Novak GTX

Old 12-12-2005, 07:50 PM
  #481  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: the CHI
Posts: 408
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

is there any news on a new speedo from novak
Matthew.H is offline  
Old 12-12-2005, 10:09 PM
  #482  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Soviet's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Littleton, CO - USA
Posts: 1,708
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Got a new GTX for sale...check my signature.
Soviet is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 03:26 AM
  #483  
Tech Champion
 
asw7576's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,792
Default

How to diffrentiate new and older FET in GTX ?

new fet are rated 700 amp forward / 300 amp brake

older fet are rated 150 / 60 respectively. ( lame huh ? ...... )

asw7576 is offline  
Old 12-19-2005, 10:40 AM
  #484  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
darnold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Bolingbrook, IL
Posts: 959
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Hmmm, I THOUGHT that Novak tried a different rating system for the fets in the GTX based on a scale that was maybe a little more applicable to our usage parameters. Often the standard for ESC's SEEMS to be based upon using the FET manufacturer ratings which are normally high. Novak MAY have simply gone back to the "Industry Standard" rating system since it is what racers are more familiar with seeing and comparing ESC's by. Of course as with most electronic devices it should not surprise us racers that slight improvements or vendor changes to certain parts MAY increase performance slightly over the course of an ESC's product run.

In any case I PERSONALLY think that the GTX is the best ESC on the market and my experiences with Novak's Customer Service versus other ESC Manufacturers would place Novak second to none. This is NOT to say that there are not many other fine ESC's out there to choose from because there are. My experience has simply been that the GTX has given me the least amount of trouble AND held it's performance for the longest amount of time (I race 12th Modified with low turn motors). Other speedos seemed to lose performance (rip, speed, runtime) over the course of a season as if the FET's were oxidizing and building up resistance or something and would require a swap out. My GTX's have stayed strong and the two freak miss-haps that have happened over the past 1.3 yrs would be equal to or lower incident failure rates than I have experienced with other manufacturers in the past. In both cases Novak's excellent customer service came through.
darnold is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 12:33 PM
  #485  
Tech Adept
 
Carbonator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 103
Default Brake problem

Hello,
didn't find an answer with the search function so here's my Q

For allmost a year my GTX worked perfect, last time I went out racing my
car had no brakes at all. I first tought I was using a wrong setting for my 12th scale (i usually run touring). I've tried every setting possible butt still no brakes.

Any advice? Would an extra schottky help solve the problem ( the one from the GT7?)

Thanks for your help
Carbonator is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 03:10 PM
  #486  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Rick Worth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Elmwood,Tn
Posts: 353
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I had one do that & it ended up that a FET burned out. Send it to Novak. They have quick turnaround. R.W.
Rick Worth is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 04:50 PM
  #487  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,145
Default

Carbonator: sounds like for whatever reason your brake fets went out... I am guessing you did not run an external schottky diode on your motor? I would highly recommend running a schottky on your motor in all applications... it will help protect your ESC from voltage spikes created by the motor durring free wheeling and braking.
Steve Weiss is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 05:03 PM
  #488  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Evicerator
Carbonator: sounds like for whatever reason your brake fets went out... I am guessing you did not run an external schottky diode on your motor? I would highly recommend running a schottky on your motor in all applications... it will help protect your ESC from voltage spikes created by the motor durring free wheeling and braking.

when I had my GTX...the schottky diode was built it internally and there was no need to solder an external one....
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 05:10 PM
  #489  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: CA
Posts: 458
Default

hi does this esc come with wires? is it 14guage? is it hard to solder on?

thanks
XingXing is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 06:18 PM
  #490  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
Jack2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by XingXing
hi does this esc come with wires? is it 14guage? is it hard to solder on?

thanks
Yes, it does come with 14g wire already soldered on.

I just got a new GTX the other day, it takes only a few minutes to unsolder the 14g and solder on some Deans 12g Wet noodle (If 12g is what you want to run)

just make sure you strip the wires very neatly and tin them and then scrape the tips nice and neatly so they are down to 14g size.

I stick some double sided tape on the heatsink on the ESC and stick it upside down on my work table. It makes the job easier when the ESC can't move around.
Jack2 is offline  
Old 12-22-2005, 11:43 PM
  #491  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,145
Default

Originally Posted by rc-zombies
when I had my GTX...the schottky diode was built it internally and there was no need to solder an external one....
The GTX does come with schottky diodes installed internally and it does offer a certain level of protection... but the nature of the schottky diode is that it becomes less effective the further away it is from the motor
Steve Weiss is offline  
Old 12-23-2005, 03:43 AM
  #492  
Tech Adept
 
Carbonator's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 103
Default

Thanks everyone,

I'll send it in for repairs and order some extra schottky diodes.

Have you guys any idea if it will be repaired under warrenty?


Thans Carb.
Carbonator is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:04 AM
  #493  
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: MICHIGAN
Posts: 241
Default

Does anyone know if you can run the gtx without the power caps or is their a big difference performance wise.

thanks
J FAST is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 11:34 AM
  #494  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 454
Default

You always have to run GTX with Power Capacitor.
trf_racer is offline  
Old 12-28-2005, 07:54 PM
  #495  
Tech Master
iTrader: (16)
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,638
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Yep, always run the GTX with a power cap or it may pop ! And you get better performance. Actually putting a big cap on any esc makes it have more rip .
mini-dub is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.