R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-25-2002, 08:53 PM   #1
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default LRP Phaser

Yup, got some question.

Since I have a Quantum speedo, and want to get the phaser to match it too, also my R113F receiver from my 3PDF is kind of big and also my radio is 27mhz.
So I decided to get the LRP Phaser.

I was wondering from switching to aftermarket receiver from my original one, would it casue any glitching?

Right now, I don't got any glitch at all....no problem what so ever.

Is it a good buy?
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2002, 09:14 PM   #2
Joe
Tech Regular
 
Joe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Greeley, CO
Posts: 273
Default

I use a phaser with my EX-11 and it works just fine, as good as stock. I'm not totally sure, but it should be just fine on a Futaba. Want to send me your original reciever?
Joe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2002, 09:31 PM   #3
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I just went to LRP's site and checked out the specs and it says

- Super Shielded—a metal coated case protects the Phaser from exterior interference. Works with existing FM transmitter and crystal. Safe, low voltage operation—max. 3 volts.
No vibraton crystal insert system.
Top antenna—the antenna wire exit is on the top end of the Phaser.

The 3 volts part, original receiver puts out about 5.8 Volts right?
Not really sure on this..

But what is the pros for this?
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2002, 09:35 PM   #4
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Joe
Want to send me your original reciever?
SURE, send me your Phaser...
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 02:57 PM   #5
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

If your radio will work with a KO297FZ, then it will work with a phaser..........hmm, wonder why that would be!!!!
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-26-2002, 03:56 PM   #6
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

ya, I heard they are the same...

those two receiver's price is about the same...why not get the Phaser?

I would, the cheapest place I've found is stormerhobbies.com for $75...

anyone selling theres?
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2002, 08:26 AM   #7
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Phaser

Got one and was so happy got a second one!!!!!

I am using it with an EX-11 also!!!! (but the new controller from ko is rad!!!!!!) and with KO crystals 40mhz.

BUt on a race I forgot my spare crystal, and used futaba's and it just worked fine!!!!! (although KO specifically said to only use their crystal, futaba seems to work just fine and cheaper too!)
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2002, 08:54 AM   #8
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

cool, any problems with it??

good stuff.....I want to get one badly too...
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2002, 10:20 AM   #9
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

I know quite a few people in the UK running them with KO and Futaba 40mhz transmitters. Not sure about crystals specifically, but you should always use the crystal of the transmitter manufacture.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2002, 10:28 AM   #10
Tech Elite
 
lem2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: OC
Posts: 3,061
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Phaser

My phaser got soaked in Water when my little angel decided to clean it with water (since it was dirty) i just blasted it with air and it works fine!

before I used a novak 40 mhz but phaser is somewhat better in looks and in size!

Yes i know i should use KO crystals in my Tx but it is so hard to find here and is about 20US$ each.while futaba is only about 8$
lem2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-27-2002, 10:10 PM   #11
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

What is so good about the "Safe, low voltage operation—max. 3 volts."
TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2002, 07:53 AM   #12
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: England
Posts: 1,470
Send a message via ICQ to MattW
Default

That means that it only needs 3 volts to run. i.e even if you are running 4 cell it should still be fine even when the cells are flat.
MattW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-28-2002, 08:22 AM   #13
TFR
Tech Master
 
TFR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,767
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

oh....cool....thanx...

I guess I'll try and look for a used one first, but If I can't find one. I would just go to stormerhobbies.com and get a new one...

TFR is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
LRP Phaser ZeroCooL R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 6 08-22-2005 06:34 PM
LRP Phaser...NEW TFR R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-16-2003 05:59 AM
LRP Phaser 27mhz/FM RX wannabee R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 3 08-06-2002 12:37 PM
LRP Phaser Macky R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 7 08-03-2002 01:58 AM
LRP Phaser TFR R/C Items: Wanted to Buy 1 05-05-2002 08:09 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 10:08 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net