Wiki Posts
Search

So who knows F104 setup?

Search this Thread

Old 02-02-2011, 08:50 PM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default So who knows F104 setup?

First of forgive me I'm new at the F-104 class and I gave up finding this in the 294 page F104 thread I did scan it bit but after about 75 pages I gave up.

I am running rubber tires on asphalt. I have the soft T-Bar and I am using all Tamiya parts and most blue hop ups.

The problem I am running into is rear traction. Right now I have Medium tires in front and soft in the rear. When coming off of speed or into a turn the rear end comes around bad. I mean real bad In fact I can come down a straight away and barely let off the throttle with no turn and the rear will come around. Its like the rear end is on ice.

I have adjusted springs, ride height front and rear. I have tried new tires. I have used Paragon II traction compound and etc. And I have loosened up the diff to almost nothing.

The weird thing is a couple of times it seem dialed in ran pretty good then next heat or later in the day it was all gone.

Could I be causing a problem with the traction compound? It does seem like the tires are stickier at first then they pick up all the usual crap off the track and then it worse. But this is only for about the first lap. Its all downhill after that.

I bought this car and ran it last season. the car was almost new. I am going to break it down and rebuild it. Anything i should look for?

Any helpful comments would be appreciated. I am at a loss here.
Old 02-02-2011, 09:06 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

I don't have a F104, but I've seen someone at our track working on setup. I don't know how much tuning experience you have, so I don't want to setp on your toes, but I can give you some ideas.