Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 11-06-2006, 08:43 PM
  #2071  
Tech Fanatic
 
tc3 racer sc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: lancaster sc near charlotte nc
Posts: 921
Default

Originally Posted by rcnewb2004
Hey tc3 racer sc,

I am a vfs-1 owner (so u see me here a lot giving bs advice )

The physical and throttle position setup of this device is no harder than that of another esc.

The actual programming part is slightly more difficult, and will require the handheld programming device or a computer<-->esc cable.
Without the programming device, most of the powers of this esc locked away. This esc is one of the greatest on the market because of its high performance+customability. You can adjust the "Feel" of the car very well using this esc. Therefore, I would 100% recommend that you get the handheld programming device. However, given a choice, I would actually recommend adjusting your speed controller on computer through an interface cable (if dragging a laptop around with you is ok). One small reminder is that the computer interface cable has a "db-9" serial adapter therefore you may also need to get a "db-9" serial adapter, or get the usb adapter that is offered by KO.

I hope that helps.

Happy Racing.

Patrick
THXS PAT
tc3 racer sc is offline  
Old 11-08-2006, 01:47 PM
  #2072  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (120)
 
JasonC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: oceanside ca
Posts: 4,099
Trader Rating: 120 (100%+)
Default

speedtech has 2 of the vfs comp 2's in stock
JasonC is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 12:10 AM
  #2073  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 78
Default

i have the corally mms3 made by ko propo and was curious how important is it to run the shotki diode. i lost it!!! is there another shotki diode made by a different company that is cheaper and serves the same purpose?

this will be for a stock silver can and a 19x2 team orion element v2?
2qwik is offline  
Old 11-14-2006, 01:08 AM
  #2074  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (81)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 3,200
Trader Rating: 81 (100%+)
Default

im using a novak diode with no problems not sure if it is cheaper than the one that originally came with the esc
marvi is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 01:34 PM
  #2075  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Sluggo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 1,364
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Just wanted to give Robert at KO a "HUGE" shout of thanks for fixing my ESC and getting it back to me lightning fast! Thanks Robert... KO is awsome!
Sluggo is offline  
Old 11-20-2006, 07:35 PM
  #2076  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

i can't wait to hear some reviews and comparisions between the pro comp1 and the pro comp2!
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 02:27 PM
  #2077  
Tech Master
iTrader: (12)
 
Wing Chun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Gold Coast,Australia
Posts: 1,025
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default Help please with difference in these 3 model's

Hi Guy's
Can anyone please tell me what is the difference between the VFS1 comp, pro, and the carbon case model. It's just that I have all 3 and want to know the difference.
Thank's Guy's
Addam
Wing Chun is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 03:31 PM
  #2078  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

vfs-1 pro comp = vfs-1 pro with higher temp cutoff
vfs-1 pro comp = hara twister 2.1 (carbon case model)
vfs-1 pro = hara twister 2.0

coming soon
vfs-1 pro comp 2 = hara twister 2.2 (I believe)
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 11-26-2006, 09:20 PM
  #2079  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Kent
Posts: 78
Default

what about the corally mms3 speedo? whats the difference between them?


thanks
2qwik is offline  
Old 11-27-2006, 12:57 AM
  #2080  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 1,903
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

mms3 = vfs1 pro

Engtat
EngTat is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 07:06 PM
  #2081  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
kcrunchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WWW.MAXAMPS.COM
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

The capacitor that comes with the set up is 2700uf 25Volts
I have a cap that is 4700uf 10 Volts would there be a great difference or possible damage by installing the higher cap with the lower volts.. The issue for me is the cap is so large and poses a problem with touching the body on my 1/12 when I put it on.

I am tryingto wire every thing the way it is supposed to be but the other cap is smaller and the one that comesin the kit it is HUGE...LOL...

Any help appreciated
kcrunchone is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 08:32 PM
  #2082  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

The increased capacity would only be beneficial, 10V (if its a high quality one) should be ok... but i would suggest any capacitor between 10-25V (25V i think is overkill but 10V can risk damage to your ESC).... i mean... what if the cap was not every good and it was only 7V, and it blew out on an important race? The car would still run I think but.... it is still risky.
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 09:06 PM
  #2083  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
kcrunchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WWW.MAXAMPS.COM
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It's a cap from Spektrum. I am ont sure of it rating being valid that is a good point but I would think Spektrum is puting out. I hope, I am still trying to find a sapce to fit the coke bottle with little interference to chassis layout and body alignment. I really was hoping to try the smaller cap but I dont want to risk damaginf the ESC....
kcrunchone is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 09:30 PM
  #2084  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
kcrunchone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: WWW.MAXAMPS.COM
Posts: 527
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Will the 2700uf 25volt or the 4700uf 10volt give the smoother power ?

If both caps can provide adequate protecting of the integrated circuitry will one be smoother than the other that can possibly allow my driving to improve drastically. I am not erattic but mooth is always better after all right...

any info on the caps and the power bands appreciated
kcrunchone is offline  
Old 11-29-2006, 10:51 PM
  #2085  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South of the Border
Posts: 10
Default

Anyone have info on when the usb pc interface kit will be avail. in U.S.?
Mexi Brown is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.