Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 01-08-2006, 01:35 AM
  #1666  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,039
Default

If u want more punch out of the ESC, i would suggest lowering the frequency by 7 points rather than increasing it.

At least from my experience, its given me better power out of corners.

This is a great ESC. Have fun with it!
rcnewb2004 is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 01:54 AM
  #1667  
Tech Regular
 
chris_morrison_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: victoria canada
Posts: 364
Default

but if you loke at the set up on the kopropo sight you cant lower the set up verymuch
chris_morrison_ is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 02:26 AM
  #1668  
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Default

KO site just provide us some basic ideas for programming the ESC, whether we should decrease/increase how many points from the default setup is based on each one's preference and driving style. if we should follow KO site then might as well ask KO to make it pre-programmed like novak GTX

i just got my vfs1 pro-competition, haven't got the chance to try it out as it rains almost everyday here i think it will be more helpful if you download the VFS-1 manager from KO site. To me it's like looking at the 'power band'

and yes, the lower the points, the higher the punch is.
dodo is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 04:19 AM
  #1669  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
ttso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 900
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default VFS-1 PC interface and Mini-Z AD module PC interface?

This might be a bit off-topic, but I guess here is the place I will get correct answer since KO guy is here..

Beside the size of plug is different, is the VFS-1 PC interface (#61012) the same with AD module PC interface (#61005)? I've AD module right now for my Mini-Z and I plan to buy VFS-1 soon. If they are the same except size of plug, I can just buy #61012 and mod a plug to use on my Mini-Z. Anyone know if they have the same circuit?
ttso is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:11 PM
  #1670  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
Mad Mackem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 2,598
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I'm having trouble connecting my VFS-1 via the computer cable. When the prog opens up on the PC, I don't get the whole screen on my monitor. The com port selection in the bottom right hand corner is cut off.

I have tried re-sizing the screen but it won't play ball. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong.>
Mad Mackem is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 09:56 PM
  #1671  
Tech Elite
 
dodo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: the archipelago
Posts: 3,095
Default

Originally Posted by Mad Mackem
I'm having trouble connecting my VFS-1 via the computer cable. When the prog opens up on the PC, I don't get the whole screen on my monitor. The com port selection in the bottom right hand corner is cut off.

I have tried re-sizing the screen but it won't play ball. Can anyone tell me what I am doing wrong.>
try to resize your resolution or don't view the prog under full screen mode. you need to resize the window and not your screen.
dodo is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:46 PM
  #1672  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (12)
 
Mad Mackem's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Gold Coast
Posts: 2,598
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

Thanks, problem solved, the large print is essential when you get to my age!
Mad Mackem is offline  
Old 01-08-2006, 11:54 PM
  #1673  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chris_morrison_
i just used my vsf1 pro competition for the first time tonight stock in a 12th scale car i
used the setting from the ko propo sight.
12th scale 4 cell technical track.
increased each frequency by 7 points cause it felt soft in the corners.

more info of the car
roll out 39.71 mm
96 spur 26 pinion.
4 cell smc 3300.
charged a 6amps
my problem the car fells soft out of corners

link to settings
http://www.kopropo.com/2004_11_3_Tec...27T%201-12.kpd
i increased each steep by 7
any help please.
thanks in advance

Chris Morrison

Chris... on the slowest of corners.. how much do you let off on your throttle? 25% off? 50% off? let us know, then we can adjust the profile.

letting off half way on the throttle from the profile you posted gives you a value of: 12

most profiles for stock motors range from 1-10.


FREQ0=1
FREQ1=1
FREQ2=2
FREQ3=2
FREQ4=3
FREQ5=4
FREQ6=4
FREQ7=5
FREQ8=5
FREQ9=6
FREQ10=7
FREQ11=8
FREQ12=9
FREQ13=10
FREQ14=11
FREQ15=12
FREQ16=13
FREQ17=14
FREQ18=15
FREQ19=15
FREQ20=16
FREQ21=17
FREQ22=18
FREQ23=19
FREQ24=19
FREQ25=20
FREQ26=21
FREQ27=22
FREQ28=23
FREQ29=23
FREQ30=24
FREQ31=24

