R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12-30-2005, 10:28 AM   #1621
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: somewhere in the north of england
Posts: 347
Default

Dumb question but can you use a normal schokity diode on these speed vsf-1 pro and pro comp controllers for 1/12 4 cell 19t racing? i find intalling the ko ones a pain to fit on the motor wires or on the motor of a 1/12 car and they are really expensive to replace, I just broke my second one my first one got blown up.(not my fault I have to say)
Also I don't need to use the huge cap for 1/12th racing do I could I use the lrp quantum worlds kit 1/12th cap for it instead or just run without?
Smoking motor.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-30-2005, 05:42 PM   #1622
Tech Master
 
ngo8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Winnipeg Manitoba Canada
Posts: 1,264
Send a message via ICQ to ngo8
Default

what i do is hook up the shotcky diode to my speed control it work fine you will never have to take it out again ive seen picts of haras car and rheinards cars they do it so it must be ok
__________________
Xray|ORCA|Sanwa|Trinity|KoPropo
ngo8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 04:22 AM   #1623
Tech Apprentice
 
Sam_Smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: UK, Lincs
Posts: 78
Send a message via MSN to Sam_Smith
Default

Anyone know how to lockout the temp cutoff and if it can be done using the PC management program and the PC adaptor?

Sam
Sam_Smith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 05:08 AM   #1624
Tech Addict
 
Formula1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye City!
Posts: 691
Default

I no longer see a spark when I hook up my battery pack, some one told me that this mean I need a new capacitor. 1) Is this true, 2) Do I have to buy the expensive KO or can I get any capacitor? Thanks
Formula1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 05:11 AM   #1625
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

Sam, fairly sure it can't be done with the PC software, think it's a case of being daring with a pair of cutters..............
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 05:42 AM   #1626
Tech Elite
 
Glowster21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 3,493
Trader Rating: 116 (100%+)
Default

KO Staff,
Can a replacement case for a VFS-1 Pro be purchased? If so, how would I get it?

Thanks
Glowster21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 01:49 PM   #1627
Tech Regular
 
chris_morrison_'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: victoria canada
Posts: 364
Default

am i reading the sheet and boxes right there is no thermal portectiton ciruit in my vfs-1 pro competition.

can you anser this for me ko prpo staff
chris_morrison_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 01:52 PM   #1628
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Glowster21
KO Staff,
Can a replacement case for a VFS-1 Pro be purchased? If so, how would I get it?

Thanks
go to here
http://www.shopatron.com/product/pro....1052.56.0.0.0

and buy one
BritRacer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 02:00 PM   #1629
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Formula1fan
I no longer see a spark when I hook up my battery pack, some one told me that this mean I need a new capacitor. 1) Is this true, 2) Do I have to buy the expensive KO or can I get any capacitor? Thanks
you can use the novak one or the Ko one. some are rated higher than others. make sure you dont get one thats too low and fry your ESC that way. Robert explained it a few pages back.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 02:13 PM   #1630
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by chris_morrison_
am i reading the sheet and boxes right there is no thermal portectiton ciruit in my vfs-1 pro competition.

can you anser this for me ko prpo staff
There is a thremal cutt off (set very high) in the esc but if you trigger it, most likely you have damaged the esc.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 04:44 PM   #1631
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: somewhere in the north of england
Posts: 347
Default

is it okay to solder the diode to the batt + and batt - terminals rather that to the motor - terminal as the diode is to big to fit in the 1/12 scale pod
Smoking motor.. is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 04:53 PM   #1632
Tech Champion
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,212
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smoking motor..
is it okay to solder the diode to the batt + and batt - terminals rather that to the motor - terminal as the diode is to big to fit in the 1/12 scale pod
I do it on my 4wd sedan..
more effeciant when it's on the motor...
will work fine if soldered to the speedo.
__________________
HB WCE HARA EDITION CYCLONE: LRP Sphere TC, KO 2363 digital servo.
HB HARA EDITION PRO4: Gone to a new home..

SPEEDTECH|FUTABA|KO|ORION|SPEEDWORLD|HARA
rc-zombies is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 05:31 PM   #1633
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 363
Default

The whole idea of the diode i thought was to stop any negative voltage spikes coming from the motor to the esc. Can you shed some light on the reason why you would want to do it to the battery wires?!?!?

(there is probably a good reason that has not come to me yet)
Dan Hughes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 06:33 PM   #1634
Tech Fanatic
 
hierog's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Elk Grove, CA
Posts: 891
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Chris, you have PM
hierog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-03-2006, 09:20 PM   #1635
Tech Addict
 
Formula1fan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Buckeye City!
Posts: 691
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Hebiki
you can use the novak one or the Ko one. some are rated higher than others. make sure you dont get one thats too low and fry your ESC that way. Robert explained it a few pages back.
Okay, so I am looking for a 8200F cap. rated at 25V. Is it correct that if that spark is gone when I hook up my batteries, it cap. is bad?
Formula1fan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 08:08 PM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net