R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-25-2004, 09:36 PM   #46
Tech Addict
 
D_Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 617
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to D_Ames
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by jkerr0043
You can either have it on the outside so you can mount it anywhere you want or it goes inside the case and makes the footprint larger.
The LRP quantum comp2 doesn't need a capacitor at all and it's still very small. I don't know if it has one built in buy why can't novak get rid of the cap without making the speedo a monstrosity?
D_Ames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2004, 09:04 AM   #47
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

The power capacitor ENHANCES PERFORMANCE by keeping ESC temperatures lower (which translates to more efficiency), by adding a little extra botom and mid range power, and by helping filter out voltage inconsistancies.

When you see "other" esc team drivers run their escs without the capacitor on them usually it's because they feel they need LESS PUNCH... IE very big high speed tracks or low traction tracks...

Oh yeah, when it runs hot without the capacitor it is also more prone to glitching problems... Without a capactior as a voltage filter, all sorts of bad stuff can happen.

So, if you want your ESC to run hotter, run less efficiently, possibly glitch, and run slower, by all means run without a power capacitor.

__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-26-2004, 09:37 PM   #48
Tech Addict
 
D_Ames's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Riverside, CA
Posts: 617
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to D_Ames
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evicerator
The power capacitor ENHANCES PERFORMANCE by keeping ESC temperatures lower (which translates to more efficiency), by adding a little extra botom and mid range power, and by helping filter out voltage inconsistancies.

When you see "other" esc team drivers run their escs without the capacitor on them usually it's because they feel they need LESS PUNCH... IE very big high speed tracks or low traction tracks...

Oh yeah, when it runs hot without the capacitor it is also more prone to glitching problems... Without a capactior as a voltage filter, all sorts of bad stuff can happen.

So, if you want your ESC to run hotter, run less efficiently, possibly glitch, and run slower, by all means run without a power capacitor.

Thanks for the answer, big E!!. That makes perfect sence, I just hate those caps and I got all afire when I saw the LRP guys running without them.

BUT There's two things this world needs. A cure for cancer, and a way to get rid of that STUPID CAP!!!!!!
D_Ames is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 11:14 AM   #49
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Well, the way technology works is that given enough time things seem to get smaller and smaller... hopefully someone will produce a capacitor with the proper specs in a smaller form factor
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 02:03 PM   #50
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Cool

The best thing to do is buy a Tekin. Their technology is as good as anything on the market and everything is internal. Even though the design is 5 years old, they were 5 years ahead of the competition.
tmeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 02:31 PM   #51
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

Has anyone been able to play Doom III on a 5 year old computer with great performance?
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL

Last edited by Steve Weiss; 08-27-2004 at 02:42 PM.
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 03:05 PM   #52
Tech Adept
 
brushless's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Alabaster, AL
Posts: 131
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evicerator
Has anyone been able to play Doom III on a 5 year old computer with great performance?
Just go to www.tomshardware.com or www.anandtech.com. They have reviews for Doom3 with older computers.
brushless is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 06:02 PM   #53
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evicerator
Has anyone been able to play Doom III on a 5 year old computer with great performance?
Don't be sarcastic about the truth. I guess you "orange" guys are a bit nervous with TeamTekin being back. I would have to assume that is the reason for the GTX being released, to be able to keep up with 5 year old perfection.
tmeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 06:17 PM   #54
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

hehehehehe

Think what you will
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 06:22 PM   #55
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Want perfection get a Keyence.. hehe
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 07:11 PM   #56
Tech Master
 
J.Filipow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,692
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

Hmmmm....I don't see Keyence drivers or Tekin employees on internet forums, answering tech questions for their customers.....
__________________
P1 Brand - "Victory is Black and White" ◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤◢◤

RC America / XRayUSA / Hudy / Motiv / Avid / Vannen Watches
J.Filipow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-27-2004, 07:49 PM   #57
Tech Elite
 
JimmyMac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: NC
Posts: 4,443
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Keyence is a huge electronics company. To them.. building/selling ESC's is just a hobby.
__________________
M.J. McIntyre

Yokomo YRX12
Tamiya TB03
JimmyMac is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 04:24 AM   #58
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by J.Filipow
Hmmmm....I don't see Keyence drivers or Tekin employees on internet forums, answering tech questions for their customers.....
You haven't been looking hard enough. Go to www.teamtekin.com and you'll find forums devoted entirely to their products. They do an outstanding job of answering any question presented. Take a look at how much demand there is for Tekin products that are 5 or more years old in design. I can't wait until they design something totally new. The orange and blue guys will really be crying then. But then again, their 5 year old design is still kicking butt, so they may not be in such a hurry to bring out something new so fast. When a company makes such outstanding products new things don't have to be created every 1-2 years to stay on top. BTW, the only reason the orange and blue guys are on forums to offer help is because that is usually part of their job. It's easy to push a product when you get that product for free and you get paid as well.
tmeeks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 07:35 AM   #59
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: GV
Posts: 62
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by KilRuf
Want perfection get a Keyence.. hehe

Want perfection get a MRT!

R/CTech thread: New MRT ESC

British and the best!!!

www.team-mrt.com
ProMaX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2004, 12:15 PM   #60
Tech Fanatic
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: seattle, WA
Posts: 864
Default

Isn't this a Novak forum? Not a Tekin, Keyence, LRP or some other esc company forum. Why don't you just start up another forum about those esc's if you want to.

Steve - How much of a performance difference did you get when you ran the 2 capacitors on your GTX? Was is really noticable? Were there any other things like motor wear that suffered when you ran 2? I have 2 capacitors on my GT7, but I put them both on when I put my esc in the first time. So I never ran it with just one. Thanks.

-WR
racerdx6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Concepts BJ4WE CHEAP!!! NIP NOVAK 10.5 & Novak 4300 w/Sintered Rotor Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
LRP Sphere tc, Novak 13.5pro, Novak 10.5 pro, Novak 13mm rotor theisgroup R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 01-08-2008 11:21 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
For Sale Novak 3.5 brushless motor with Novak Heat sink $60.00 SHIPPED!!! Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 06-24-2007 08:29 PM
Rivergate RCD30, Novak Millenium Pros, XXX4G+, XXXTMF, lehner/novak BL Jman-x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2005 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:38 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net