R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-25-2005, 05:21 PM   #601
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by berger
Chris help, i think my VFS-1 is dead only had 4 runs on it too. I wasnt running a too powerful profile, started about 6 and didnt go any lower than that in 27T. The diode etc was on. My car just slowed and stopped within 10m or so. Took it all off had a good look at everything, tried again in the final thinking it had just knocked off the overheat protection or something. The motor takes a second to accelerate if you hammer the throttle, even without any load on. Tested it with two motors.
Anyway im a bit pissed now, but im going to tear it all down and see if it wants to play silly beggars with me now im at home or not.
Whats KO propo UKs stance on returns in this country as its not sold here yet....
try two things...

1. smell it. if it smells like it toast.. then it is.

2. check your profile.. you said the motor "takes a second to accelerate"... you might have the throttle response set to a number like 9 (1 is the most responsive.. well actually its 0/Off. ) or something. this will cause the motor to accelerate very slowly. i had mine set at 8 once (dont know how that happened) and the car was stuttering. it was very weird. you dont really need throttle response for stock. thats more for Mod where you "feather" the throttle. stock is just ON/OFF

im really hoping its #2. im sorry i dont know the policy for repairs in the UK. let me know how it goes.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 05:25 PM   #602
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Well my whole car smells of TQ after i knocked the can over on the rear of the chassis Gimmie 20 mins or so and ill have it all in bits and see whats up.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 05:30 PM   #603
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by berger
Well my whole car smells of TQ after i knocked the can over on the rear of the chassis Gimmie 20 mins or so and ill have it all in bits and see whats up.
you can hit me up on AIM.. or MSN. i'll PM you my info.

btw.. check your diode.. might be dead also.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2005, 08:12 PM   #604
Tech Addict
 
gee-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Fontana, CA
Posts: 559
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default BEC

used the search function, didn't find anything offhand.

anyone elaborate on the BEC voltage for the vfs-1. the US KO site says the following:

"BEC voltage setting (2.5v-4.0v)"

the pro model says this:

"The Pro version comes with the BEC factory default setting at 2.5v"

it seems like just about everything else is 6v. example: novak's bec = [email protected], 5c receiver pack = 6v, 4 alkalines = 6v. trying to understand if this is a misprint or if i'm missing something.

thx in advance.
gee-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 08:31 AM   #605
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Bangkok, Thailand
Posts: 5
Post Multi Setting Adapter Manual

Hello,

I'm looking for English manual for the multi setting adapter and VFS-1 card. I found on page 19 that corallyman has sent a copy to kentech. Could you send a copy to me or post a link here?

Thanks in advance.
Team321 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 11:51 AM   #606
Tech Fanatic
 
kentech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 868
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Re: Multi Setting Adapter Manual

Quote:
Originally posted by Team321
Hello,

I'm looking for English manual for the multi setting adapter and VFS-1 card. I found on page 19 that corallyman has sent a copy to kentech. Could you send a copy to me or post a link here?

Thanks in advance.

Sent you a pm regarding the manual.
__________________
kentech.wordpress.com
kentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 02:27 PM   #607
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Seems the first few steps of my profile were too low. Ive spent a while testing things after finding that it did still work this morning and that was the conclusion i came to.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2005, 08:35 PM   #608
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Re: Multi Setting Adapter Manual

Quote:
Originally posted by Team321
Hello,

I'm looking for English manual for the multi setting adapter and VFS-1 card. I found on page 19 that corallyman has sent a copy to kentech. Could you send a copy to me or post a link here?

Thanks in advance.
how many people need it? i think i have a pdf somewhere (scanned it awhile back for the TAOB Racing site)
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2005, 02:41 AM   #609
Tech Fanatic
 
kentech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 868
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default KO Multi Setting Adapter Manual

Here it is for everyone that needs it....
Attached Files
File Type: pdf vfs1settingcard_manual_english.pdf (127.6 KB, 229 views)
__________________
kentech.wordpress.com
kentech is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 12:06 PM   #610
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Serial to USB Adapter

What brands of Serial to USB Adapters is everyone using? The one I have doesnt work well with the VFS Manager. Just looking for brands confirmed to work.

Thanks
JC
tiggersz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 01:44 PM   #611
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Re: Serial to USB Adapter

Quote:
Originally posted by tiggersz
What brands of Serial to USB Adapters is everyone using? The one I have doesnt work well with the VFS Manager. Just looking for brands confirmed to work.

Thanks
JC
belkin makes a good serial/usb adapter.
here's a link:
http://catalog.belkin.com/IWCatProdu...duct_Id=130885

im sure there are cheaper ones. but this was what i found with just a quick search.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 04:00 PM   #612
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Hillsboro, OR
Posts: 192
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Hebiki: I have a different brand of Serial to USB Converter and Im having issues with it sending to the VFS. It works fine receiving from the VFS. I was looking for something smaller but Robert at KO also recommended the Belkin since he thinks that my serial to usb converter might be the issue.,

JC
tiggersz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 04:24 PM   #613
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alexandria, VA
Posts: 756
Send a message via AIM to Proteus
Default

Chris: I have my profile set to one of the stock profiles from the website. I know I programmed the throttle/bk/neutral settings right. But I noticed I have a very large neutral dead band. I'm using an M8. I noticed that the motor (stock)will not turn over until about half throttle. I can hear the esc when i first begin to give it throttle, not enough power to turn the motor until half throttle. Is this normal?

Jeff
Proteus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 08:48 PM   #614
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

This is what I use for my Serial to USB adapter for my laptop computer... http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...6218&CatId=464
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-07-2005, 10:43 PM   #615
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by tiggersz
Hebiki: I have a different brand of Serial to USB Converter and Im having issues with it sending to the VFS. It works fine receiving from the VFS. I was looking for something smaller but Robert at KO also recommended the Belkin since he thinks that my serial to usb converter might be the issue.,

JC
JC... i havent tried using my laptop. since i race generally outdoors..and we use small generators. i dont want to tax the gen. by attaching another item like a laptop. ive gotten very used to just imagining the throttle curve and using the handheld adapter (even at home). pretty soon though i will pick up a serial/usb adapter...and try it from home. i'll let you know as soon as that happens.

Quote:
Originally posted by Proteus
Chris: I have my profile set to one of the stock profiles from the website. I know I programmed the throttle/bk/neutral settings right. But I noticed I have a very large neutral dead band. I'm using an M8. I noticed that the motor (stock)will not turn over until about half throttle. I can hear the esc when i first begin to give it throttle, not enough power to turn the motor until half throttle. Is this normal?

Jeff
Jeff.. i have a feeling your throttle (full, neutral and brake) wasnt set at factory settings when you set the VFS up.

do this... pick a new model memory in your M8. dont change any settings. then reprogram the VFS for that model memory. then crank up the throttle and turn down your brakes. etc. let me know if that works. (it happened to be because on the Helios.. the throttle is set at 100, and the max is 150) i didnt reset it to factory settings..and i got a delayed response.

let me know if that works.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:37 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net