Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 01-28-2006, 04:01 AM
  #1726  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

tcmerf,

Hey, from personal experience with the hara 2.1, i would say, do it. Everyone can benefit from a little more kick exiting corners and starting up. Its mastering how and when to use it that should be the main concern. Give yourself the option of extra punch by adding capacitors. I use 2x 4700 uf caps to give me what I want...

my $0.02


patrick
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 07:45 AM
  #1727  
Tech Adept
 
beerbarron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 218
Default

Hey guys I got the PC interface to porgram my KO stuff and I am having zero luck. My laptop does not have a9-pin male conector on it, so I purchased some adapters to convert a 25-pin LPT port. So far its not working. Has anyone got any experience they want to share? Or am I just not going to get this to work without a 9-pin COM 1 port?
beerbarron is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 08:17 AM
  #1728  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,541
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Put the capacitor on. I've used a KO digital servo while running mod and when I'd punch it from a full stop the servo would pull to the side b/c so much power was being drawn to the motor.
Scrad is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 11:47 AM
  #1729  
Tech Master
iTrader: (4)
 
subman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Edmonton,Canada
Posts: 1,237
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by beerbarron
Hey guys I got the PC interface to porgram my KO stuff and I am having zero luck. My laptop does not have a9-pin male conector on it, so I purchased some adapters to convert a 25-pin LPT port. So far its not working. Has anyone got any experience they want to share? Or am I just not going to get this to work without a 9-pin COM 1 port?
Same here any help would be great!
subman is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 01:44 PM
  #1730  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (130)
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,704
Trader Rating: 130 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by beerbarron
Hey guys I got the PC interface to porgram my KO stuff and I am having zero luck. My laptop does not have a9-pin male conector on it, so I purchased some adapters to convert a 25-pin LPT port. So far its not working. Has anyone got any experience they want to share? Or am I just not going to get this to work without a 9-pin COM 1 port?
Have you tried to convert it from a DB9 to a USB? That should work fine.
Glowster21 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 02:33 PM
  #1731  
Tech Adept
 
beerbarron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 218
Default

Originally Posted by Glowster21
Have you tried to convert it from a DB9 to a USB? That should work fine.

Nope, will that work? I assume they make a DB9 to USB adapter. Also, how do you make a USB port into COM 1 or 2? Is that needed? I wish this stuff was USB. Plug and play is so much easier.

KO guy?
beerbarron is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 03:22 PM
  #1732  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,496
Default

You can get USB - 9 pin serial convertors. I know a couple of people that use this method to connect the VFS to their laptops. You can set in the COMM port in the software, anywhere from COMM 1 - COMM 10.
MattW is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 05:42 PM
  #1733  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (26)
 
CRASH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 2,717
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default USB to Parallel Port

Yes it is real easy to do. Just get the Radio Shack converter, Part Number is: 26-183

Just install and it should set itself to an active port. Then you can select wich port to use in the KO software. If not go into My Computer, right click, select properties and the hardware tab. Devices tab, find the Radio Shack usb tab and open it and change the port setting to the one you want.

Hope this helps,
CRASH is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 06:28 PM
  #1734  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (130)
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,704
Trader Rating: 130 (100%+)
Default

Robert,
Got my speedo back on Friday. You 'Da Man!!!! Thanks for the awesome service. SOOOOOOO glad to get that stinkin' LRP junk out of my car and go back with a real ESC.
Thanks Again!
Joe
Glowster21 is offline  
Old 01-28-2006, 06:57 PM
  #1735  
Tech Adept
 
beerbarron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 218
Default

Crash and Matt- Thanks for the help. I'll return the adapters I have and go the USB route. I am really looking forward to my own profiles on the VFS.

Edited- I got a USB adapter (Belkin) and it works great. Just Install the software, set COM port to 1 and that's it. The KO software now communicates.

Last edited by beerbarron; 01-29-2006 at 08:15 PM.
beerbarron is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:48 AM
  #1736  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 6
Default KO Twister and Lipoly.

Does anyone know if you can set the speedo to cut out at 6v ?
blocky is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 02:38 AM
  #1737  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by blocky
Does anyone know if you can set the speedo to cut out at 6v ?
the highest the handheld programmer goes for the cutoff is 4.0V
Hebiki is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 10:45 AM
  #1738  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Does anyone have a good stock & 19t profile they would like to share? I've search and can't find what I need and it's 40something pages.

Carpet, medium size, somewhat technical. at most 50% off throttle, rubber for stock, foams 19t.

Thanks in advance.
nah604 is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 12:15 PM
  #1739  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by nah604
Does anyone have a good stock & 19t profile they would like to share? I've search and can't find what I need and it's 40something pages.

Carpet, medium size, somewhat technical. at most 50% off throttle, rubber for stock, foams 19t.

Thanks in advance.
here you go! it was on page 23, post #662.

Originally Posted by Hebiki
RBLove is right. call him up for help

for stock... try this setting...

5 <--- starting point for throttle curve
5
4
4
4
4
4
4
3
3
3
3
3
3
2
1 <--- throttle half way pressed (stage #16)
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17 <--- throttle fully pressed. white knuckle and all

enjoy!
Hebiki is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 02:01 PM
  #1740  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 31
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki
here you go! it was on page 23, post #662.
thanks, I must of given up at about page 20.

So will this profile work for 19t as well or my motor is going to start smoking.
nah604 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.