R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 02-22-2006, 09:00 AM   #1771
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 36
Default

I've been running the VFS-1 in my 1/12th car for a few weeks now now problems, this weekend I noticed I was losing punch at around 6 minutes even with a 19t in, it felt worst with a 19t then a modified, with the 19t I was basially having to use full throttle round the whole track to keep momentum up.

I tried different profiles and different motor (motor was not getting hot either just warm). I had quit a heavy impact in practise I'm worried could the esc be damaged?

Or is it just that my 10 month old GP3700's are getting tired even though they were coming off with 800-1000ma still in them?
rbecking is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 12:11 PM   #1772
Tech Fanatic
 
hierog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 891
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki
Formula1Fan:

3. FREQ0 is considered "stage 1". FREQ32 is the last stage. the numbers underneath are the drive frequencies. program those as you see fit for your track and car conditions (lower number means lower drive freq., more punch, more brush, comm wear, shorter runtime.... high freq, means more efficiency, more top end, rpm, less comm wear, longer runtime

hope that helps.
Chris (or anybody who knows for that matter!)

in reference to ther frequency settings:

would stage 1 mean just as you start to throttle, and stage 32 be full pegged? i'm trying to get an idea of how this thing works as i tried it for the first time this past weekend on carpet.
I used your setting Chris, and tweaked it a bit (lowered the initial 16 stages or so) to create more punch, but my RPM's sucked! i don't remember what the settings were, i will check them out when i get home.

I was using an EA monster stock, and then switched to a Binary for more RPM's (Stockton had a pretty easy flowing track this weekend) but EVERYBODY was passing me.

It was geared at 6.97 for an MSX and the motor was temping at 160 right after the race, hardly getting hot!

So i figured it must be the ESC settings! (gotta blame something!! )

Should each step be within 1 or 2 steps from each other for the smoothest response?

thanks for the help

vic
hierog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 04:21 PM   #1773
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by hierog
Chris (or anybody who knows for that matter!)

in reference to ther frequency settings:

would stage 1 mean just as you start to throttle, and stage 32 be full pegged? i'm trying to get an idea of how this thing works as i tried it for the first time this past weekend on carpet.
I used your setting Chris, and tweaked it a bit (lowered the initial 16 stages or so) to create more punch, but my RPM's sucked! i don't remember what the settings were, i will check them out when i get home.

I was using an EA monster stock, and then switched to a Binary for more RPM's (Stockton had a pretty easy flowing track this weekend) but EVERYBODY was passing me.

It was geared at 6.97 for an MSX and the motor was temping at 160 right after the race, hardly getting hot!

So i figured it must be the ESC settings! (gotta blame something!! )

Should each step be within 1 or 2 steps from each other for the smoothest response?

thanks for the help

vic
vic... you nailed it right on the head. the first stage is when you barely touch the throttle.. and stage 32 is full peg, white knuckle and all.

if you need more top end/efficiency.. check the end portion of your profile. stages 28-32... i usually have those in the mid 20s for stock.

yes you can have it skip as much as every other stage and it will still be smooth.. (i.e. 3, 5 ,7 ,9...etc) i havent tried anything greater than that.. yet. btw vic.. in talking with Eric Anderson (EAMotorsports)... epic roar motors are more finicky to gear... monsters are more forgiving. just a thought.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-22-2006, 08:37 PM   #1774
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB
Posts: 457
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Does anybody know what the pinout is on the PC adapter cable, if it is not too complicated I would rather build my own out of an old serial cable.
__________________
"we need to do at least 11.2 km/s to break earths orbit or almost the speed as Cam's car"

Neil Armstrong 1968
Cammer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-23-2006, 05:11 AM   #1775
Tech Addict
 
hurley081182's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Hampton, VA
Posts: 735
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to hurley081182 Send a message via Yahoo to hurley081182
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cammer
Does anybody know what the pinout is on the PC adapter cable, if it is not too complicated I would rather build my own out of an old serial cable.
if that works let me know please and how you did it
__________________
Old School Stampede=FUN
hurley081182 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2006, 11:02 PM   #1776
Tech Regular
 
whitelazer1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 428
Default

does anyone have a pic with 2 capasitors installed.....
whitelazer1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 09:51 AM   #1777
Tech Adept
 
B&B Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Midwest
Posts: 182
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to B&B Racing
Default

