R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 05-29-2006, 02:35 PM   #1906
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 373
Default

the VFS-1Comp and the Hara 2.1 have higher temp cutoff, you can send your VFS-1 pro to upgrade for a higher temp cutoff or mount a cooling fan to cool the speedo. I saw in recent Reedy race photo, Hara's car had two cooling fans , one for motor and one for speedo.
caveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-29-2006, 02:44 PM   #1907
Tech Initiate
 
maxoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 38
Default

for change a VFS-1 pro to a VFS-1 competition:
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Heatprotectormodify.pdf (70.0 KB, 201 views)
maxoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 10:36 PM   #1908
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Robert,

I know the diode single is needed to use with the ESC, but is the big capacitor really needed as well? I'm only running 1/12th 4 cells. What do you think? Can I get away without using one? Any ill affect?

Thanks,
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-31-2006, 11:20 PM   #1909
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by robk
I had my VFS1 pro thermal shutdown a couple times yesterday. The track was about 120* and this was with a 7 turn. Can anyone recommend where to start on the frequency to avoid getting the ESc too hot? BTW what does Hara do in Thailand? It's really hot over there...
rob, try lowering your profile so there is less punch, limit the current, and run the heatsink for the VFS.....and make sure your gearing is spot on so there isnt as much heat generated.

Quote:
Originally Posted by maxoo
for change a VFS-1 pro to a VFS-1 competition:
maxoo, doing this "self-fix" will void the warranty. better to send it off to Ko and have them do the mod.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 12:12 PM   #1910
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richwhat??
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I just got a Hara 2.1 and when I hook up my 7 single and hit the throtle the servo glitches. I did not have these issues with my other speedo using all the same gear.

It seems to be drawing current away from the reciever so its shutting off while powering up the motor. Is this a frequency setting or is there something wrong with the speedo?

Thanks,
__________________
Joe

Real men race MODIFIED!!
JoeGlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2006, 06:14 PM   #1911
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Check if your capacitor is installed correctly and determine if it's working. Also, you might have to adjust the power save to a higher voltage. I don't think it's the drive frequency problem.
trf_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-04-2006, 12:06 AM   #1912
Tech Master
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

You can also use a capacitor in one of your reciever slots. Spektrum makes one already assembled.
Scrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 08:16 AM   #1913
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to canto54
Default

I'm sure this question has ever been posted but I was not able to find the information on the post.
I'm currently running a VFS1 Pro and I own a Multi Setting Adapter that I purchase with it.

Now I want to uprgrade to a VFS1 Pro competition or a Twister 2.1, can I use my programmer with this new speedo?
__________________
Robitronic Avid V2
Robitronic - Graupner - GM racing
JP Products
www.mrclongwy.fr
www.petitrc.com
canto54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 08:45 AM   #1914
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 373
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by canto54
I'm sure this question has ever been posted but I was not able to find the information on the post.
I'm currently running a VFS1 Pro and I own a Multi Setting Adapter that I purchase with it.

Now I want to uprgrade to a VFS1 Pro competition or a Twister 2.1, can I use my programmer with this new speedo?
Yes
caveman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-05-2006, 08:52 AM   #1915
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: France
Posts: 205
Send a message via AIM to canto54
Default

great!! thanks a lot
__________________
Robitronic Avid V2
Robitronic - Graupner - GM racing
JP Products
www.mrclongwy.fr
www.petitrc.com
canto54 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 05:23 PM   #1916
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richwhat??
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by trf_racer
Check if your capacitor is installed correctly and determine if it's working. Also, you might have to adjust the power save to a higher voltage. I don't think it's the drive frequency problem.
Thanks for the input. It turns out my reciever doesn't like where it is mounted. When I test the gear with the reciever on the workbench its fine. The second I put it between the speedo and the servo thats when it starts to have issues.

I guess this could be radio interference? It does it with my HRS reciever and my novak XXL. I didn't have a set of crystals to try but I'm not sure this would solve the problem either.

I run an MSX so everything is tight but fits. I'm going to have to mount my recieveron my servo I guess. But I will try a cap mounted to the reciever as well.

How do I change the output voltage to the reciever from the speedo using the programmer?
__________________
Joe

Real men race MODIFIED!!
JoeGlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 06:24 PM   #1917
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 454
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JoeGlover
Thanks for the input. It turns out my reciever doesn't like where it is mounted. When I test the gear with the reciever on the workbench its fine. The second I put it between the speedo and the servo thats when it starts to have issues.

I guess this could be radio interference? It does it with my HRS reciever and my novak XXL. I didn't have a set of crystals to try but I'm not sure this would solve the problem either.

I run an MSX so everything is tight but fits. I'm going to have to mount my recieveron my servo I guess. But I will try a cap mounted to the reciever as well.

How do I change the output voltage to the reciever from the speedo using the programmer?
You go to the Power Save window in the programmer, and adjust it to the highest Power Save voltage (I believe it's 4.0)

I run my VFS-1 Competition on TRF415MSX and I don't have any problem with glitching. I am using a Futaba S9550 Low Profile Servo and JR RS310 rx. Are you putting the capacitor beside the rx? I managed to fit it between the ESC and the motor.
trf_racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2006, 07:40 PM   #1918
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Richwhat??
Posts: 401
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I am using a KO 2363 servo and a futaba HRS reciever. The cap is mounted on top of the esc, whick is now about 6mm away from the reciever and doesn't seem to have anymore issues. My buddy has the programmer so I will see him at the track tommorow and check and possibly adjust my speedo.
__________________
Joe

Real men race MODIFIED!!
JoeGlover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 06:17 AM   #1919
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

KO Staff/Robert.
Hi!
I smoked my Pro Comp and am sending it to you today via Priority. When you hit the throttle, it smokes and the negative battery wire unsolders itself from the speedo. I use the stock cap and the Ultimate Double Schottky for 19t 1/12th scale. What is the average turnaround time right now? I have a big race on June 25th and need it back by then. Is that possible if you get it by Tuesday/Wednesday next week?
Thanks,
Joe Glorioso
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-09-2006, 09:45 AM   #1920
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowster21
KO Staff/Robert.
Hi!
I smoked my Pro Comp and am sending it to you today via Priority. When you hit the throttle, it smokes and the negative battery wire unsolders itself from the speedo. I use the stock cap and the Ultimate Double Schottky for 19t 1/12th scale. What is the average turnaround time right now? I have a big race on June 25th and need it back by then. Is that possible if you get it by Tuesday/Wednesday next week?
Thanks,
Joe Glorioso
Joe,

Robert isnt always on rctech.. email this to him at [email protected]. He'll definitely get it.

- chris
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:22 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net