R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 08-11-2004, 07:09 PM   #1
Tech Fanatic
 
Cardboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Flushing,NYC
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to Cardboard
Default Coned Comm-How much variation is ok?

I remeber reading somewhere that the maximum variation(for good performance) in the diameter of the comm from top to bottom is .0007". Is this true?
Cardboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 09:02 PM   #2
Tech Elite
 
mafiaracers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: West Linn, Oregon
Posts: 3,759
Trader Rating: 22 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to mafiaracers Send a message via MSN to mafiaracers
Default

I don't know what your post means....but your signature is awesome!
mafiaracers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 09:07 PM   #3
Tech Elite
 
DavidAlford's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 4,151
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Send a message via AIM to DavidAlford
Default

Before I changed lathes I had to reset mine. I did it to .0005.
__________________
Hot Bodies/HPI | Jconcepts | Viper RC | Xpert | Sippel Speed Shop | Lawton RC Raceway | SXT
DavidAlford is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-11-2004, 10:05 PM   #4
Tech Fanatic
 
Cardboard's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Flushing,NYC
Posts: 843
Send a message via AIM to Cardboard
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by DavidAlford
Before I changed lathes I had to reset mine. I did it to .0005.
Ah, thanks...exactly what I needed to know.
Cardboard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 02:11 AM   #5
Tech Elite
 
Lonestar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Switzerland
Posts: 2,366
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

I understand a cylindric comm is better than a coned one... but is it actually that critical, as long as the brushes are correctly seated? (because it usually is a HUGE pain to adjust the lathe blocks...)

Thanks,
Paul
__________________
When the flag drops, the BS stops.

The train stops at the train station. The bus stops at the bus station. In my office I have a workstation.
Lonestar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-12-2004, 08:26 AM   #6
Tech Addict
 
rc_square24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 706
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

how do you adjust them?

mine seems to cut the top half first and only after a few passes it will then go deeper to the bottom half of the comm.

is it the lathes problem cuz i was thinking it might be from the brush contact as it sits on the bottom half of the comm in my motor...so im not sure if its conoing or not.

how do u find out? i dont think i can do it with a caliper accurately(for me atleast)

thanks
rc_square24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Another Variation of the same old... paco62 Nitro Off-Road 5 03-15-2008 09:18 AM
Hudy comm lathe and Fantom comm lathe ACEDEAN R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-02-2007 11:27 AM
Trade EXTREME COMM LATHE(Hudy)for MUCH MORE COMM LATHE JoeyE R/C Items: For Sale/Trade 0 05-07-2006 09:49 AM
just cut my first comm! kh15 Electric On-Road 8 01-23-2005 07:46 AM
What's a comm? yoshi Rookie Zone 3 02-25-2003 09:47 PM



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 03:19 AM.


We are a participant in the Amazon Services LLC Associates Program, an affiliate advertising program designed to provide a means for us to earn fees by linking to Amazon.com and affiliated sites.
Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net