Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 12-23-2004, 11:13 AM
  #466  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Randy Caster
Robert and Chris, thanks for the help tuning the VFS-1 yesterday. My 2'nd qualifier it didnt cut out, but it did cut out for a second on the very last lap of my main, cost me a posision

If possible, I'll cruise by the Ko pit next tuesday and lower the drive frequency 1 more notch, hopefully get another 10 secs of runtime before my motor heats this up too much
no prob. i usually have my handheld programmer with me, so if robert's busy i can hook you up. robert brings in his laptop..so its easier to see the profile curve. btw, did u pick up your dbl diode? dont want you blowing up a speedo i found a "single" at home if you wanna borrow it until you get your double.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 12-23-2004, 04:36 PM
  #467  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (47)
 
Randy Caster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Costa Mesa, CA
Posts: 16,716
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Hebiki
no prob. i usually have my handheld programmer with me, so if robert's busy i can hook you up. robert brings in his laptop..so its easier to see the profile curve. btw, did u pick up your dbl diode? dont want you blowing up a speedo i found a "single" at home if you wanna borrow it until you get your double.
Sounds good Chris. I picked up my dbl diode, and soldered a single onto it as well. Propably gonna use double Novak capacitors as well.
Randy Caster is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 09:05 AM
  #468  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Hi, i know the vfs 2000 has a fet servo lead (the blue wire) but does the vfs-1 have the same (i know how to connect it up if it dosen't have it but it would be easier if it did have the fet servo wire).

Chazz Godwin
Chazz is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 09:49 AM
  #469  
Tech Regular
 
razzo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Crappy MN weather!
Posts: 426
Default

No FET lead on my VFS-1. Kinda odd, since KO is only guys using FET wire, and their latest ESC doesn't come with one.
razzo is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 11:31 AM
  #470  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

I got mine and iv got a 7.2v servo i think you solder it to the motor +. im not 100% sure though.
Dan Hughes is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 11:35 AM
  #471  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

Yep that is what you do, solder to the battery/motor +

Chazz
Chazz is offline  
Old 12-25-2004, 03:20 PM
  #472  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

Chazz do you know if the VFS1 is available in the UK? im the only one who seems to have one.
Dan Hughes is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 03:22 AM
  #473  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: England (UK)
Posts: 440
Default

One of my mates has got a vfs-1, he's had it i think for over 2months for definet, he got it from a team driver. No i don't think you can get it from the UK at the moment (i haven't seen it adverised in the UK) that's why if i've got enough xmas money i might get it with adaptor from USA.

Chazz
Chazz is offline  
Old 12-26-2004, 11:39 AM
  #474  
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Default

hey you can get it from here for a good price http://rc-mushroom.com/product_info....oducts_id=3798 there in hong kong and they are a good place to buy from you dont have to get it from the states .
ngo8 is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 12:50 AM
  #475  
Tech Elite
 
Speedo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,435
Default

With the multi-setting adapter, on the frequency curve, does a higher number equate to more punch, or less?

I have been using the profile on KO's website for modifeid motors on technical tracks and have been happy with it, but when I get the chance I want to play around a little more but I don't really understand how the curve works.

Is there anywhere else I should look for profiles?

Thanks,
Josh
Speedo is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 01:39 AM
  #476  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Speedo
With the multi-setting adapter, on the frequency curve, does a higher number equate to more punch, or less?

I have been using the profile on KO's website for modifeid motors on technical tracks and have been happy with it, but when I get the chance I want to play around a little more but I don't really understand how the curve works.

Is there anywhere else I should look for profiles?

Thanks,
Josh
higher number = more runtime and less punch.
lower number = more punch, more brush/comm wear, and less runtime.

Ko site is the best place to get profiles. or ask here.

in terms of the curve.. look at it this way. there are 32 stages. stage "16" is the half way point. when you drive around your track, study the track and remember where you let off on the throttle and how much. From there, adjust the profile accordingly.

example, at the end of the straight, there is a 180 deg turn. you'd probably let off half way. at this point you want more punch, you would then adjust stage "16" on the throttle profile to give you more punch.

so.....

1/4 off the throttle = stage 24
1/2 off = stage 16
3/4 off = stage 8

etc....
Hebiki is offline  
Old 12-27-2004, 07:42 AM
  #477  
Regional Moderator
 
daniz24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: D-Square Racing
Posts: 3,189
Default

Originally posted by Hebiki
higher number = more runtime and less punch.
lower number = more punch, more brush/comm wear, and less runtime.
If I may add :

higher number = more heat to the esc
lower number = motor becomes hotter
daniz24 is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 12:55 AM
  #478  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default VFS-1 Stock profile

here's what i used at tonight's race

13
12
11
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
10
9
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24

Motor: EAMotorsports Monster Stock Pro
FDR: 7.50763 (Spur/Pinion: 72/22 [48 Pitch] )
Car: Tamiya Evolution IV
Finish: 2nd A-main

everything else is turned off. current limiter is set at 260A. two hyperboosters.

enjoy!
Hebiki is offline  
Old 12-29-2004, 12:56 AM
  #479  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default Forgot...

next race...

im dropping the FDR to 7.1812 and dropping the whole profile 5 stages.

happy new year everyone!
Hebiki is offline  
Old 12-30-2004, 03:16 AM
  #480  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Lebbeke, Belgium
Posts: 40
Default VFS200 software

I have the pc interface cable of the VFS 200. Can it also be used with the VFS-1 or do I need to download different software first?

Thx
DavidJoos is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.