Novak GTX

Old 01-17-2006, 03:38 PM
  #511  
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

The Quick Jump into the program mode is a bit tricky, If you can't get it to work, you can easily get to the adjustments by checking the profile, then taping the button during the final light "countdown".

The Power Cap cannot make voltage if it's not there. So it only goes to what the battery pack "is". It will slowly discharge as it sits by itself, so don't expect it to read much voltage after everything is disconnected.

Charlie is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 04:01 PM
  #512  
Tech Regular
 
EricO3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 266
Default

So when i saw the spark from the where the Capacitor wire on soldered onto the ESC board (by accidentally hitting the flat-head type soldering tip on both neg/pos connections) it only discharged the copacitor and didn't ruin it, or it may have been discharged from not using it in two days already. As long as it went back up in volts when I soldered the battery on, it should work on and still have all the punch it had before right?

-Eric
EricO3 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:15 PM
  #513  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Posts: 147
Default

A capacitor stores energy. If you sparked it it discharged its energy and will work just fine again when you power up your car the next time. When a capacitor blows you will most definately know it, pretty loud and blows white fuzz everywhere.
JimMcClure is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 05:58 PM
  #514  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Jack2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Nah, Its not dead. If you disconnect the pack after a run and then turn the ESC on, the lights on the ESC should light up for a second, that just dumping the cap. It will read out at a low voltage but when you run the car again it will take a charge.
Jack2 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:11 PM
  #515  
Tech Regular
 
EricO3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 266
Default

Nice

lol, thanks!

-Eric
EricO3 is offline  
Old 01-17-2006, 06:40 PM
  #516  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Quick question

So the higher the # on the Minimum drive , the more initial punch you will have? If so wouldn't you want that for stock touring? The factory setting is 3 if your in program #1
H8W8IN is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 05:21 PM
  #517  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

anyone?
H8W8IN is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 05:58 PM
  #518  
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Originally Posted by H8W8IN
Quick question

So the higher the # on the Minimum drive , the more initial punch you will have? If so wouldn't you want that for stock touring? The factory setting is 3 if your in program #1
wheel spin
dakrat is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 07:43 PM
  #519  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (17)
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 253
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

stock touring car on carpet ....wheel spin...I dont think so
H8W8IN is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 08:31 PM
  #520  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (10)
 
tc3blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 628
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Arrow

.
tc3blue is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 09:17 PM
  #521  
Tech Master
 
dakrat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: 96th ABW
Posts: 1,581
Default

Originally Posted by H8W8IN
stock touring car on carpet ....wheel spin...I dont think so

dakrat is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:40 PM
  #522  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

Originally Posted by JimMcClure
A capacitor stores energy. If you sparked it it discharged its energy and will work just fine again when you power up your car the next time. When a capacitor blows you will most definately know it, pretty loud and blows white fuzz everywhere.

I have GTX and GT7. Everytime I plug my GT7 to battery there is big spark. Doesn't happen with GTX.
asw7576 is offline  
Old 01-18-2006, 10:57 PM
  #523  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 1,152
Default

Originally Posted by asw7576
I have GTX and GT7. Everytime I plug my GT7 to battery there is big spark. Doesn't happen with GTX.

Ermm..I have them both,and they both spark??

But its normal...Maybe you would like to email to Novak for better answers?
Ben.C is offline  
Old 01-24-2006, 03:40 PM
  #524  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Long Island, New York
Posts: 716
Default

Originally Posted by Charlie
The Quick Jump into the program mode is a bit tricky, If you can't get it to work, you can easily get to the adjustments by checking the profile, then taping the button during the final light "countdown".

The Power Cap cannot make voltage if it's not there. So it only goes to what the battery pack "is". It will slowly discharge as it sits by itself, so don't expect it to read much voltage after everything is disconnected.

Well is there something special I should do? It doesnt seem like there should be any thing to it, just press the button twice quickly. If it doesnt work it shouldnt be listed as a feature.
AE Racer is offline  
Old 01-30-2006, 10:18 AM
  #525  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 271
Default

I apologise in advance because I am sure this has been asked before - but there are now in excess of 500 replies .........

Is there any advantage in fitting an external Schotky diode to a GTX running stock and 19 T motors?

Thanks!
exint2 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.