- chris
Hebiki is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 12:14 AM
  #1674  
Tech Regular
 
chris_morrison_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: victoria canada
Posts: 364
Default

the slowest corner is full brake 180 at the end of a long straight 35% to the apex till i go to 100%
remember i added +7 points to each step from the one i posted.
chris_morrison_ is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 01:22 AM
  #1675  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chris_morrison_
the slowest corner is full brake 180 at the end of a long straight 35% to the apex till i go to 100%
remember i added +7 points to each step from the one i posted.
how are you on runtime? if you are okay on runtime, try dropping the first 10 stages or so down to 1. and smooth out from there (up to stage 32). adding (higher stage values gives you more efficiency). 1/12th runs 8 mins... so if you have runtime left. you can lower the stages (lower drive frequency = more punch, more comm/brush wear, less runtime).

try it out.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 01:51 AM
  #1676  
Tech Regular
 
chris_morrison_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: victoria canada
Posts: 364
Default

run time is great 11 min
top speed fastest car on the track down the straight.
as in smoothing out the steps after stage 10 how high should i go. IE need clarification
chris_morrison_ is offline  
Old 01-09-2006, 01:40 PM
  #1677  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by chris_morrison_
run time is great 11 min
top speed fastest car on the track down the straight.
as in smoothing out the steps after stage 10 how high should i go. IE need clarification
ygpm Chris

modified profile:

FREQ0=1
FREQ1=1
FREQ2=1
FREQ3=1
FREQ4=1
FREQ5=1
FREQ6=1
FREQ7=1
FREQ8=1
FREQ9=1
FREQ10=1
FREQ11=2
FREQ12=3
FREQ13=4
FREQ14=5
FREQ15=6
FREQ16=7
FREQ17=8
FREQ18=9
FREQ19=10
FREQ20=11
FREQ21=12
FREQ22=13
FREQ23=14
FREQ24=15
FREQ25=16
FREQ26=17
FREQ27=18
FREQ28=19
FREQ29=20
FREQ30=21
FREQ31=22
Hebiki is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:22 PM
  #1678  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Outside of Crook County Illinois
Posts: 1,979
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I have a question. Some guys here probably have ran both.

What ESC do you like better and why?

The Tekin G11 or the Ko Propo VFS1.

I am looking to get a new esc that has the adjustable freq.
Currently I run a G10 and G10pro+.
I have ran GM and Novaks in the past.
Looking at running roar stock 27t and mabuchi classes.

Any imput would greatly be appreciated.
If I could afford both I would, I can only save up for 1.

Jeff
A-Ko is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 12:38 PM
  #1679  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
Scrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Plover, WI
Posts: 1,541
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

You should get a hold of Goop he is selling his Hara 2.1, which is the same as the VFS-1 I believe.
Scrad is offline  
Old 01-12-2006, 03:30 PM
  #1680  
Tech Regular
 
Pro Models's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Posts: 356
Default

Hi Guys,

I have a slight problem with my VFS-1 Pro. When ever I use a 7turn in a Checkpoint configuration and a freshly charged IB 3800 from a dead stop and accelerating flat out from the starting grid, the speedo sort cuts off half the power from the cells and enters in a cruise mode for a couple of seconds then starts working properly. The profile on the speedo used is the original profile.

FREQ0=27
FREQ1=25
FREQ2=23
FREQ3=21
FREQ4=21
FREQ5=21
FREQ6=21
FREQ7=21
FREQ8=21
FREQ9=21
FREQ10=21
FREQ11=21
FREQ12=24
FREQ13=26
FREQ14=29
FREQ15=29
FREQ16=29
FREQ17=29
FREQ18=29
FREQ19=29
FREQ20=31
FREQ21=33
FREQ22=35
FREQ23=37
FREQ24=37
FREQ25=37
FREQ26=37
FREQ27=37
FREQ28=40
FREQ29=42
FREQ30=45
FREQ31=45

I changed the initial steps to the following and although it improved the situation it hasn't eliminated the problem completely. Can anybody help out, can't risk ruinning another 3 races like last meeting. Can anyone share there profiles used on checkpoint 7turn motors.

Thanks

FREQ0=34
FREQ1=32
FREQ2=31
FREQ3=30
FREQ4=27
FREQ5=27
FREQ6=27
FREQ7=27
FREQ8=27
FREQ9=27
Pro Models is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.