dropped off, lost the punch out of the corners and then over 4 laps went from crawling speed to 'dont want to know' mode.
Figured the cells went dead, but after all the finals were run, i put a fresh set of cells into the car, took it out, seemed fine, then same sorta time into the run, dropped off, started crawling along, brought it to me, gave it some throttle in my hands, just slow, then same again, and it got slower and slower, and then just nothing, wouldnt turn over etc
Switched it off, went to the pit table, removed the shotki, put it down off she goes, but does the same but sooner.

I cant think of anything other than the ESC which could be 'faulty' i can imagine the KO response to the problem without asking it, but is it likely the 5min run (without braking) has caused this weird situation? For it to finish fine over 5min without i thought it would be ok, but then with it installed its developed this problem.

Any possible suggestions?
Nothing but a fresh pair of brushes, cells and a correctly wired shokti changed between the 2 finals, but somethings definately gone wrong from a car able to push for top 3 A final places to dead in 7 laps.

I have a Buggy National in 2 weeks (sat), and then the next round of this Touring car series the day after, 1 working ESC currently in someone elses car, and 1 near dead looking ESC in my own.
Asside from Mugging Karl, What can i do?
PaulC2K is offline  
Old 05-08-2005, 05:12 PM
  #808  
TFR
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

New carbon case receiver and competition VFS-1...
Attached Thumbnails Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC-2005hobbyshowimage1.jpg  
TFR is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 05:07 AM
  #809  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
mcsquish's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Was in Toledo, OH now Battle Ground, WA
Posts: 833
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

OK, I have a question on the VFS. I am running a KO servo that uses a FET wire to my LRP. I want to replace the LRP because it is an orginal Q1 (so it is fairly old). I know the the blue wire out of the ESC is switched, so do I install a second switch and run it to the batt. since the VFS doesn't have a FET wire?
mcsquish is offline  
Old 05-12-2005, 08:10 AM
  #810  
V12
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
V12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 2,658
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

No you don´t need that second switch. But you should use a choke as the one delivered with the servo.
V12 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright © 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.