R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 10-20-2004, 03:54 AM   #346
Tech Master
 
johnbull's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Malta. G.C.
Posts: 1,762
Default

What optional schottky diode is this ?

We run our GTXs with just the supplied capacitor and 8 turn mod motors in very hot weather. Are we doing something wrong ?

I do run a schottky diode on my motors. Always have done.
johnbull is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-20-2004, 02:00 PM   #347
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

In any situation, a schottky diode will improve performance. Regardless if the ESC "needs" it or not, it will help. When you run extreme applications, or want to have the best performance possible, you can and should run a schottky. No it's not needed, but yes it will help. Same thing goes for multiple power capaciors. You don't need to run more then one, but it will always be benificial. We just try to make it obviouse it's a good thing to run these items regardless of if you need them or not. Manuals are not an easy thing to write, at the time of release, we thought it made good sense. Obviously there is never a perfect explanation that is clear to everyone.

Thanks
Charlie
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2004, 07:01 AM   #348
Tech Addict
 
dizzy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Gilbert, AZ
Posts: 630
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Talking

Charlie,
Thanks for fixing my GT7, I just got it back. The GTX is the bomb and it goes perfect with a purple pro 4.
__________________
No more hot pockets, Russian rocket time again.
Hobbywing- Schuurspeed
dizzy1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-24-2004, 12:31 PM   #349
Tech Elite
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to John Fontaine
Default

I love the GTX, fits in at home on my Xray. Can't wait to see how it performs in my next race.

John
__________________
Xray and Serpent....very dusty!
John Fontaine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2004, 09:26 PM   #350
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 70
Default

Is it possible to zip tie the power capacitor directly to the GTX like the GT7 was capable of doing? I don't really want to tape it to the chassis of my T4. It doesn't seem like it would be that stable there.
chasintrane is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 09:42 AM   #351
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 242
Send a message via AIM to dasupacat
Default

While looking at the recent pics from the Worlds. I noticed that the drivers using the GTX. Tosolini, J. Scott ,& maybe R. Burch. Had something extra soldered to their esc's. What is this? looks like an extra diode soldered. Is it the one that Novak uses on their GT7?
dasupacat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 07:42 PM   #352
Tech Adept
 
COLEKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: La Mirada
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to COLEKO
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by dasupacat
While looking at the recent pics from the Worlds. I noticed that the drivers using the GTX. Tosolini, J. Scott ,& maybe R. Burch. Had something extra soldered to their esc's. What is this? looks like an extra diode soldered. Is it the one that Novak uses on their GT7?
Its a Extra Novak Schottky. Its either the 26 amp or the 36 amp which im not sure is out yet .
__________________
The Flying Hawaiian

Team TAOB 2004
COLEKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 07:51 PM   #353
JCB
Tech Addict
 
JCB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 741
Default

Has anyone had this problem with their GTX??

Every time my car either gets hit by another car or if I hit a corner I lose my power. The ESC has to be turned back off/on again. Or it takes a few seconds for ESC to respond then I'm able to hit the throttle again. Any input would be appreciated.

Also, this has only happened once I switched to a GTX from a GT7.


Thanks!
JCB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-31-2004, 07:54 PM   #354
Moderator
 
Speedo's Avatar
R/C Tech Charter Subscriber
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 3,431
Default

Here's a question for you guys running a GTX (or other current ESC), who also have experience with Novak's older speed controls:

Switching from a Cyclone, to a GTX, or QC2, etc, is there really a noticeable difference?

I've been running Cyclones for years, and don't really see any reason to switch because I'm perfectly happy with them, but I am interested to hear the perspective of racers who are running current ESC's.

josh
Speedo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 08:39 AM   #355
Tech Regular
 
Hardriven RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aartselaar Belgium
Posts: 345
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Speedo
Here's a question for you guys running a GTX (or other current ESC), who also have experience with Novak's older speed controls:

Switching from a Cyclone, to a GTX, or QC2, etc, is there really a noticeable difference?

