R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-09-2007, 09:37 AM   #2146
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Holland, Gouda
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki
Arjen

BEC voltage has been covered in this thread. but i forgot which page. scroll up to the top..and click on "search this thread". and you'll see the recommended voltage settings from Robert (a Ko Propo USA representative.)
Thanks for your reply Hbiki.
So if i understand it good it's not good to go lower then 3.5v bec setting when using Spektrum. but further as low as possible to get the most out of your packs?

And do you know if there is an new program available for modified 5cell racing? or will the program of the 2.2 version work on the 2.1?

Thanks for your help.
Arjen
Arjen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 10:49 AM   #2147
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
I am not hebiki, but i think 12 means the limiter is off.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 10:52 AM   #2148
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Arjen
Thanks for your reply Hbiki.
So if i understand it good it's not good to go lower then 3.5v bec setting when using Spektrum. but further as low as possible to get the most out of your packs?

And do you know if there is an new program available for modified 5cell racing? or will the program of the 2.2 version work on the 2.1?

Thanks for your help.
Arjen
i havent seen (or heard anything) about new profiles for either 4cell or 5 cell racing. i would guess that you would need to adjust your profile to make runtime? really not sure since i havent raced 4 or 5 cells.

the default profile on the 2.2 will be different from the 2.1 because each "step" now has a new drive frequency. i havent picked up a 2.2 yet so i havent been able to compare the drive frequencies.

if you search this thread, i posted a long time ago a PDF file that compares the drive frequency of the VFS-2000 against the VFS-1 at each step. you'll notice there's a big difference.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 02:53 PM   #2149
Tech Master
 
DirtyDog3375's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Queenslander
Posts: 1,918
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to DirtyDog3375
Default

I know the new C2 has remapped drive freqencies, but does anyone know what they actually are? and does the standard handheld programmer work with the new C2?

Thanks in advance.

Leonard.
__________________
:::Smokem Racing:::RCMaker.com.au:::Speedy RC.com.au:::
==========================================================
"It's more fun to drive slow cars fast, than fast cars slow"...
DirtyDog3375 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-09-2007, 03:08 PM   #2150
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by DirtyDog3375
I know the new C2 has remapped drive freqencies, but does anyone know what they actually are? and does the standard handheld programmer work with the new C2?

Thanks in advance.

Leonard.
The frequencies are the same. How the CPU goes through each step have been changed. The PC interface and hand held programmer work.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-11-2007, 10:57 PM   #2151
Tech Master
 
big al's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Olympia,Wa
Posts: 1,026
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Hey Guys!! I've mentioned before that I have the Tamiya Volac edition and I am wondering what version esc this is. Also, I primarily run stock and silver can classes, would it be advantagious for me to modify the profile and in what regard would the advantages be noticed? Thanks again--Al
__________________
TA05 gen 1.... the real OG.
I'm not a racer, I just crush a lot.
17.5- Spec-r S1~ Scale Spec- VBC Ghost EVO ~ GT2- TA05 ~ GT3- TB03 ~ F1-F104
Keepin' it real with my M11x
big al is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-13-2007, 11:45 PM   #2152
Tech Addict
 
|JayFlores|'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Paranaque
Posts: 700
Default

to hebiki / robert(KO PROPO staff)

by any chance can you give me a base map for brake freq's? i will use it in a 8x1 mod motor in a flowing track with a couple of tight turns but most or often times the throttle is halfway pressed.

and can you also clarify the th. response feature? what is it for?

thanks in advance.
__________________
Losi - Always racing towards the Future!
LRP[]Sanwa[]MuchMore[]Orion[]ProtoForm[]HUDY[]SOREX
|JayFlores| is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 12:27 AM   #2153
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by big al
Hey Guys!! I've mentioned before that I have the Tamiya Volac edition and I am wondering what version esc this is. Also, I primarily run stock and silver can classes, would it be advantagious for me to modify the profile and in what regard would the advantages be noticed? Thanks again--Al
tamiya volac is the first version of the VFS-1. this is the first version that still had temp cutoff.

