Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road
popping noise with Novak C2??? >

popping noise with Novak C2???

popping noise with Novak C2???

Old 08-12-2004, 06:58 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NM
Posts: 3
Default popping noise with Novak C2???

Greetings!

I just bought a used Novak C2, and it has started making a strange popping noise. Under full throttle (which actually feels like about half throttle) the popping happens about every 5 seconds. The closest thing I can compare it to is a backfire . This is the first ESC that I've owned with a power capacitor. Maybe this is a sign that it's fried? Any other ideas? I'm using a stock motor.

(Sorry if this is a stupid noob question; searching for C2 doesn't work.)
LAracer is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:04 PM
  #2  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default

Is it wired properly? Are you using a Schottky diode on the motor? If so, the polarity may be incorrect.
tmeeks is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:43 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
 
Tek Nickal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Earth
Posts: 1,301
Default

Yeah, you probally poped your diode, make sure that the white or silver mark on the diode is on the positive side.
Tek Nickal is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:45 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
 
DaNieL_KuO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Rowland Heights California U.S.
Posts: 158
Default

another thing check if ur capacitor is wired correct too. If its wired backwards, that coud be why its poping
DaNieL_KuO is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 01:57 PM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NM
Posts: 3
Default

Thanks for the responses.

There is no diode on the motor. I suspected that the cap was perhaps wired backwards so I reversed it but there was no change. Perhaps this is evidence that the cap is blown???

Any other ideas....?
LAracer is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 04:41 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (21)
 
dontfeelcold's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Where there's smoke there's a tyre
Posts: 1,726
Trader Rating: 21 (100%+)
Default

has the speedo plugged in reverse?
dontfeelcold is offline  
Old 08-12-2004, 05:28 PM
  #7  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 113
Default

Try replacing the power capacitor and put a diode on the motor. Be sure to observe proper polarity. Be sure to check all of your connections. Maybe there are two electrical points arcing, which could explain the frequent popping sound. If all else fails send it in to Novak.
tmeeks is offline  
Old 08-16-2004, 07:10 AM
  #8  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: NM
Posts: 3
Default

Hmm, well, the problem seems to have cured itself. I think it may have actually been as issue with the battery since when I changed packs the noise went away, although I still don't understand why a bad (or just low) battery might have created the popping sound.

Anyway, thanks for all the help.
LAracer is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information -

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.