Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 06-09-2006, 12:15 PM
  #1921  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (130)
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,712
Trader Rating: 130 (100%+)
Default

Thanks Chris.....Robert has always done fine by me with turnaround and repair prices. I emailed him so hopefully he will be able to help me out.

Joe
Glowster21 is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 06:07 PM
  #1922  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Omaha
Posts: 182
Default

Im having a problem with my vfs-1 in my 19t 1/12 scale. My car doesnt reach its top speed.. it accelerates slowly and when i give it full throttle it actually slows down. It seems like its the fastest around quarter throttle. Also if it accelerates at all its jittery. Its never been wired backwards or anything else that would ruin it and its never gotten hot/ smoked. Iv tried resetting it, switching motors/ batteries, checking my remote setting and i cant think of anything else. If anyone has any ideas lmk

Last edited by jtrcing; 06-19-2006 at 03:30 PM.
jtrcing is offline  
Old 06-11-2006, 11:44 PM
  #1923  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
coons88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Auckland, NZ
Posts: 311
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Hi guys,

Just a quick question, does the VFS-1 have reverse polarity protection? From what I can find in this thread it appears it doesn't, but can someone confirm that?
coons88 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 05:35 AM
  #1924  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

sorta glad i can't... cause i think i might fry the esc... sorry not sure...
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 08:36 AM
  #1925  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by coons88
Hi guys,

Just a quick question, does the VFS-1 have reverse polarity protection? From what I can find in this thread it appears it doesn't, but can someone confirm that?
no reverse polarity protection. ive fried enough to have learned that lesson.

although a nice feature for future versions of the VFS-1!
Hebiki is offline  
Old 06-12-2006, 08:40 AM
  #1926  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

me too!
Robert has been fast with the repairs
took less than a week to fix and get back in my hands.
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 08:26 PM
  #1927  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I currently have the VFS-2000, but want to upgrade. What are the differences between the VFS-1 Pro and Competition? Because at shops here in Tokyo, I can get the VFS-1 Competition w/ the Setting device and card for under 200 USD.
XrayFK is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 08:47 PM
  #1928  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Originally Posted by XrayFK
I currently have the VFS-2000, but want to upgrade. What are the differences between the VFS-1 Pro and Competition? Because at shops here in Tokyo, I can get the VFS-1 Competition w/ the Setting device and card for under 200 USD.
The difference is that Competition have a higher thermal cut-off. If it activates, your ESC is dead. Also, Competition has a carbon looking case

I have both of them and I don't feel the difference other that the things I mentioned.
trf_racer is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 09:23 PM
  #1929  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Also, is the multi setting adapter for the 2000 and VFS-1 the same. And only the setting card is different? Or is there an entirely new adapter as well for the VFS-1?
XrayFK is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 10:04 PM
  #1930  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by XrayFK
Also, is the multi setting adapter for the 2000 and VFS-1 the same. And only the setting card is different? Or is there an entirely new adapter as well for the VFS-1?
the setting cards are different. the original adapter for the 2000 will not work with the VFS-1 series.

get the latest version...the one with the carbon case..you won't regret it.

if you have a laptop..I'd get the PC adapter instead of the handheld unit..the pc version is alot easier to use.

if you want to save get the Hara Twister 2.1 it's identical to the competition and cost less... $133 at Tower Hobbies...even less if your order is over $150 and you can use the discount code to deduct $25.00
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 06-13-2006, 10:37 PM
  #1931  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
XrayFK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 1,463
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Ok, thanks, that's what I figured but wasn't sure. Is there any other place to get the PC adapter other than from KO? Because of the price, I'll most likely just get the hand-held unit combo. $194USD from Futaba-Sangyo in Akihabara, and no waiting for shipping.
Is there a FET wire on the new version, I didn't see one?
XrayFK is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 02:38 PM
  #1932  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster,England
Posts: 4
Default

hey guys

Has anyone had trouble with their vfs-1 speedo overheating, mine overheats after about 2-3 minutes of racing, im running a checkpoint 7x1 and smc 4200 cells

can anyone help, thanks
Elation05 is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 02:55 PM
  #1933  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Elation05
hey guys

Has anyone had trouble with their vfs-1 speedo overheating, mine overheats after about 2-3 minutes of racing, im running a checkpoint 7x1 and smc 4200 cells

can anyone help, thanks
which version do you have? Professional or carbon case Competition?

the Professional version has a thermal cutoff and the competition has the thermal cutoff set very high or no cutoff at all.

I know Hara blew a speedo over the weekend due to overheating...

you may want to consider adding a heatsink
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 03:05 PM
  #1934  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Doncaster,England
Posts: 4
Default

i have the Professional one, i have it at the factory settings for the thermal cut off, it has worked fine up til now,

one thing i have noticed is that it works fine with my v2 8x1 but overheats with my checkpoint, could my motor be drawing too many amps,

all iv done with the checkpoint is put the silver springs in which iv been told are meant to be better?

thanks
Elation05 is offline  
Old 06-14-2006, 03:09 PM
  #1935  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

yea..might be right..the checkpoint 7x1 is drawing alot more amps than the V2 8x1.

haven't played around with the springs on my checkpoint motors yet.
mainly running the money 19T motor right now.
rc-zombies is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.