Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 04-26-2005, 03:58 AM
  #736  
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Default

i got a new masami model vfs1 esc and last weekend at the nationals i was able to make great laps. with the help of my esc i was able to set fastest laptimes during the mains and i am really happy with it.

NOW comming back from the nationals i barely can make 5 minutes using my 3800 packs. i dont know what to do. i have been using all the same equiptment (charger motors gearing servo RX) is there something wrong with my esc? i tried cyling my batts and the runtime at 30amps discharge is 7 mins.
tom i will try re-programming it.

any help would be great.
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 06:56 AM
  #737  
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

I think different track layout, size, grip and also temperature will cause different ampere draw from motor to batteries.
daniz24 is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 07:51 AM
  #738  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by S-T-R-l-K-E-R
i got a new masami model vfs1 esc and last weekend at the nationals i was able to make great laps. with the help of my esc i was able to set fastest laptimes during the mains and i am really happy with it.

NOW comming back from the nationals i barely can make 5 minutes using my 3800 packs. i dont know what to do. i have been using all the same equiptment (charger motors gearing servo RX) is there something wrong with my esc? i tried cyling my batts and the runtime at 30amps discharge is 7 mins.
tom i will try re-programming it.

any help would be great.
If your running modified it sounds like your profile is too low causing you to dump. Raise it a bit and try again.
berger is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 11:34 AM
  #739  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by S-T-R-l-K-E-R
i....
i have ordered the dual ones but i have the novak super schottky diode in stock and i was wondering if i could use this while waiting for my order to come in.
I've used the Novak diode...works fine..have not had any problems.


recently picked up a NIB Hara Twister V2 off ebay for a bargain price of $125.00
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 11:37 AM
  #740  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by S-T-R-l-K-E-R
i got a new masami model vfs1 esc and last weekend at the nationals i was able to make great laps. with the help of my esc i was able to set fastest laptimes during the mains and i am really happy with it.

NOW comming back from the nationals i barely can make 5 minutes using my 3800 packs. i dont know what to do. i have been using all the same equiptment (charger motors gearing servo RX) is there something wrong with my esc? i tried cyling my batts and the runtime at 30amps discharge is 7 mins.
tom i will try re-programming it.

any help would be great.
berger hit it right on the head. make sure you save the profile that came with your masami esc. because that profile is one ESPECIALLY made for masami.

raise your profile 5-7 stages..and you should make run time easily. also check your gearing.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 03:03 PM
  #741  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
Alex C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: On a ship in the warm seas with no sail !!!
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default Diode Question

Chris,

Question which diode should I use on my VFS-1 while running a 8 or 9 double.

Also can you give a good Starting point on a profile while using either Mod Motor.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.
Alex C is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 03:21 PM
  #742  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default Low turn motors

For anything 15T or lower it is recommended to use the Ultimate Shotki Diode Double #45516. Using the supplied Single will not be enogh for low turn motors. Try the Hara setting from the world's. Its a good starting point.
-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 04-26-2005, 08:15 PM
  #743  
Tech Fanatic
 
S-T-R-l-K-E-R's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: CS RACING / RIDDLER HOBBIES
Posts: 973
Default

i now installed my novak super diode and will be running tonight i will keep you guys posted.

thanks for the info
S-T-R-l-K-E-R is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 01:36 AM
  #744  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Kenneth Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,123
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Re: Low turn motors

Originally posted by KO PROPO Staff
For anything 15T or lower it is recommended to use the Ultimate Shotki Diode Double #45516. Using the supplied Single will not be enogh for low turn motors. Try the Hara setting from the world's. Its a good starting point.
-Robert
Is having a Single and a Double wired in parallel overkill?
Kenneth Tan is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:15 PM
  #745  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default Re: Re: Low turn motors

Originally posted by Kenneth Tan
Is having a Single and a Double wired in parallel overkill?
Overkill, but doesn't hurt.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:47 PM
  #746  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

instead of the motor...can the diode be soldered to the ESC itself?

I think I've seen this done on one of Hara's cars....
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 12:58 PM
  #747  
TFR
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by rc-zombies
instead of the motor...can the diode be soldered to the ESC itself?

I think I've seen this done on one of Hara's cars....
The manual says its better to be on the motor, but since Hara can run it on the ESC so which ever way is easier for you I guess...

Here is how I did mine...
Attached Thumbnails Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC-cimg0315.jpg  
TFR is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 01:53 PM
  #748  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
berger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a double soldered onto the top of the speedo, my wires to the motor are only an inch or less long though. Ive swapped to use 14awg as i only run stock and im pushed for space.
berger is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 04:59 PM
  #749  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 328
Unhappy power switch

does anyone know where can i buy a replacement swtich/switch case for my VFS-1?
my switch was damaged after a big crash. It's still working, but it's case is almost completely destroyed and for sure it can't take anymore punishment. I've tried my local shop, oversea websites and every place i know that sells KO stuff but none of them can get me a replamcent switch or switch case. The only thing i was told i can do is to send my ESC back to KO and get it "fixed". I don't want to do it as this is the only ESC i got and i don't want to without any ESC for a few weeks or even months time
Anyone can help me?
yellow15 is offline  
Old 04-27-2005, 07:25 PM
  #750  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
Kenneth Tan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Singapore
Posts: 1,123
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Have you tried contacting KO USA direct? They offer great customer service!
Kenneth Tan is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.