Novak GTX

Old 10-18-2004, 01:49 PM
  #331  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Steve - Thanks, if you could get a pic of gregs car that would be great. Here's a current picture of my Xray, I'll be replacing the Keyence for the GTX, and as you can see, not much room. Think putting the Cap on top of the receiver will cause glitching? Zip tieing the cap to the upper deck could be done, but that would be annoying I needed to make repairs.

John

Last edited by John Fontaine; 10-18-2004 at 01:58 PM.
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 01:53 PM
  #332  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Lets try this again.
Attached Thumbnails Novak GTX-bmixray2ti.jpg  
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 01:56 PM
  #333  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Double post
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 02:00 PM
  #334  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,145
Default

That arrangement looks fairly close to how greg has his car set up... you can always try standing your reciever on it's side to help get a little bit more room. I have seen situations where having the capacitor right on top of the reciever cause glitching problems, but I have also seen just as many people run like that with no problems what-so-ever.
Steve Weiss is offline  
Old 10-18-2004, 02:09 PM
  #335  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I'll play around with different ideas to see what best works

Thanks Steve.

Happy Racing,
John
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 06:50 AM
  #336  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
John Fontaine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: SouthEast PA
Posts: 2,699
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Last night I found my GTX fits in nicely between the receiver and the battery post on my Xray. My cap will be located right under the upper deck double sided taped to the chassis. Gotta keep that weight towards the centerline and low for good CG I'll take pics when it's all mounted and wired in. Fits like a glove!! Can't wait to try it out on the track.... Good job Novak.
John Fontaine is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 10:30 AM
  #337  
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

We showed off the Super Duty XR at the show. GTX, Smart Tray, many of the items have been out for a while so it wasn't super exciting. We're still working on a faster BL System, we likely wont' have much information available on it's progress until well after the HV-Maxx system is released.

Show was decent, lots of new Mini Trucks.
Charlie is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 10:40 AM
  #338  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (5)
 
rayhuang's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Cleveland Heights, Ohio
Posts: 6,511
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by Charlie
We showed off the Super Duty XR at the show. GTX, Smart Tray, many of the items have been out for a while so it wasn't super exciting. We're still working on a faster BL System, we likely wont' have much information available on it's progress until well after the HV-Maxx system is released.

Show was decent, lots of new Mini Trucks.
Ringo-is that you?

Ray
rayhuang is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 04:56 PM
  #339  
Tech Master
 
Charlie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: I'm All Over The Place
Posts: 1,160
Default

I'm not cutting it until Snowbirds I think. It's turning into quite the ugly novelty item.
Charlie is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 04:58 PM
  #340  
The Evicerator
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Scottsdale, AZ
Posts: 4,145
Default

Are we talking about charlie's hairdo??
Steve Weiss is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 05:41 PM
  #341  
Tech Addict
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Nebraska USA
Posts: 615
Default That's all I wanted to here.

I hope we see it sometime soon. I know I can't wait!
Thanks Charlie.
Nightbreed is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 06:35 PM
  #342  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 242
Default

Well I just ordered a GTX.
I then picked up the latest issue of Xtreme RC CARS.....found an article on the GTX, only to read that they wrote it needs an external schottky diode for competitive modified racing. HUH?
Is this true? I thought it had the diode built in?
dasupacat is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 06:48 PM
  #343  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (8)
 
rc-zombies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: NorCal. Napa area
Posts: 7,222
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally posted by dasupacat
Well I just ordered a GTX.
I then picked up the latest issue of Xtreme RC CARS.....found an article on the GTX, only to read that they wrote it needs an external schottky diode for competitive modified racing. HUH?
Is this true? I thought it had the diode built in?
yes..they diode is built in...you can see it on the bottom
rc-zombies is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 07:29 PM
  #344  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: indiana
Posts: 242
Default

I understand that, but the way the article is written they say it needs another schottky diode to run mod.
dasupacat is offline  
Old 10-19-2004, 09:42 PM
  #345  
Tech Master
 
DerekB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,421
Default

The instructions read you need the optional diode for low turn modified racing.
DerekB is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.