We sent a Twister 2.0 into KO Propo for repair after it quit working for us. KO sent a note back to us stating "I have taken a look at your Twister 2 esc and it is not repairable. The CPU is dead along with other components. Looks like there was a bad short that killed these things." They are offering to replace it with a new VFS-1 J for a slightly redused price, $10. I am wondering if anyone here knows what the differances are between the 2 models excluding the program? I do know that the J model has the wires pre-installed on the ESC. Thanks.
__________________
Sponsered by BJ & Z Hobbies.
B&B Racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-03-2006, 12:01 PM   #1778
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by B&B Racing
We sent a Twister 2.0 into KO Propo for repair after it quit working for us. KO sent a note back to us stating "I have taken a look at your Twister 2 esc and it is not repairable. The CPU is dead along with other components. Looks like there was a bad short that killed these things." They are offering to replace it with a new VFS-1 J for a slightly redused price, $10. I am wondering if anyone here knows what the differances are between the 2 models excluding the program? I do know that the J model has the wires pre-installed on the ESC. Thanks.
BB.. obvious difference... the twister is purple, VFS-1J is black. both have the same temp cutoff (for those that run low turn mods). J saves a tiny bit more battery so if your batteries just dump real hard, you'll have some battery left for some steering. (but you can adjust that on the VFS-1 series anyways) other than that, and the differences you mentioned, sounds like a good plan for a replacement.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2006, 04:26 AM   #1779
Tech Addict
 
woozer71's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 558
Trader Rating: 23 (96%+)
Default

Hi guys I was wondering if this changes from using 3300 to 3800 batteries or does it stay the same?

5 <--- starting point for throttle curve
5
4
4
4
4
4
4
3
3
3
3
3
3
2
1 <--- throttle half way pressed (stage #16)
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17 <--- throttle fully pressed. white knuckle and all
__________________
---------------------------------------------------
Fraser Coast RC Car Club/FCRCCC
VBC D06 / Xray T4 2013
Yokomo BMax2 ver 2 - Tamiya F104 x1
Sanwa MT-4
woozer71 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 08:11 PM   #1780
Tech Elite
 
tandman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: airdrie
Posts: 2,969
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Send a message via Yahoo to tandman
Default

I am having a problem with my Twister 2.1's. I am not getting power to the receiver from the speedo. If I hook up a receiver pack to the receiver the speedo and servo work fine. As soon as I un hook the receiver pack the servo and speedo quit working. I have tried numerous different ways of hooking the gear up with different receivers and servos. The only way it works is if I hook up a receiver pack.....what gives???
Any info would be greatly appreciated.
__________________
Dwayne Flodell
Team Mad Scientist
-When you need mad rip.....call the Mad Scientist
Team Sweepracing-R1 Wurks Team Canada
tandman is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 08:54 PM   #1781
Tech Regular
 
chris_morrison_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: victoria canada
Posts: 364
Default

try checking the red power wire on the speedo that goes to the reciever
chris_morrison_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 10:33 PM   #1782
Company Representative
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 1,686
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by tandman
I am having a problem with my Twister 2.1's. I am not getting power to the receiver from the speedo. If I hook up a receiver pack to the receiver the speedo and servo work fine. As soon as I un hook the receiver pack the servo and speedo quit working. I have tried numerous different ways of hooking the gear up with different receivers and servos. The only way it works is if I hook up a receiver pack.....what gives???
Any info would be greatly appreciated.

Dwayne,

If you check the + postive as Chris has mentioned and it looks fine, then maybe:

Is it possible that somehow you have changed the BEC voltage within the speedo? The range is 2.4V to 3.4V ( 3.4 required for Spektrum) Maybe double check the voltage setting in your handheld/program and make sure it is correctly set up for your system.

The KO rx ( 302F) has voltage boosting, which allows you to run a lower voltage BEC and still fulfill the servo/rx requirments.

Hope this helps, see you next week
__________________
WCICS- Competition Director
Korgae is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-09-2006, 11:41 PM   #1783
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by woozer71
Hi guys I was wondering if this changes from using 3300 to 3800 batteries or does it stay the same?

5 <--- starting point for throttle curve
5
4
4
4
4
4
4
3
3
3
3
3
3
2
1 <--- throttle half way pressed (stage #16)
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17 <--- throttle fully pressed. white knuckle and all
you can probably raise the entire profile since the voltage on the IBs are so much higher than the 3300s
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 10:46 AM   #1784
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I have searched this thread but nothing came up. Was Hara Twister 2.0's original profile posted? Its not 36 all across right?
__________________
Muchmore l AHRP l Xenon l Futaba
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-11-2006, 11:55 AM   #1785
Tech Master
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,510
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Check the vfs 2000 thread. Should be there.
Scrad is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:41 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net