R/C Tech Forums

Go Back   R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Electric On-Road

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 03-28-2011, 07:55 PM   #106
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,918
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

eventually i probably will but i want to get it on the track first and see how it performs and then make changes. there alot of unseen forces here! i know for sure that the shocks in this format will work and wont causing any handling issues. the motor placement ,gear dif, battery placement etc etc has to be sorted out.
MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 08:06 PM   #107
Tech Elite
 
mxrich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: N. GA.
Posts: 4,426
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

That last pic told me a lot about the car. I think you are on track for what you are doing. Go get'em.
__________________
I park faster than most people drive.
mxrich is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-28-2011, 10:59 PM   #108
Tech Elite
 
Pro10noob's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: The Netherlands
Posts: 2,117
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Maybe it is just silly but did you try the axles of the F201?
As this is also a F1 with IRS??

regards Roy

Quote:
Originally Posted by MantisWorx View Post
shock tower and wing mount! bout to make some dogbones!
__________________
l===/o\===l
[_]-###-[_] V-link proto type Pro10,JKMR P235-SE Pro10
P235-VL Pro10 comming soon
Sponsered by me,myself and i :)
Pro10noob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 06:52 AM   #109
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,918
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

i got that figured out already! 18r dogbones are the perfect fit!! also that old saying "necessity is the mother of all inventions" is so true, i made some "flat" dogbones yesterday and it works perfect. i will post more pix later today, but the chassis is an actual roller now. now i have to piece the front together, make a better upper link mount for the rear and machine some hex adapters for the F1 wheels. should have all of that knocked off today!
MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 11:56 AM   #110
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,918
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

its sitting on the ground! looks good with camber and toe in!

who has 104 parts in the US and in stock? i need kingpins, e clips and some other misc stuff.
MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 06:45 PM   #111
Tech Champion
 
snoopyrc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Tunnel Hill GA
Posts: 5,046
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

What are you looking at for gear reduction? Are you going to put a spur on a hub like a TC3? Then your motor will be offset.
__________________
www.battlefieldraceway.com Racing videos at http://www.youtube.com/snoopyrc
snoopyrc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 06:50 PM   #112
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Nice ride!!! Any f1 coming out with direct drive, rotary dampers like the Awesomatix!!!! That would capture the essence of F1: exactly like the real F1s.......
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-29-2011, 07:06 PM   #113
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,918
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by snoopyrc View Post
What are you looking at for gear reduction? Are you going to put a spur on a hub like a TC3? Then your motor will be offset.
no gear reduction, the gearbox is 3.25 which is perfect for either 17.5 or 13.5 boosted. i have been running the same ratio on my MWXFQ01. and if thats not enough i can run a 21.5 /4s since the chassis is going to accomodate two batteries. i was able to drive 30minutes last week on a 2200 mah pack. i could theoretically have a 30min+ main and switch batteries in a pit stop!
i have no intention on selling this, it is just a project for me. instead of messing with gear ratios just change motor/battery for track conditions. the batteries are only 15.00 and i have all kinds of motors lying around. AND infinite adjustability with the Tekin RS! my goal is to be able to run same exact compound front and rear. i also took a pair of rear SS Rides, narrowed them and fit them on front wheels. even with the toe in on my FQ i still could not get the balance, way too much front grip. i think that i will be able to find a balance with this setup. the national will be its debut, i plan to run at least one qualifier (hopefully all of them!) with this car.
MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 03:43 PM   #114
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,918
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

found the rest of the parts i needed and ordered them, its close to completion. i decided to make the chassis two pcs so i can change the wheelbase on the fly and also lower the CG by 3mm:
MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-30-2011, 10:18 PM   #115
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Good luck on your project. The only question I had was : does the motor output shaft slip into a precut steel slot without the need for a grub screw to hold it? If so, motor changes would be very easy! Also where would a Nikko F1 chassis fit into your racing event? Keep in mind I have rubber tires, a ballistic 4.5R in there, and it weighs about 1408g !!! What is the F1 rubber minimum weight? I know it's a Nikko(with bearings), but it is fast , and I just want to have fun!!!!!!!
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 07:51 AM   #116
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,918
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bertrandsv87 View Post
Good luck on your project. The only question I had was : does the motor output shaft slip into a precut steel slot without the need for a grub screw to hold it? If so, motor changes would be very easy! Also where would a Nikko F1 chassis fit into your racing event? Keep in mind I have rubber tires, a ballistic 4.5R in there, and it weighs about 1408g !!! What is the F1 rubber minimum weight? I know it's a Nikko(with bearings), but it is fast , and I just want to have fun!!!!!!!
it uses a grub screw on both ends so its not going anywhere and motor changes are very easy, no adjustment and two screws. the Nikko can run but until i see it i cant tell you what class, with that motor it will be Formula one more than likely, in fact if you are running rubber it will be formula one.
MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:23 AM   #117
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

What is the F1 rubber minimum weight?
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 09:46 AM   #118
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Angry

Here it is:
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 10:07 AM   #119
Tech Champion
 
MantisWorx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 5,918
Trader Rating: 28 (97%+)
Default

no minimum weight, only mechanical restrictions in teh formula one class are that it must have Tamiya/RIDE style wheels(no 10th pan) and rubber tires. no point in having a weight restriction with no power restrictions. why the mad face?
MantisWorx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-31-2011, 10:44 AM   #120
Suspended
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 6,240
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Can't upload pictures here!!!!!!
bertrandsv87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply



Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



All times are GMT -7. It is currently 05:32 AM.


Powered By: vBulletin v3.9.2.1
Privacy Policy | Terms of Use | Advertise Content © 2001-2011 RCTech.net