R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 01-17-2006, 03:38 PM   #511
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

The Quick Jump into the program mode is a bit tricky, If you can't get it to work, you can easily get to the adjustments by checking the profile, then taping the button during the final light "countdown".

The Power Cap cannot make voltage if it's not there. So it only goes to what the battery pack "is". It will slowly discharge as it sits by itself, so don't expect it to read much voltage after everything is disconnected.

__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 04:01 PM   #512
Tech Regular
 
EricO3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to EricO3 Send a message via MSN to EricO3
Default

So when i saw the spark from the where the Capacitor wire on soldered onto the ESC board (by accidentally hitting the flat-head type soldering tip on both neg/pos connections) it only discharged the copacitor and didn't ruin it, or it may have been discharged from not using it in two days already. As long as it went back up in volts when I soldered the battery on, it should work on and still have all the punch it had before right?

-Eric
EricO3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 05:15 PM   #513
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Default

A capacitor stores energy. If you sparked it it discharged its energy and will work just fine again when you power up your car the next time. When a capacitor blows you will most definately know it, pretty loud and blows white fuzz everywhere.
JimMcClure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 05:58 PM   #514
Tech Elite
 
Jack2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Nah, Its not dead. If you disconnect the pack after a run and then turn the ESC on, the lights on the ESC should light up for a second, that just dumping the cap. It will read out at a low voltage but when you run the car again it will take a charge.
__________________
Schumacher Mi4CX
Mugen MTX & MRX

"He who dies with the most toys wins" - Phil Harris
Jack2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 06:11 PM   #515
Tech Regular
 
EricO3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 266
Send a message via AIM to EricO3 Send a message via MSN to EricO3
Default

Nice

lol, thanks!

-Eric
EricO3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2006, 06:40 PM   #516
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Quick question

So the higher the # on the Minimum drive , the more initial punch you will have? If so wouldn't you want that for stock touring? The factory setting is 3 if your in program #1
H8W8IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 05:21 PM   #517
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

anyone?
H8W8IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 05:58 PM   #518
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H8W8IN
Quick question

So the higher the # on the Minimum drive , the more initial punch you will have? If so wouldn't you want that for stock touring? The factory setting is 3 if your in program #1
wheel spin
dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 07:43 PM   #519
Tech Adept
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 174
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

stock touring car on carpet ....wheel spin...I dont think so
H8W8IN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 08:31 PM   #520
Tech Addict
 
tc3blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Arrow

.
tc3blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 09:17 PM   #521
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by H8W8IN
stock touring car on carpet ....wheel spin...I dont think so

dakrat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 10:40 PM   #522
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JimMcClure
A capacitor stores energy. If you sparked it it discharged its energy and will work just fine again when you power up your car the next time. When a capacitor blows you will most definately know it, pretty loud and blows white fuzz everywhere.

I have GTX and GT7. Everytime I plug my GT7 to battery there is big spark. Doesn't happen with GTX.
__________________
On Road : Xray NT1 , RX8 , T4 || Mugen Seiki MRX4-R , MTX4 , MTX3 prospec || Tamiya M03 , M04 || Top Racing Sabre FD2
Off Road : Xray XT8 || Hobao Hyper 8
Radio : Futaba 3PKS || KO propo EX-10 eurus
asw7576 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-18-2006, 10:57 PM   #523
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by asw7576
I have GTX and GT7. Everytime I plug my GT7 to battery there is big spark. Doesn't happen with GTX.

Ermm..I have them both,and they both spark??

But its normal...Maybe you would like to email to Novak for better answers?
Ben.C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-24-2006, 03:40 PM   #524
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charlie
The Quick Jump into the program mode is a bit tricky, If you can't get it to work, you can easily get to the adjustments by checking the profile, then taping the button during the final light "countdown".

The Power Cap cannot make voltage if it's not there. So it only goes to what the battery pack "is". It will slowly discharge as it sits by itself, so don't expect it to read much voltage after everything is disconnected.

Well is there something special I should do? It doesnt seem like there should be any thing to it, just press the button twice quickly. If it doesnt work it shouldnt be listed as a feature.
AE Racer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2006, 10:18 AM   #525
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 271
Default

I apologise in advance because I am sure this has been asked before - but there are now in excess of 500 replies .........

Is there any advantage in fitting an external Schotky diode to a GTX running stock and 19 T motors?

Thanks!
exint2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Concepts BJ4WE CHEAP!!! NIP NOVAK 10.5 & Novak 4300 w/Sintered Rotor Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
LRP Sphere tc, Novak 13.5pro, Novak 10.5 pro, Novak 13mm rotor theisgroup R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 01-08-2008 11:21 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
For Sale Novak 3.5 brushless motor with Novak Heat sink $60.00 SHIPPED!!! Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 06-24-2007 08:29 PM
Rivergate RCD30, Novak Millenium Pros, XXX4G+, XXXTMF, lehner/novak BL Jman-x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2005 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 09:43 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net