R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-21-2005, 12:08 PM   #541
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: >New York<
Posts: 1,428
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I know the Hyper Boosters are a dicontinued item, but does anyone know where I can find one or two of them. Thanks.
Jamie Corrado is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2005, 05:17 PM   #542
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Just letting everyone know I got a $10 USB to Serial Converter from TigerDirect. Works great with the PC interface. So no problems there if anyone was wondering......
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-22-2005, 12:39 PM   #543
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

Does anyone have a setup for stock that wont cook the comm. Looking for one that will last about 6 runs.

Cheers
Dan Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-23-2005, 01:46 AM   #544
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Chris why are you running the current limiter at 260A in stock?
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 03:37 PM   #545
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

I've been having trouble recently running Ti's with my VSF-1 Pro. I have not been able to finish a run without loosing power. Sometimes it will come back on after a few seconds and go for another few laps before shutting off again, sometimes not. Could this be due to not running a shottki (sp?) diode on the motor, or the settings I've programmed the ESC with? I used the settings for a technical track using a mod motor from KO's website.

I've been running 10x1 Ti's, without any shottki diodes. I've heard that using a diode makes the motor feel like it has drag brake, which I don't really want.

Josh
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 03:43 PM   #546
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

The diode protects the speedo if you blow it up and you wernt using the diode that come with the speedo the warantee is VOID! It does not act as a drag brake, i believe it stops any negative voltage spikes hitting the speedo under braking.
Dan Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 03:51 PM   #547
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by berger
Chris why are you running the current limiter at 260A in stock?
im not sure what the current limiter is when its turned off.. (gotta find out from robert). but i maxed out the current limiter for stock to get as much from the batteries as i can.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 03:53 PM   #548
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan Hughes
Does anyone have a setup for stock that wont cook the comm. Looking for one that will last about 6 runs.

Cheers
dan hughes...if you want a more conservative profile for stock. find the best gearing for your motor/track layout. then have your profile hover around the mid to high teens. (12-15) have it top out around 24-26. this should still give you decent punch while maximizing comm/brush life.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 04:26 PM   #549
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Speedo
I've been having trouble recently running Ti's with my VSF-1 Pro. I have not been able to finish a run without loosing power. Sometimes it will come back on after a few seconds and go for another few laps before shutting off again, sometimes not. Could this be due to not running a shottki (sp?) diode on the motor, or the settings I've programmed the ESC with? I used the settings for a technical track using a mod motor from KO's website.

I've been running 10x1 Ti's, without any shottki diodes. I've heard that using a diode makes the motor feel like it has drag brake, which I don't really want.

Josh
One more question: will splicing the diode into the wires reduce its effectiveness, and does it matter how far from the motor it is?

Thanks
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 07:22 PM   #550
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Speedo
Sometimes it will come back on after a few seconds and go for another few laps before shutting off again, sometimes not.
I have had the same problem because the VFS is overheating after 3-4 minutes.
daniz24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 09:47 PM   #551
Tech Elite
 
rocketron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: palm desert
Posts: 2,266
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Speedo
One more question: will splicing the diode into the wires reduce its effectiveness, and does it matter how far from the motor it is?

Thanks
yes it is important - the closer to the motor the more effective it is, i typically have it directly on the motor. splicing into the wires doesn't hurt a thing more of a distance issue.
rocketron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2005, 11:25 PM   #552
Tech Master
 
berger's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Bathurst, Australia
Posts: 1,149
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Hebiki
im not sure what the current limiter is when its turned off.. (gotta find out from robert). but i maxed out the current limiter for stock to get as much from the batteries as i can.
Ah thanks, was just wondering as i couldnt see any reason for it, guessing that a stock is going to get nowhere near that figure but ive always run my 7.1 without any limiters! Picking it up tonight, cant wait.
berger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:18 AM   #553
Tech Adept
 
Trinity2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 148
Exclamation

Sorry if that ask before. Can anybody help, but i am intresting to know what actually difference is LRP Quantum competition vs KO VFS?

I`m thinking to buy that KO speedo, but first i want to know is it better than quantum... or?

I drive 19t class now and it is very tight class, so anything what make me faster is positive

Thanks
Trinity2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:32 AM   #554
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

I used to run a QC1 and where i raced it was very close. The punch that this thing gives is great also you can change the whole speedo profile so you could smooth it out. I would get it as i noticed a difference in the first heat.
Dan Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2005, 11:38 AM   #555
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trinity2
Sorry if that ask before. Can anybody help, but i am intresting to know what actually difference is LRP Quantum competition vs KO VFS?

I`m thinking to buy that KO speedo, but first i want to know is it better than quantum... or?

I drive 19t class now and it is very tight class, so anything what make me faster is positive

Thanks
hey trinity. it all comes down to who do you like better? hara and rheinhard (2nd and 1st at the worlds with a VFS-1) or daisuke? (third with a QC2 i believe)

all joking aside. ive been using the VFS series since march 2003. they are very very adjustable and you can customize the throttle profile. i.e. add punch at the beginning, middle or end. improve efficiency, etc. i also used a QC2 when it first came out. good esc, it does all the work for you. but just wanted more.

one thing i found is, i can gear up on a motor and adjust my VFS to regain/increase the punch/torque i might have lost when i geared up. if you like being able to adjust your esc and really customize it, the VFS is for you. if you have any questions... dont hesitate to ask
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 02:47 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net