I've been running Cyclones for years, and don't really see any reason to switch because I'm perfectly happy with them, but I am interested to hear the perspective of racers who are running current ESC's.

josh
Indeed a very good question!
Hardriven RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 12:05 PM   #356
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Hey Guys,
The GTX is almost a total redesign. The Cyclones were more refinements as we went, with the GT7 being a small step towards something totally new. The GTX is totally new from the ground up. It only uses the same Bullet proof BEC from the GT7/Cyclones. I'd say most have reported they've noticed it's more responisve and smoother, that statement doesn't make complete sense, but I think they are try to describe that it is more Linear, that is what I noticed. Some people don't notice when their stuff is setup wrong, so I can't say you'll notice a huge difference, but noones yet to report they preffer the GT7 or Cyclone over the GTX.

As for the Shut down at contact problem, you might just have a bad switch. I've had 2 team drivers report similar problems, with contact causing the system to shut down, no motor no steering. The switches were the culprit, after they replaced them everything has been working 100%.

Many of our team drives will run the Heavy Duty Schottky Diode when they run Front Diffs or Locked Spool/Diffs, to help keep the brakes more consistant and help keep the ESC cooler. We were using the Heavy Duty Motor Module at the worlds. Some drivers put them on the motors directly, others on the wires, it's best to put them directly on the motor. When every little bit counts they all run them. I think many of the fastest drivers using any brand of ESC were using large power caps, and large schottky diodes. I gave out many to Non-Novak drivers as well.

Thanks
Charlie

Don't forget you can always Email us directly--- [email protected]
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 12:43 PM   #357
Tech Regular
 
Hardriven RC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Aartselaar Belgium
Posts: 345
Default

Charlie,

No offence here mate but.... Since you are a rep for Novak we can't see your answer to our question as being objective. Since you work for Novak it is not your place to say anything bad about Novak products.
Don't get me wrong here, i've been using Novak ESC's and chargers for about 12 years now and never had a problem with them that wasn't caused by me being stupid (running the car in the rain). But i would realy like the question answered by everyday racers like me.

Best Regards
Roy
Hardriven RC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 01:00 PM   #358
Tech Champion
 
Jon Kerr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego
Posts: 9,658
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Hardriven- I see your point, but I can tell you, Charlie will always give you the honest truth as a RACER. He's a racer before anything. I haven't run a GTX yet and probably won't since I'm supposed to be running another brand now (won't mention them since I'm in a Novak thread) but I know many racers with no vested interest in Novak that have noticed a huge difference in the way the GTX drives compared to the older Novaks.
Jon Kerr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 02:12 PM   #359
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

Good point, I was thinking I was just trying to provide some information. Not knocking anyone's products or saying ours is better even. But you're right, racers views would be great to hear as well. Thanks.
__________________
Novak Electronics Tech Support
Charlie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-01-2004, 02:59 PM   #360
Tech Adept
 
COLEKO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: La Mirada
Posts: 206
Send a message via AIM to COLEKO
Default

Quote:
As for the Shut down at contact problem, you might just have a bad switch. I've had 2 team drivers report similar problems, with contact causing the system to shut down, no motor no steering. The switches were the culprit, after they replaced them everything has been working 100%.

Ive also noticed that the GTX switch is a lot more easy to turn off and on compared to the older small switch. wrong placement during a crash can turn the switch off so I made sure to place it in a good spot on the chassis...
__________________
The Flying Hawaiian

Team TAOB 2004
COLEKO is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
J Concepts BJ4WE CHEAP!!! NIP NOVAK 10.5 & Novak 4300 w/Sintered Rotor Zac R R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 15 02-13-2008 06:13 PM
LRP Sphere tc, Novak 13.5pro, Novak 10.5 pro, Novak 13mm rotor theisgroup R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 9 01-08-2008 11:21 AM
JR R1, Novak Smart Tray, Novak GTX, Futaba S9451, Hellfire stock motors, plus more yauipop Australia For Sale/Trade 7 08-27-2007 03:56 AM
For Sale Novak 3.5 brushless motor with Novak Heat sink $60.00 SHIPPED!!! Marcos.J R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 14 06-24-2007 08:29 PM
Rivergate RCD30, Novak Millenium Pros, XXX4G+, XXXTMF, lehner/novak BL Jman-x R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 1 09-14-2005 10:51 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 12:15 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net