Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
Multiple power capasitors on brushed speed controls? >

Multiple power capasitors on brushed speed controls?

Multiple power capasitors on brushed speed controls?

Old 01-31-2011, 09:52 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
J-VET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Multiple power capasitors on brushed speed controls?

So Iv'e noticed some people running brushed esc's with multiple capasitors. Whats the purpose? I have a FX pro with 1 and a QC3 that doesn't have any. What is the purpose/benefit of one or more? 3-4?


Thanks
J-VET is offline  
Old 01-31-2011, 10:34 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by J-VET View Post
So Iv'e noticed some people running brushed esc's with multiple capasitors. Whats the purpose? I have a FX pro with 1 and a QC3 that doesn't have any. What is the purpose/benefit of one or more? 3-4?


Thanks

If the caps are on the battery side, it helps reduce the ripple voltage going into the ESC and Battery. It just gives a steadier voltage for the ESC to run. Some say it will make the ESC run cooler, but i have honestly never run the ESC without atleast one.
Shawn68z is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 06:28 AM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
J-VET's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Ventura CA
Posts: 211
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

So is 3-4 better then 1?


Thanks
J-VET is offline  
Old 02-01-2011, 11:10 AM
  #4  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by J-VET View Post
So is 3-4 better then 1?


Thanks
its not about the quantity of the caps, its about the voltage and capacity of the capacitor. You need a 16V to 25V capacitor, and technically the higher the capacitance you use the smaller the ripple voltage will be. I normally use a 470uF capacity.

I also run a capacitors on the BEC side of the receiver (known as a glitch buster), so when the servo requires a high current draw, the cap will keep the voltage up high. This stops the AMB and RXer from reseting from a low voltage dip.

Shawn
Shawn68z is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.