R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11-09-2005, 04:55 PM   #1486
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default VFS repairs

KO Staff: Is it possible to get the VFS speedo repaired? I blew my 2.1 yesterday it got that hot that it destroyed some a portion of the case and desoldered all the wires i love this speedo was a pity you think its not worht fixing?
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 05:18 PM   #1487
Tech Lord
 
Hebiki's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Chino, CA
Posts: 12,919
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUK_WRX
KO Staff: Is it possible to get the VFS speedo repaired? I blew my 2.1 yesterday it got that hot that it destroyed some a portion of the case and desoldered all the wires i love this speedo was a pity you think its not worht fixing?
after you get it repaired. purchase one of the heatsinks. (posted pictures in the previous pages). it will help dissipate heat better and keep your esc running cooler and more efficient.
__________________
Hebiki Design Works
Custom R/C Vinyl Graphics & Apparel: Your gear, your way!
Web Design - Web Development - Logo Design - Graphic Design
www.facebook.com/HebikiDesignWorks
Hebiki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 05:55 PM   #1488
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUK_WRX
KO Staff: Is it possible to get the VFS speedo repaired? I blew my 2.1 yesterday it got that hot that it destroyed some a portion of the case and desoldered all the wires i love this speedo was a pity you think its not worht fixing?
Sounds like it probably is not repairable. You could always send it in and see if it is. You say 2.1, must be a Hara edition. If so, you will either have to send it back to Hot Bodies or KO Japan for repairs.

-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-09-2005, 08:26 PM   #1489
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,549
Default

Hello,

I just purchased the Helios, the VFS-1 Pro Comp. Value pack, and a PDS-2123FET servo. (7.2V)

I needed to know how to hook up the blue wire to the speed control, and I was told that I may need to set the BEC at 3.0v, rather than 2.3v. The servo came with, what looks like, the other end of the blue wire, and it looks as though all I need to do is solder that wire to the speedo somewhere, but I dont see where.

I would think that just letting the blue wire from the servo hang, would just make it not perform as well as if it were attached.

Would I be better off just going to another servo that does not involve this blue wire?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Robbie Dodge
punkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 08:06 AM   #1490
Tech Master
 
FUK_WRX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,823
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via ICQ to FUK_WRX Send a message via AIM to FUK_WRX Send a message via MSN to FUK_WRX Send a message via Yahoo to FUK_WRX
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
Sounds like it probably is not repairable. You could always send it in and see if it is. You say 2.1, must be a Hara edition. If so, you will either have to send it back to Hot Bodies or KO Japan for repairs.

-Robert
Thats what it looks like, even the case was kinda melted exposing some electrical components up front. I dont get how it happened i turned my speedo on and tried it up and down the straight, and then i went to grid my car and all at a sudden took off on its own n tipped on its top there it was in full throttle then white smoke started coming out of the ESC what do you think would be the cause of this?
FUK_WRX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 09:48 AM   #1491
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by punkboy
Hello,

I just purchased the Helios, the VFS-1 Pro Comp. Value pack, and a PDS-2123FET servo. (7.2V)

I needed to know how to hook up the blue wire to the speed control, and I was told that I may need to set the BEC at 3.0v, rather than 2.3v. The servo came with, what looks like, the other end of the blue wire, and it looks as though all I need to do is solder that wire to the speedo somewhere, but I dont see where.

I would think that just letting the blue wire from the servo hang, would just make it not perform as well as if it were attached.

Would I be better off just going to another servo that does not involve this blue wire?

Thanks in advance for your help,
Robbie Dodge
Robbie-

The servo will not power up until you connect the blue wire. Connect the blue wire to the positive side of the battery on the esc. Make sure that you use the choke that came with the servo, or you will damage the servo.

-Robert
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 09:50 AM   #1492
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by FUK_WRX
Thats what it looks like, even the case was kinda melted exposing some electrical components up front. I dont get how it happened i turned my speedo on and tried it up and down the straight, and then i went to grid my car and all at a sudden took off on its own n tipped on its top there it was in full throttle then white smoke started coming out of the ESC what do you think would be the cause of this?
Either you connected the battery incorrectly at some point, or you did not use the correct shotki diode for your application.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:50 AM   #1493
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Send a message via Yahoo to rcnutmich
Default

hello, ko pro--- i have novak receiver and lrp esc,airtronics servo

i am thinking of getting a ex-10 helio transmitter and servo....

will i have to change my receiver and esc.to make it work ??????????????

thanks for looking
rcnutmich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:55 AM   #1494
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnutmich
hello, ko pro--- i have novak receiver and lrp esc,airtronics servo

i am thinking of getting a ex-10 helio transmitter and servo....

will i have to change my receiver and esc.to make it work ??????????????

thanks for looking
You will have to change your receiver, but the radio comes with one.??
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 11:00 AM   #1495
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Send a message via Yahoo to rcnutmich
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
You will have to change your receiver, but the radio comes with one.??
the receiver comes with the radio ?
rcnutmich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 11:09 AM   #1496
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by rcnutmich
the receiver comes with the radio ?
Unless you purchase the Mini-Z or Tx only version.
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 11:43 AM   #1497
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Send a message via Yahoo to rcnutmich
Default

last question, will a kr 301f receiver work ?
rcnutmich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 11:47 AM   #1498
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: World Wide Westside!
Posts: 1,209
Default

In the Super HSR (High Response 3CH mode) or the normal mode. Should not be used with the Advanced HSR mode (High Response 2CH mode) [Factory Default].
KO PROPO Staff is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 11:56 AM   #1499
Tech Regular
 
rcnutmich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: brighton mi
Posts: 337
Send a message via Yahoo to rcnutmich
Default

thanks for the quick responces
rcnutmich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 01:47 PM   #1500
Tech Champion
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 5,549
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KO PROPO Staff
Robbie-

The servo will not power up until you connect the blue wire. Connect the blue wire to the positive side of the battery on the esc. Make sure that you use the choke that came with the servo, or you will damage the servo.

-Robert
Choke?

Thanks again for your help!
punkboy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
KO PROPO BMC-VFS esc Molala3 Electric On-Road 0 04-23-2008 11:57 AM
KO PROPO VS-1 FS/FT Headshot R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 11-11-2007 06:16 PM
ko propo buffalobill989 R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 2 08-09-2006 05:08 AM
~F/S Ko Propo Mars R/Ko Propo VFS 2000 Pro/BMI FK05~ RandomTask R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 5 06-21-2006 10:18 PM
WTB Ko Propo VFS-1 Pro Roberto Falcon R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 5 10-22-2005 11:36 AM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 04:12 PM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net