Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC >

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Old 12-06-2005, 04:30 PM
  #1561  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,210
Default

I'm pretty sure that is right. I could be wrong. Which esc are you using? VFS-2000 or VFS-1? Last I checked, it worked this way with the VFS-2000.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Old 12-08-2005, 07:56 PM
  #1562  
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

ok vfs-1 gurus

I run a roar stock in sedan on a high speed carpet track with foams.

I probably let go to 3/4 throttle about 3 turns, and 1/2 throttle for 1 turn, the rest is full welly.

would something like this be a good start


4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
4
5
6
7
8
9
etc

with a current limiter set at 26?

i dropped current to 12 and had way less rip.

or could you reccomend a profile with high speed, but mid punch.
BritRacer is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 12:51 AM
  #1563  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by BritRacer
ok vfs-1 gurus

I run a roar stock in sedan on a high speed carpet track with foams.

I probably let go to 3/4 throttle about 3 turns, and 1/2 throttle for 1 turn, the rest is full welly.

would something like this be a good start


4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
4
5
6
7
8
9
etc

with a current limiter set at 26?

i dropped current to 12 and had way less rip.

or could you reccomend a profile with high speed, but mid punch.
Brit, you have it backwards. you want lower numbers (lower drive freq) for more punch.

try something like

5
5
4
4
3
3
2
2
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
1
2
3
4
5
... etc

also try using a throttle response of "1" or "2" if you are smooth on the throttle. helps maximize the powerband. if your choppy with it, on and off, keep it off.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 06:10 AM
  #1564  
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

ok, makes sense.

So starting with 4 it would have less punch from zero, but when laying off teh throttle a little, would have mid corner punch??

What would the effect be if i ran "1"s across the board??

Also, what if i turned the current limiter off?
BritRacer is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 09:42 AM
  #1565  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 316
Default

Current limiter off- all of the esc profiles that I have looked at have the current limiter off. For racing you want all of the ponies available. The current limiter is your index finger. We all have great throttle control, right?
Charles is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 09:49 AM
  #1566  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 316
Default

"i dropped current to 12 and had way less rip."

I could not find a setting of 12, what do you have current limiter actually set at?

Actually I think current limiter setting of 12 = off

Read back a few pages and you will find a listing for those of us that don't have a poor windows system (Apple Rocks)and use a text editor to open the files.
Charles is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 10:50 AM
  #1567  
Tech Addict
 
Nathan Parker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 674
Default

Originally Posted by Charles
Current limiter off- all of the esc profiles that I have looked at have the current limiter off. For racing you want all of the ponies available. The current limiter is your index finger. We all have great throttle control, right?
No left thumb
Nathan Parker is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 12:52 PM
  #1568  
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Sterling, Illinois
Posts: 816
Default

I have a Hara Twister 2.1 and plan on using it for mod foam racing(8T V2) is it essential that I install a fan before running mod or just wait and see if I have a problem? I will be racing indoor carpet.
slow is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 02:29 PM
  #1569  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
Alex C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: On a ship in the warm seas with no sail !!!
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Charles
"i dropped current to 12 and had way less rip."

I could not find a setting of 12, what do you have current limiter actually set at?

Actually I think current limiter setting of 12 = off

Read back a few pages and you will find a listing for those of us that don't have a poor windows system (Apple Rocks)and use a text editor to open the files.
Charles,

Actually 12 = 120 Amps
There are 12 different settings(40-260A) plus an off.


An excessive current can be prevented from flowing to the motor by controlling the maximum value of the current. The current limiter setting in the VFS-1 can help to protect the motor and the battery.
I hope this helps Charles!
Best Regards


Alex Cortez

Alex C is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 04:58 PM
  #1570  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,922
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Alex C
Charles,

Actually 12 = 120 Amps
There are 12 different settings(40-260A) plus an off.


An excessive current can be prevented from flowing to the motor by controlling the maximum value of the current. The current limiter setting in the VFS-1 can help to protect the motor and the battery.
I hope this helps Charles!

Best Regards


Alex Cortez


alex.. i was wrong on that assumption. 12 does not equal 120... see robert's quote below:

Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
You are probably opening the file as a text document and the numbers do not correlate to voltage settings, for example 12=120A. The numbers do not work that way. If you insist on opening it with notepad, here is the reference.

0=40A
1=60A
2=80A
3=100A
4=120A
5=140A
6=160A
7=180A
8=200A
9=220A
10=240A
11=260A
12= OFF

If you have a doubt about the setting, use the PC software to open the file. It's FREE.
Hebiki is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 06:39 PM
  #1571  
Tech Master
iTrader: (50)
 
Alex C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: On a ship in the warm seas with no sail !!!
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 50 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Hebiki
alex.. i was wrong on that assumption. 12 does not equal 120... see robert's quote below:
Chris....your absolutely right.

I was referencing the hand held programer!!

Best Regards Chris

Alex Cortez
Alex C is offline  
Old 12-10-2005, 09:05 AM
  #1572  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 316
Default

Appology accepted (12=120)

ACTUALLY Chris or was it KO Staff? straightened me out a few pages back.
Charles is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:30 AM
  #1573  
TFR
Tech Master
iTrader: (11)
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Ko Propo Staff,

Do you know where we could purchase these all black receiver wires? Thanks.
Attached Thumbnails Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC-koike010m.gif  
TFR is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:34 AM
  #1574  
Tech Elite
 
BritRacer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 2,081
Default

its just black shrink wrap.
BritRacer is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 09:36 AM
  #1575  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
Mr. Shookie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: The Wilderness
Posts: 4,711
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Mr. Shookie is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2021 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.