R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 04-15-2005, 09:36 PM   #436
Tech Regular
 
RayWarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to RayWarner
Default

Hey I'm having a problem with my GTX. When I get tagged or if I miss my line and I smack a board the power to the motor goes dead. I still have steering but nothing to the motor. If I turn it off and back on it works fine again. Any ideas? Ray
RayWarner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 09:39 PM   #437
The Evicerator
R/C Tech Elite Subscriber
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Irvine, CA
Posts: 4,142
Default

If the one touch setup button gets depressed under normal opperation it will cut power to the motor for approximately 15 seconds. This loss of power will also be accompanied by the red LED flashing to indicate an "error"

I would recommend mounting your ESC so that the button does not face the outside of your car so that impacts like that cannot accidentally hit the one touch setup button.
__________________
Steve Weiss
TEAM ASSOCIATED -- REEDY -- SANWA -- PROTOFORM -- 1UP Racing -- ActivRC -- P1 BRAND -- TEAM KINWALD -- TEAM STEVE INTERNATIONAL
Steve Weiss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 09:43 PM   #438
Tech Regular
 
RayWarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to RayWarner
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Evicerator
If the one touch setup button gets depressed under normal opperation it will cut power to the motor for approximately 15 seconds. This loss of power will also be accompanied by the red LED flashing to indicate an "error"

I would recommend mounting your ESC so that the button does not face the outside of your car so that impacts like that cannot accidentally hit the one touch setup button.


I thought of this too but it isn't in a possition to touch or get touched. I had this in a 415ms and now in a RDX with the same problems. Ray
RayWarner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 09:44 PM   #439
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default wires

check to see if all of the wires are broke on the board, tug on the wires to see if any of them come out, the input harness could be damaged
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 09:48 PM   #440
Tech Regular
 
RayWarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to RayWarner
Default Re: wires

Quote:
Originally posted by lickrim
check to see if all of the wires are broke on the board, tug on the wires to see if any of them come out, the input harness could be damaged

That I will try. Thanks! Ray
RayWarner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2005, 09:50 PM   #441
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: oc
Posts: 541
Default scuba

dude are you running 19 & mod ?
lickrim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2005, 06:41 AM   #442
Tech Regular
 
Hardriven RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aartselaar Belgium
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RayWarner
Hey I'm having a problem with my GTX. When I get tagged or if I miss my line and I smack a board the power to the motor goes dead. I still have steering but nothing to the motor. If I turn it off and back on it works fine again. Any ideas? Ray
I had the same problem with one of my Cyclones years back. All it took was to open the housing and clean the electronics with a soft brush. Sand and debrid is sometimes conducting so that might be the problem/solution.

Regards
Hardriven RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2005, 09:31 AM   #443
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Leeds (UK)
Posts: 23
Default

I had this problem and it turned out to be my receiver.
The track where I race can get very dusty and the dirt that accumulated in my receiver was messing up the connection to my GTX, I took the receiver apart, blew out the dust and now it works fine
Dan Reynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2005, 09:37 AM   #444
Tech Regular
 
Hardriven RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aartselaar Belgium
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Dan Reynolds
I had this problem and it turned out to be my receiver.
The track where I race can get very dusty and the dirt that accumulated in my receiver was messing up the connection to my GTX, I took the receiver apart, blew out the dust and now it works fine
Could be that to.
Hardriven RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2005, 10:17 PM   #445
Tech Regular
 
RayWarner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Illinois
Posts: 474
Send a message via AIM to RayWarner
Default

Thanks, I will check all of these things when I get a chance. I have run Orange Power since I've started and have NEVER had any problems. Bet it will turn out to be my error... Ray
RayWarner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2005, 10:34 PM   #446
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Toronto
Posts: 1,300
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Brittle GTX Case?

After being tagged by a back marker that I was laping for a 2nd time, I noticed that my speed control was knocked loose from my car ... such that the case cracked. Has anyone else noticed that the case for the GTX is more brittle then the ones on the GT-7?

Otherwise, I love the speed control - however, I am really picky about my equipment and I hate looking at a speed control held together with fiber-tape ... it's driving me nuts.

I'm going to contact Novak and see what I need to pay for a new case.

Thanks,

Martin
duckman996 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2005, 11:50 PM   #447
Tech Master
 
mini-dub's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: seattle
Posts: 1,632
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

I haven't had a problem with the GTX cases cracking, but any esc case may crack if it dangled around and off the car during a race, it's good that it still works properly. I'm sure you can get it fixed by sending it in to Novak.

Just think, lots of people have to tape their quantum2 cases together when they were brand new to keep them from popping open without falling out of the car.

-WR
__________________
Weylin Rose - www.shiftedcinema.com

Riding Bikes | Skiing | Helis | Rotor Rage | Cyclone Blades | RC Trim | Dead Kat Raceway
mini-dub is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2005, 12:48 PM   #448
Tech Champion
 
Korey Harbke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Redmond, WA
Posts: 6,126
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I haven't had any problems either. GTX has been a solid performer since the first day I put it in my car.

-Korey
__________________
Xray - RC America - Hudy - Apex RC - LRP - Protoform - AVID - 1Up Racing - Xenon - Xpert - Sanwa - RC Mission America - SpeedZombi - Slapmaster Tools - Turtlemaster Racing - Seattle RC Racers
Korey Harbke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 07:04 AM   #449
Tech Champion
 
JayBee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: 12TH-MAN COUNTRY
Posts: 6,813
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Post Hey guys...

I'm new to orange power and just put one in my Pro4. I programmed it and it works great. But I wanna know, there's a red light on all the time and my PT's light is on too but when I squeeze the throttle both lights go out. Is this normal operation? -JB
__________________
R C 3 G R A F I X _ F U S I O N . G R A P H I X _ S E A T T L E - R/C - R A C E R S _ E M E R A L D C I T Y R C . C O M

A E - 12R5.2 _ S M - REV8 PRO
JayBee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-21-2005, 07:12 AM   #450
Tech Elite
 
Jack2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,377
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Yep that sounds normal to me. It will also flash on and off if you get bad interference.
__________________
Schumacher Mi4CX
Mugen MTX & MRX

"He who dies with the most toys wins" - Phil Harris
Jack2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Concepts BJ4WE CHEAP!!! NIP NOVAK 10.5 & Novak 4300 w/Sintered Rotor Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
LRP Sphere tc, Novak 13.5pro, Novak 10.5 pro, Novak 13mm rotor theisgroup R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 01-08-2008 11:21 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
For Sale Novak 3.5 brushless motor with Novak Heat sink $60.00 SHIPPED!!! Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 06-24-2007 08:29 PM
Rivergate RCD30, Novak Millenium Pros, XXX4G+, XXXTMF, lehner/novak BL Jman-x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2005 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:39 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net