search the thread for stock profiles. use the same profile but with less punch since silver can is all about carrying corner speed so you dont let off the throttle as much.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 12:30 AM   #2154
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by |JayFlores|
to hebiki / robert(KO PROPO staff)

by any chance can you give me a base map for brake freq's? i will use it in a 8x1 mod motor in a flowing track with a couple of tight turns but most or often times the throttle is halfway pressed.

and can you also clarify the th. response feature? what is it for?

thanks in advance.
i apologize, i cannot help you with brake frequencies. i race primarily stock and 19T and i just use the standard settings for brakes.

the throttle response feature as last explained by Robert to me (i can be completely wrong about this) when it was first introduced is how the power from your batteries is best used. it helps maximize all the available power by smoothing out how the esc draws power from the batteries. Hopefully Robert can clarify this when he comes in on Monday.

ive left throttle response at 0. dabbled in it with setting it at 1 when i needed to be smoother with the throttle.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 01:51 PM   #2155
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 19
Default

Hi,

Can anyone help me, I have a hara twister 2.0 speedo (basically a vfs!)
I recently brought the interface software and connecting cables so i can program my speedo to suit the tracks I race at better.

Only then did I realise that the connecting cable requires a rs232 port which my new laptop ain't got), I brought a usb/rs232 convertor and still cant get comms with the speedo, is there a usb version available or is there a way of getting the rs232 cable to work?

cheers

Gary
gaza121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 03:03 PM   #2156
Tech Apprentice
 
Ericjooopuntnl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 66
Default

@ Gary,

Yep, mine works perfect with a ordinairy USB/RS232-convertor....

greetz,

Eric
Ericjooopuntnl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-14-2007, 09:38 PM   #2157
Tech Champion
 
Scottrik's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 6,212
Trader Rating: 245 (100%+)
Default

Gary,

There IS a USB cable version (#61018) that we've been patiently waiting for here in the 'states. I asked after it last week and was told they're finishing up the translation stuff and we will hopefully see it next month.

Scottrik
__________________
Congressmen should wear uniforms like NASCAR drivers so we can identify their corporate sponsors.

THE REVOLUTION WILL NOT BE TELEVISED -Gil Scott-Heron (1949-2011)
Scottrik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 03:29 AM   #2158
Tech Addict
 
rampal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Madrid, Spain
Posts: 563
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Send a message via MSN to rampal
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gaza121
Hi,

Can anyone help me, I have a hara twister 2.0 speedo (basically a vfs!)
I recently brought the interface software and connecting cables so i can program my speedo to suit the tracks I race at better.

Only then did I realise that the connecting cable requires a rs232 port which my new laptop ain't got), I brought a usb/rs232 convertor and still cant get comms with the speedo, is there a usb version available or is there a way of getting the rs232 cable to work?

cheers

Gary
did you install the drivers (of the usb <-> rs-232 converter) correctly? I have one and it works quite ok for me....

al
__________________
The Blue Armada: Tamiya TRF415MSXX, Tamiya TA05MS, Tamiya/Xenon TA05
Novak Brushless, Orion/Peak LiPo batteries, 5-cell
Sanwa M11 DSSS, KO Propo Servos
rampal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 11:50 AM   #2159
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Gary-
Make sure that you have the correct COMM port selected. The USB-> 232 will require a different COMM port selection.

Jay-
Typically the drive frequence is left at 32, sometime as low as 30. I've seen the drag brake (neutral brake) feature set as high as 20 by Surikan.

The throttle response for the VFS-1 Pro and Competition allow you to increase or decrease the response of the throttle input. This can aid with lose grip or high grip. For the VFS-1 C2 this feature was changed to pre-set drag brake features. You then could fine tune the drag brake with the neutral brake setting.

-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-15-2007, 04:19 PM   #2160
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Send a message via ICQ to rcnewb2004
Default

what doe it mean to "increase or decrease the response of the throttle input"? sorry i know its a dumb question... but i cannot understand how it works
rcnewb2004 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 07:31 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net