Ko Propo VFS-1 ESC

Reply

Old 11-09-2005, 03:55 PM
  #1486  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default VFS repairs

KO Staff: Is it possible to get the VFS speedo repaired? I blew my 2.1 yesterday it got that hot that it destroyed some a portion of the case and desoldered all the wires i love this speedo was a pity you think its not worht fixing?
FUK_WRX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 04:18 PM
  #1487  
Tech Lord
Thread Starter
iTrader: (26)
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by FUK_WRX
KO Staff: Is it possible to get the VFS speedo repaired? I blew my 2.1 yesterday it got that hot that it destroyed some a portion of the case and desoldered all the wires i love this speedo was a pity you think its not worht fixing?
after you get it repaired. purchase one of the heatsinks. (posted pictures in the previous pages). it will help dissipate heat better and keep your esc running cooler and more efficient.
Hebiki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 04:55 PM
  #1488  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally Posted by FUK_WRX
KO Staff: Is it possible to get the VFS speedo repaired? I blew my 2.1 yesterday it got that hot that it destroyed some a portion of the case and desoldered all the wires i love this speedo was a pity you think its not worht fixing?
Sounds like it probably is not repairable. You could always send it in and see if it is. You say 2.1, must be a Hara edition. If so, you will either have to send it back to Hot Bodies or KO Japan for repairs.

-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 07:26 PM
  #1489  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,549
Default

Hello,

I just purchased the Helios, the VFS-1 Pro Comp. Value pack, and a PDS-2123FET servo. (7.2V)

I needed to know how to hook up the blue wire to the speed control, and I was told that I may need to set the BEC at 3.0v, rather than 2.3v. The servo came with, what looks like, the other end of the blue wire, and it looks as though all I need to do is solder that wire to the speedo somewhere, but I dont see where.

I would think that just letting the blue wire from the servo hang, would just make it not perform as well as if it were attached.

Would I be better off just going to another servo that does not involve this blue wire?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Robbie Dodge
punkboy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 07:06 AM
  #1490  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
Sounds like it probably is not repairable. You could always send it in and see if it is. You say 2.1, must be a Hara edition. If so, you will either have to send it back to Hot Bodies or KO Japan for repairs.

-Robert
Thats what it looks like, even the case was kinda melted exposing some electrical components up front. I dont get how it happened i turned my speedo on and tried it up and down the straight, and then i went to grid my car and all at a sudden took off on its own n tipped on its top there it was in full throttle then white smoke started coming out of the ESC what do you think would be the cause of this?
FUK_WRX is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 08:48 AM
  #1491  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally Posted by punkboy
Hello,

I just purchased the Helios, the VFS-1 Pro Comp. Value pack, and a PDS-2123FET servo. (7.2V)

I needed to know how to hook up the blue wire to the speed control, and I was told that I may need to set the BEC at 3.0v, rather than 2.3v. The servo came with, what looks like, the other end of the blue wire, and it looks as though all I need to do is solder that wire to the speedo somewhere, but I dont see where.

I would think that just letting the blue wire from the servo hang, would just make it not perform as well as if it were attached.

Would I be better off just going to another servo that does not involve this blue wire?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Robbie Dodge
Robbie-

The servo will not power up until you connect the blue wire. Connect the blue wire to the positive side of the battery on the esc. Make sure that you use the choke that came with the servo, or you will damage the servo.

-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 08:50 AM
  #1492  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally Posted by FUK_WRX
Thats what it looks like, even the case was kinda melted exposing some electrical components up front. I dont get how it happened i turned my speedo on and tried it up and down the straight, and then i went to grid my car and all at a sudden took off on its own n tipped on its top there it was in full throttle then white smoke started coming out of the ESC what do you think would be the cause of this?
Either you connected the battery incorrectly at some point, or you did not use the correct shotki diode for your application.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 09:50 AM
  #1493  
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Default

hello, ko pro--- i have novak receiver and lrp esc,airtronics servo

i am thinking of getting a ex-10 helio transmitter and servo....

will i have to change my receiver and esc.to make it work ??????????????

thanks for looking
rcnutmich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 09:55 AM
  #1494  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally Posted by rcnutmich
hello, ko pro--- i have novak receiver and lrp esc,airtronics servo

i am thinking of getting a ex-10 helio transmitter and servo....

will i have to change my receiver and esc.to make it work ??????????????

thanks for looking
You will have to change your receiver, but the radio comes with one.??
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:00 AM
  #1495  
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Default

Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
You will have to change your receiver, but the radio comes with one.??
the receiver comes with the radio ?
rcnutmich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:09 AM
  #1496  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Originally Posted by rcnutmich
the receiver comes with the radio ?
Unless you purchase the Mini-Z or Tx only version.
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:43 AM
  #1497  
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Default

last question, will a kr 301f receiver work ?
rcnutmich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:47 AM
  #1498  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

In the Super HSR (High Response 3CH mode) or the normal mode. Should not be used with the Advanced HSR mode (High Response 2CH mode) [Factory Default].
KO PROPO Staff is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:56 AM
  #1499  
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Default

thanks for the quick responces
rcnutmich is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 12:47 PM
  #1500  
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,549
Default

Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
Robbie-

The servo will not power up until you connect the blue wire. Connect the blue wire to the positive side of the battery on the esc. Make sure that you use the choke that came with the servo, or you will damage the servo.

-Robert
Choke?

Thanks again for your help!
punkboy is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service